11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM!!! This is a cheesy, creamy, garlicy sensation! lol.. I made 1/2 of the recipe.. because I realized that I didnt have enough potatoes on hand. I only had 6 potatoes total..and wanted to make another potato dish I found on zaar.. so I made 1/2 the recipe. Instead of blending with a mixer, I did this by hand with a potato masher..(I DID LOTS OF MASHING!!) I like my potatoes a little rustic haha :-) It was splendid though!! This really topped the meal off... thanks junebug!!!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
love4culinary April 21, 2003

3/24/08 I made this again for Easter but instead mixed in the cheddar and topped with French Fried onions. I didn't think it could be any better than it was originally, but wow! Ten stars this way. (12/25/07)Wonderful creamy potatoes. I used eight potatoes since mine were on the small side. Loved the garlic and cream cheese combo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicki in CT March 24, 2008

I made this as part of my Mother's Day dinner and had my parents as guests. It went over great! Everyone liked it! Mom insisted on getting the recipe. I reheated the single serving that was left-over in the microwave the next day for my lunch and that worked well too! Thank you for another winning recipe Junebug!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn May 21, 2003

OMG can you say YUM! Used one posters idea of stirring in the cheddar cheese and topping with French Fried Onions and that was what kicked it up over the top!! Used up leftover mashed potatoes (which already had garlic in them) which worked perfectly after adding some milk to thin them out a bit, other wise made the rest of the was as instructed!! Thanks for a keeper recipe! BTW, Hubby took leftover to lunch and commented they were better leftover!!! LOL

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 January 10, 2013

Excellent! We used reduced fat cream cheese and sour cream, skim milk, and substituted chives for parsley. We also couldn't resist mixing a little extra cheddar inside. We cooked it in the grill while the smoker was smoking a pork loin. VERY tasty!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy July 06, 2010

Terrific make-ahead dish! I used leftover baked potatoes instead of boiled potatos and left out the cheddar cheese. They still had a nice, cheesey flavor. The leftovers dried out in the refrigerator but the addition of some low-fat milk brought them back to a creamy consistency. Thanks June-bug for a great make-ahead dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
artistclogger March 11, 2008

We had a Thanksgiving dinner for our church group at our house last night and I made these potatoes as one of the side dishes. These are amazing--so rich and creamy! We loved the addition of the garlic; something I would've never thought to add but that gave so much extra flavor. Thanks, Junebug!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juenessa November 18, 2007

Great recipe! We really enjoyed it...will make again and again I am sure...would be great for the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIndytc August 20, 2007

we love this casserole! we like it a bit chunkier, so no blending. we add cajun seasoning (like Tony Cachere's)to spice it up and sub in low fat milk/sour cream/cream cheese etc. enjoy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
doriwhitehead September 23, 2006

Wow... our guests were super impressed. We made this just as recipe called. Very yummy... might be good with some crumbled bacon too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CandyTX June 10, 2006
Creamy Garlic Mashed Potato Casserole