Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy French Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy French Dressing

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on June 11, 2007

      added a little horseradish to this its good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2005

      Tangy and sweet with nice flavor. I do recommend you be cautious with the amount of sugar you add- the sweetness of different brands of mayo and ketchup vary a lot, so some people may need less or more sugar. I used Trader Joe's Organic mayo and Organic ketchup, both of which are pretty sweet, so I found I only needed about 3/4 the amount of sugar called for. Overall, very nice- we enjoyed it over mesculun and with veggies. For some reason we felt the flavor was a little off, but we couldn't place it. We thought it might not have enough mayo or the onion was too strong, but I'm really not sure. All-in-all good! I think this would be very kid-friendly, especially if made with a sweet onion! Thanks, Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2010

      Use organic ketchup and mayo. Used Dienia B's suggestion (below) to add horseradish, and this was just what was needed to add zest and extra flavor as we thought it was a little too sweet and uninteresting without it. Made this way, it is spectacular! Much better than buying dressing, as most store-bought have so much corn syrup in them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      good dressing thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      This is such a wonderful recipe. I really enjoyed the dressing. I used the lower amount of sugar, 1/4 cup. That was the perfect amount for me since I like tangy rather than sweet dressings. Thanks for the lovely recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2009

      Made for I Recommend Tag. What a great salad dressing. I'm always looking for different dressing and this one was different than any that I have tried so far. Thanks for posting this Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2009

      Maybe I shouldn't be reviewing this actual recipe, since I made changes. I like a really tangy dressing and not too sweet, so here's what I did and it came out pretty well. I used 1/8 c sugar, added a couple TBSP of white wine vinegar in addition to the cider vinegar, to get more zing without more sweetness. I only used 1/4 cup oil and canola mayo in an attempt to lower the fat. So, I guess I am not reviewing this recipe, but my own....LOL! Thank you! We are going to have this on taco salad tonight :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      We loved this dressing. It had the perfect tartness to it that we like. I halved the recipe for the two of us. I did use spenda. DH just raved about it. thanks Sharon for sharing. Made for Summer Spectacular 09 :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This dressing was a huge hit at my Sunday dinner....I doubled the recipe but I should have tripled it....will make over and over again I am sure

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      I halfed the recipe, hoping it would be enough... and it wasn't! This is such quick and easy recipe, and so wondeful. I will be making this again for salads. The family loved it, and it doenst get any easier than this! Thanks Sharon, for this fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      This is great! And really easy to make too. Will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      I was making Seafood Pasta Salad, which calls for this type of dressing. After tasting one little bite of the 'gourmet' commercial product I'd bought, I pitched the vile stuff in the garbage and checked on 'zaar as I should have in the first place. The result was delicious! With lots left over, I served it last night on a tossed green salad. And for lunch today, we mixed in a good bit of horseradish and it made a yummy spread for reuben sandwiches. I agree with the commenters who say it's awfully sweet. (I cut back to 1/4 cup sugar and it still was.) But it has great flavor, is easy to adapt to personal taste and proved to be wonderfully versatile. All that for 5 minutes' effort. Definitely 5* in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This is a fabulous French dressing! We all loved it - even my kids. I love the sweetness of this dressing and the wonderful flavor. So easy and it really makes you want to eat more salad! Made for ZWT3 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2007

      This was fantastic, I halved the recipe as I didn't need so much and I added a little less sugar as I like the sharpness of the vinegar. Served with a salad of shrimp / prawns, shredded lettuce, sliced avocado and thinly sliced cucumber - almost like a prawn cocktail, it made a great starter. Made for ZWT3 '07. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      This is a wonderful dressing, creamy yet with some bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      This is so easy to whip up, and the flavor is very fresh and has a nice sweet tang to it. I put it over romaine and spinach leaves with diced cucumbers. I made the redipe exactly as posted and was rewarded with a teriffic dressing. Thanks Sharon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2005

      What a wonderful recipe! Simple and easy to make and a quick one to make when your in a rush too. I did leave out one ingredient and that was the olive oil. I didn't have any on hand, so I decided not to add any other kind of oil, It still turned out great. DH took a taste of it right before he put it on his salad and right off the bat he said... Yum!thats good salad dressing!! He isn't a salad person but I gotta tell ya, he went back for seconds on this one. This was a recipe I picked for the Photo swap#3 and I am so happy that I made it. Thanks Sharon123 for sharing this wonderful dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2004

      This was very good, only problem I had with it is the onion was a very overpowering flavor in it. I used a regular brown/yellow onion. I think next time I will either omit the onion or use a sweet one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      I have made this several times now and it is a BIG hit with the whole family! Love it!! Very easy to make. I never liked French dressing until now. Thank you Sharon123 for posting this great recipe! You've gotta try this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2003

      I just made this to serve over our chef's salads for dinner - romaine lettuce, vidalia onions, carrots, fried turkey ham slices, green olives, with gouda cheese and marinated artichoke hearts on the side. Very easy to make, but I did substitute about 3/8 cup of honey for the 1/2 cup sugar since we don't use sugar too much anymore. This sub worked very well. It was both creamy and tangy, and it reminded my family of "thousand island dressing, except without those little chunky bits." DangerBoy even liked it, and he doesn't usually like anything other than buttermilk ranch dressing. Thanks Sharon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy French Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (1541 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1087.8
     
    Calories from Fat 920
    84%
    Total Fat 102.2 g
    157%
    Saturated Fat 14.2 g
    71%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 1338.2 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 35.1 g
    140%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes