Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Cucumber Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Cucumber Salad

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on June 15, 2011

      This was good - after reading the reviews I salted and drained the cucumbers first, and it was still a little runny. For ZWT7 silverados.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I love this salad. To rid the water, I core the middle of the cukes eliminating the seedy soft center. you get nice crescent-shape cucumber slices, great flavor, and no excess liquid. It takes a bit longer, but it is worthy to retain that great dilly taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      I used an English cucumber, rice vinegar and fresh dill for this amazing salad. I loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      My dh and guests really enjoyed this creamy, dill flavored dish. It was quick and easy to make. The cucumbers were crisp and tangy from the creamy dressing. I also had a lot of excess liquid, which I just drained. Kudos on a tasty, refreshing dish that will be great at future bbqs. Made for ZWT7 for the Witchin Kitchen.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Great! The dressing was almost sweet-sour and totally delicious with the cucumber and sweet onion I used. In fact, it should rate 5 stars, but after 2 hours' chilling the cucumber was shedding liquid and thinning the salad dressing. A keeper -- all I'd tweak next time is to salt the cucumbers beforehand to draw out some liquid. The taste was perfect. And may I suggest, this salad is perfect with spicy meat -- I happened to make a Moroccan-type meatball from a Zaar recipe, and it complemented each other perfectly. It would be perfect with a curry as well. Thanks, Parsley, this a great way to use this salad veggie! I used my food processor to slice the cucumber as thinly as possible. And I forgot to say: as I was using lemon juice in my main dish, I had enough left over, so I used lemon juice in the dressing instead of vinegar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2014

      A little on the sweet side. I will proportion my sugar to salt ration much closer. Still tasty, looking for the perfect recipe similar to my Gramma's. <br/>Koz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2014

      Too sweet

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2014

      I think this recipe is on the right track, but I and very familiar and love sweet sour flavors and I think this recipe is too sweet. I had to add more vinegar and salt for the quantity of the cucumbers. It's okay for the salad to be a bit wet with water, but you have to have the sour with the sweet otherwise, it tastes like any other middle American salad (I'm thinking salads with marshmallows and all that). Also, more salt needs to be added. But overall, cut the sugar to 3T and add about 1/2 cup of vinegar. Also add 1T of dill and you will have something that more resembles what they do in Finland. A little more stronger in flavor and more sweet/sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2013

      Yummm! The perfect blend of sweet, sour, and creamy! Loved it! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      will make this again. Was watery and did salt the cucs and rinsed before hand. but drained more at time of serving. let sit overnight and did use a little more dill...we love dill. This was ok will try something different before we do this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      I really liked this as did my guests at a recent cookout. Followed directions as written. I didn't have a problem with it being runny until the next day, which is typical for this type of salad. But it was still good to eat the next day. Will make again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2013

      The taste is great! I add a few red radishes for coloring and flavoring and used fresh dill. Yummy! Thinly slicing makes it mouthwatering. <br/>If made ahead, just drain excess liquids, or make it right away before eating.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2013

      I added in some tomoatoes and just used some onion flakes, as my husband doesn't like onions...either way...this recipe is REALLY good! I found that by adding in more cucumber, it'll soak up the extra liquid. Oh, and I also used reduced fat sour cream! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      Everyone loved this, my 4 year old even asked for more. I will be making this again, thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      I took a plunge and tried this recipe at work. I work in a school and we had a bunch of baby cucumbers to use up, well I thought that it was getting warm out and I do want the kids to try something different. Not all tried it, but the ones that did liked it, the staff went nuts for it. The only changes I made was using baby cucumbers and using 1/3 the onion called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      This is hands down the best cumber salad I ever had. The only thing different that I did was add some chopped carrots... Excellent. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Made this with fresh cucumber that was big so peeled, cut in half removed the seeds and sliced.
      Very good with a variety of other salads and burgers. May save it for souvlaki tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      Very good! The amount of vinegar is just right. I was looking for the right proportions of these common ingredients, I think this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2011

      The whole family loved this, even my picky 5 yr old. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      My salad turned out a little too runny. It tasted ok, but I thought it could have used a little more seasoning. Probably won't make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Cucumber Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (271 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.4
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    48%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 19.9 mg
    6%
    Sodium 229.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites