Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Fried Onion Mashed Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Fried Onion Mashed Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2008

      Yummy! I used my food processor to chop up the onion (I only had one onion in my house). They turned out great. I'm sure it would have been even better if I had been able to follow the recipe and use 2 onions. Also, I used 1/2 cup of butter. I don't think 1/3 cup would have been buttery enough for me

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      I absolutely love onions and put them in everything, while my husband is not as big of an onion fan. I fell in love with the name and had to make these; I thought they were great, and was completely shocked when my husband told me that this recipe was "definitely a keeper!" Thank you so much for this great recipe, the onions add such a great taste to the potatoes! I can't wait to make these again :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      These were very good indeed--the only changes I'll want to make are to add garlic to the onions, substitute unpeeled red skin or yukon gold potatoes for russets (personal preference), and to chop the onions more finely next time. They were very rich and flavorful--I think that these would be excellent with a beef roast! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe, kittencal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      WoW! My family devoured these! They were far better than any mashed potatoes I have ever made! The flavor was perfect. Another great recipe! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

    • on October 23, 2006

      This is one of those recipes that I wish could be given more than 5 stars. This was fabulous--simply fabulous! I mean, I knew it would be good, because how can you go wrong with potatoes and fried onions? ;-) But wow! Loved 'em even more than I thought possible. I followed the recipe as written except that I used half-and-half instead of cream, and I added about 1/4 cup more than called for. So so so good! They are also wonderful with Paula Deen's House Seasoning (salt/garlic/pepper blend--my favorite all-purpose seasoning). Thank you so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Kitten these are delicious. We absolutely loved them. I halved the recipe and it worked great. So quick and very easy to assemble. I will be making these mashed potatoes often. Next time I will add a little garlic to the onions while frying. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2006

      Well clog my arteries but let me die with these potatoes in my mouth!!! Kitten these are outstanding!! I love anything with with sauted onions, esp potatoes and I had a couple of sweet vidalias screaming to be used. The only thing I did was to have my whipping cream at room temp, if it is cold it will not mix well and could make the potatoes gummy, so I let it get warm. These are rich, with the cream and the butter and I think they would work just as well with 1/2 & 1/2 or even milk and will try that next time but for now they are awesome as is!!! Thanks Carol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Fried Onion Mashed Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (754 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 715.5
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    27%
    Total Fat 21.4 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 61.0 mg
    20%
    Sodium 155.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 120.8 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 15.2 g
    61%
    Sugars 8.2 g
    33%
    Protein 14.2 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes