77 Reviews

This was good - after reading the reviews I salted and drained the cucumbers first, and it was still a little runny. For ZWT7 silverados.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Random Rachel June 15, 2011

I really liked this as did my guests at a recent cookout. Followed directions as written. I didn't have a problem with it being runny until the next day, which is typical for this type of salad. But it was still good to eat the next day. Will make again. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly Morton August 07, 2013

I love this salad. To rid the water, I core the middle of the cukes eliminating the seedy soft center. you get nice crescent-shape cucumber slices, great flavor, and no excess liquid. It takes a bit longer, but it is worthy to retain that great dilly taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meliza216 June 23, 2012

Yummo! This is a keeper, have lots of cucumbers in the garden, will make this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jo C. June 02, 2015

I used an English cucumber, rice vinegar and fresh dill for this amazing salad. I loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 July 03, 2011

My dh and guests really enjoyed this creamy, dill flavored dish. It was quick and easy to make. The cucumbers were crisp and tangy from the creamy dressing. I also had a lot of excess liquid, which I just drained. Kudos on a tasty, refreshing dish that will be great at future bbqs. Made for ZWT7 for the Witchin Kitchen.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato June 21, 2011

Great! The dressing was almost sweet-sour and totally delicious with the cucumber and sweet onion I used. In fact, it should rate 5 stars, but after 2 hours' chilling the cucumber was shedding liquid and thinning the salad dressing. A keeper -- all I'd tweak next time is to salt the cucumbers beforehand to draw out some liquid. The taste was perfect. And may I suggest, this salad is perfect with spicy meat -- I happened to make a Moroccan-type meatball from a Zaar recipe, and it complemented each other perfectly. It would be perfect with a curry as well. Thanks, Parsley, this a great way to use this salad veggie! I used my food processor to slice the cucumber as thinly as possible. And I forgot to say: as I was using lemon juice in my main dish, I had enough left over, so I used lemon juice in the dressing instead of vinegar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zurie February 07, 2011

I added more dill and kosher salt. I also used less onion to suit young palets!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dana S. July 24, 2015

Very good. Mine turned out a bit runny like some others. I even salted the cucumbers and let them sit for an hour before I made the salad. I will probably make this again because the taste was so good. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvBeinHere May 26, 2015

I have been making this dish for years. Use everything Ina does with exception of mixing half sour cream and half mayo. I also use green onions in lieu of sweet. Goes perfectly with our traditional New Years supper of roast pork, sauerkraut, mashed potatoes and spiced apples.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
masink January 01, 2015
Creamy Cucumber Salad