Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Cream of Wheat Cereal With Maple Syrup and Bananas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Cream of Wheat Cereal With Maple Syrup and Bananas

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 24, 2010

      I can't believe that others haven't mentioned how THICK this was! It was really, really thick. The taste was also ok - my 5yo said it tasted too much like banana. I though it was ok...Thanks for posting a new way to try an ol' favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      Great change from our daily oatmeal! Maple syrup and banana were perfect. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

    • on December 01, 2008

      Very Good! My 1 year old son loved it. A good starter food for infants. I used organic whole milk and a ripe banana.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Great taste combo. I always have Cream of Wheat on had but rarely use it and opting for oatmeal instead out of habit. This is a great morning starter and the maple/banana goes so well with the cereal. The crunch of the almonds was a plus also. I used skim milk and no sugar added syrup. Yummm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2008

      Creamy, YUMMY, and super satisfying. My kids LOVED it! My youngest (6) now requests that we have it everyday....;) I followed the recipe exactly, except used rice milk instead of milk. Worked fine! Thanks, Kittencal for another fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2007

      This is very good, i didn't change a thinge and it was super easy to make, Thanks Kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2007

      I thought this was wonderful! I have a notorious sweet tooth but I try to stay away from sugar-so I used sugar free maple syrup & added 1 pkt Splenda. I made a very small portion since this makes a LOT! I added 1/4 tsp cinn & this is thick-mine thickened very quickly & I just skipped the salt. I used fat free milk & I found it creamy enough. Loved how healthy this was; thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2007

      I really enjoyed this. My daughter said it didn't have any flavor but I disagree. I wish I had read more reviews before I made it because I would have drizzled some more syrup on top. I also didn't use almonds because I didn't have any and that was a mistake. Cut the recipe in half and it fed three of us easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      This was very tasty....funny how something so simple can be so good! Such a nice start to a cold morning! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      My family really liked this. I used only 1/4 c of pancake syrup in the recipe which I thought made it sweet enough - the rest of the family added more sweetener to theirs. I also wanted to point out that purchased in the Cream of Wheat box at my local grocery store, farina is $2.88 a pound. Purchased from the bulk bins at another store, it's only $.39 a pound! We have tried both and the only difference is the cost!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I loved this recipe! Much better than instant flavored cream of wheat! I had to cut recipe in half and it made plenty for mom, daughter and I! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      I'm a huge fan of Cream of Wheat to begine with, but this recipe made it 3x as good! I went light on the banana, as I'm not technically allowed to eat them with my medical issues. I didn't add almonds because I didn't have any, but I will try them next time around. Thanks so much for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2006

      MMmmmmmm!!!! Delicious!!! I made mine in the microwave so followed the directions for the amount of liquid (using half water half skim milk). I think the thing I enjoyed most about this cereal is the fact that the banana is chopped not mashed. Since cream of wheat is so smooth as it is, the chopped banana added some texture which was great. I also really enjoyed the almonds on top (I didn't toast them, just coarsly chopped whole almonds). I had to use light pancake syrup instead of the maple syrup but it was still delicious. The banana/maple flavor was outstanding. This is a definite must make again soon recipe!!!! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2006

      This was very delicious! I also cooked the cereal in the same manner as PaulaG. Wasn't sure about Step #3 if I were supposed to continue boiling or reduce heat slightly. (If I hadn't reduced the heat the cereal would have boiled over.) Thank you for sharing your yummy recipe. I've made it two days in a row now. cg ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      This was such a delightful comfort dish. The almonds were a nice change from the walnuts I usually have in hot cereals. I've enjoyed two bowlfuls today! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      My twins just got braces and so this was a welcome sight for them at breakfast time! I added the bananas to the water and milk combination. I always add my fruit with the liquid when I make hot cereal. Just a personal preference! I like Paula G's idea of adding non fat dry milk at the end as I too always worry about scorching the milk. Drizzling just a small amount of syrup over the cereal was just right for us but I am sure it is good the other way too! Thanks for reminding me that hot cereal is delicious! KCShell

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2006

      I adjusted the recipe to serve 2 and then found it necessary to adjust for a quicker cooking farina. Also, I used water to cook the cereal and added powdered milk at the end of cooking. This produces the creaminess that milk provides and keeps the cereal from scorching while it cooks. For personal taste, the amount of maple syrup was decreased and a little reserved to drizzle over the top when serving. Each serving was garnished with the sliced almonds and a slice of banana. This made a delicious, filling breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2005

      The rating is by my husband because I don't like cream of wheat. He asked that I leave out the banana next time. It wasn't hard to make. Thanks Kittencal. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Cream of Wheat Cereal With Maple Syrup and Bananas

    Serving Size: 1 (381 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.5
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    12%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 22.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 479.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 95.3 g
    31%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 36.1 g
    144%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes