85 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This salad is killer! I used all garden-fresh ingredients- Iowa sweet corn, cherry tomatoes, basil. I may eat the entire batch before it has time to chill. =) This will be made time and time again. I may try some of the other reviewers suggestions to vary it up, really though, perfect as is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen R. July 30, 2014

This salad is AMAZING! So simple and easy to put together with ingredients I always have on hand. I couldn't quit tasting from the bowl and I hadn't even put it in the fridge yet! :) I tripled the batch and used grape tomatoes (cut in half), dried dill and 1/2 tsp each of salt and pepper. I'm serving this as a fresh and tasty side to "Panini Sandwiches" Thanks so much for posting, Sharon123. Edit to add: I followed another reviewers suggestion and made this with Rotel and cumin. Totally different flavor and equally amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 October 27, 2013

I found this in the July/August 1999 issue of Quick Cooking. It was submitted by June Mullins. The original recipe calls for chopped onion (not green) and dill instead of basil. I also added a bit of salt. Turned out great. Was well received at a get together this weekend. Served with BBQ sandwiches, chips, iced tea, a tomato salad, a fruit salad, and éclair dessert. Yummy meal. Also even though this is meant to be a quick side dish, it also works well to prep ahead. I think it gets even better as the flavors blend.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 April 08, 2013

Super yummy and super easy! Felt summery in the middle of a blizzard. Made for February Sun and Spice 2012.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheepdoc February 07, 2013

My husband and I loved this but I did make some changes. I omitted the basil. I added 2 Tbsp of chopped cilantro and a small can of peas and carrots. It was very good :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Olivia28 January 31, 2013

love this, nice and refreshing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gerrytekarlahowe August 25, 2012

Loved this salad! I was skeptical but pleasantly surprised. Made as written and the second day it was full of liquid. Not sure why but still tasted wonderful. Made for a ladies luncheon and they didn't know the difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ycooks2 August 13, 2012

This was so simple to make and amazingly good!! A nice change from the normal plain old canned corn. Made as written except used low fat mayo.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom_of_4 June 05, 2011

I was dubious at first, but this was delicious! I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand (the horror!), so I used a 10-oz. can of Ro-Tel Hot Diced Tomatoes with Habaneros (if you do this, make sure you drain the tomatoes very well, as the extra liquid will break down the mayo and make it watery). Since I was already Southwesterned up, I went with the poster's suggestion of swapping out the basil for cumin. Wow! What a fanstastic flavor! I'm going to be making this a lot!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cluich May 25, 2011

A nice change to use my freezer corn from last years garden. I would cut back a bit on the mayo next time. Thanks Sharon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu April 19, 2011
Creamy Corn Salad