Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Garlic Penne Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Garlic Penne Pasta

    Average Rating:

    319 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 319

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2002

      This recipe is so garlicky and so creamy and sooooo easy to make. I got home from work, was incredibly tired and just wanted a filling meal. This one worked perfectly because it really didn't take much more than 15 minutes and tasted wonderfully. Next time, I might try adding some frozen peas and sliced mushrooms, but the recipe is great as is.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2002

      I had never tried making a creamy pasta anything, but this was GREAT! I added some stir-fry sliced chicken sauteed in garlic and my husband wanted to know when I'd be making it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      Just like the recipe title, this is creamy and garlicky... yum! I used chicken broth where there was an option and thought it tasted wonderful. This is quick, easy, and a great dish to make during the busy work week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2010

      Great recipe, definitely 5 star. If you are using 1 pound of pasta, I agree with so many of the other reviews-double the sauce! I doubled it, but only used 3 tablespoons of flour, otherwise it gets too thick. I was worried it looked thin in the saucepan, but when I tossed it with the penne it coated the noodles beautifully and the pasta soaks up that sauce! My family loved it and my 7 yr old son gave it one of his "Favorite Recipe" stickers- LOL. It is as easy to make as the boxed mixes, but tastes so much better.I did use fresh parsley and added in some spices as suggested by others: crushed red pepper flakes (a pinch), 3/4 teaspoon sea salt, fresh ground black pepper, and 1/4 teaspoon Italian seasoning. I think the Italian seasoning gave it the spark it needed. I served it with Crispy Balsamic Baked Chicken Breasts (from this site , another favorite) and a vegetable blend of broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, zucchini, and yellow squash. What a keeper, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2003

      I added fresh mushrooms to make a main course. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      This was really good! I took some advice from other reviews and added mushroom and chicken to make it a meal. I also added a bunch of extra garlic, since we are huge garlic lovers. I loved this because it was like having alfredo sauce, but better for you and less dairy. I have a slight lactose intolerance issue, so less dairy with a similar taste is perfect for me! We'll definitely be making this again, since we always have these ingredients on hand. Next time, I might add some red pepper flake or cayenne to give it a little extra kick. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      I didn't have any chicken broth so I substituted one chicken bouillon cube along with 3/4 cup of warm water. The outcome made my family very happy. They told me that this "is a keeper". The only reason I gave it four instead of five stars was because I felt that using the entire one pound box of penne would make the pasta too dry. My family likes "saucy" pasta. I used half a box and it was very creamy. Next time I'll just double the recipe and use the entire box. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      This was fantastic!!! We made a few adjustments just because we had the ingredients to hand: 1) when making the sauce we added a splash of white wine first, let the alcohol cook off and then added the stock and milk. 2) We added spinach at the last minute of cooking the sauce just to wilt it slightly. 2) We fried off some pancetta cubes until crispy and we then added the drained pasta and the sauce to the pan, mixing it all together. We then added some reserved pasta water (just a tad) to the finished dish and mixed it to emulsify the sauce slightly. It was so delicious and tasted very creamy and indulgent (and no cream in it - just skimmed milk!). One of my favourite recipes ever!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      I loved this sauce. I made it for a quick lunch and it was great. I did add a little extra milk just to thin it out a little. It tasted like alfredo sauce but much lighter. I think I'll try it next time with some chicken and broccoli to make a simple dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      This is a good basic recipe. I honestly wouldn't use it as is, just because it's kinda boring. However, I added grilled/sliced chicken & sun-dried tomatoes, plus extra garlic & parmesan. If I make it again, I will experiment a little more with different seasonings as well. Again, good base recipe, but needs to be changed up a bit, IMO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2003

      This makes a great week night dinner for busy people. Its easy, quick and very yummy. I changed nothing and I'm glad I didn't. Since there are only 2 of us, I have plenty left over for lunch tomorrow. Thanks for posting it Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2003

      This was supper for me the other night. I was all by myself and craving pasta. This recipe was terrific and very easy to make. The sauce was creamy and had plenty of garlicy flavor. I may take the advice of some of the other reviewers and add peas and mushrooms next time. Thanks Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      This turned out pretty bland. The sauce was pretty thin, and it didn't taste like much more than noodles. =/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      It's okay, we both thought it to be a bit bland...It was an easy pasta side dish, but not on my recipe list.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      I enjoyed substituting ingredients to make this recipe vegan. I made the following substitutions: brown rice noodles, veggie broth, brown rice flour, roasted broccoli/red pepper/red onion, earth balance in place of butter, almond milk with a little extra added so the sauce wasn't so thick, nutritional yeast in place of cheese. It was pretty good with using this recipe as a foundation, but I think I might cave for some vegan parmesan cheese next time, so it's more of a creamy white sauce instead of a creamy yellow sauce (looked like fancy mac n cheese), and see how the taste changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      This was a nice and simple recipe. My husband does not like cream sauces but he loved this one. The reason I am giving it four stars: like others I found it was missing something. I added some Worcestershire sauce, just enough to give it more flavour. I also added more garlic and made some chicken on the side. Will make again but maybe with chili flakes next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Fabulous isn't a big enough word for this dish!!!! I used a little more garlic than called for....sauted the "trinity" (celery, bell pepper & onion) as well & used the Italian 5 Cheese Mix....heaven, absolutely heaven =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      This was good but I found that the measurements were off. I didn't think that there was enough sauce for all of the pasta plus the sauce was really thick and too salty. Luckily, all I had to do was add more milk and a little broth and everything was fixed! I added sauteed veggies (mushrooms, broccoli and tomatoes) to liven the dish up and make it healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2010

      Once I added garlic salt, this was only still a slightly above average dish. I don't think I'll make it again. I think it needed lemon juice or some other added flavor that it was lacking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Has potential but we thought it was bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 16

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Garlic Penne Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 363.8
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    20%
    Total Fat 8.3 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 19.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 230.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.1 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 9.8 g
    19%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes