Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Cooked Eggnog Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Cooked Eggnog

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2011

      I'm giving this a 5 star rating because I tasted it warm and am imagining how it will taste a bit thicker and cold. lol. I couldn't wait. Tasting it warm, it was 4 stars. I'm delighted. Just delicious. I was going to make a traditional eggnog, but decided against it because I wimped out on using the raw eggs (I have guests, many of them will be children, some elderly and I'm pregnant.) The taste could use a big more "ooomph" (more nutmeg, perhaps? I used the lower end recommendation). But I was pleasantly surprized by the amount of thickness I was able to get with the cooked egg mixture. Very excited to try this tomorrow cold.

      Edited to add: had a bit of a tapioca feel the next day. Thinned it out with milk and ran it through a blender. SUCCESS. Next time I might add slightly more sugar and more cinnamon and nutmeg, as per my tastes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Excellent egg Nog Recipe. I used Splenda and no one could tell. thanks for the recipe. I will be doing it again next Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      This recipe was easy and tasted amazing!! I created a profile just so that I could rave about it!! I made this for Christmas and my guests absolutely loved it. Also a note; if you want it to taste similar to store bought egg nog just add a dash of rum extract.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      I grew up making eggnog a glass at a time, as desired, using a raw egg. As a result, I can never remember how to make cooked eggnog! LOL!!! This recipe is just right with 3/4 cup sugar, though I don't think it needs the cinnamon. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2012

      My first try, and I was always afraid of raw eggs before, and I must say this was soo easy and soo fantastic!!!!!!! Huge recommendations,and thanks soo much, as I am feeling pressured overall, and appreciate an easy and very tasteful recipe! Thanks much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2011

      I'm a sucker for sweets, have loved egg nog since I was little. This is perfect, easy to make, and so much better than store-bought. Don't have any other opinions yet, wife doesn't like egg nog,,, mmhmm, what a shame, all mine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      YUMM! Love this recipe! Since I didn't have any heavy cream, I used 1 can of evaporated milk plus enough 2% milk to make 2 cups, added that to the egg & sugar to cook. I added 2 cups 2% milk after cooking. I did add the cinnamon, nutmeg & vanilla to the egg mixture while cooking, instead of afterward. Delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      What a hit! I made this per the request of a student for Eggnog. All the students and the other volunteer loved it! Just watch the temp though when making your custard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      This was fantastic! It was a hit throughout the holidays! I made the following adjustments to suit our needs/tastes: about 2/3 c sugar, whole milk, and, while I used whipping cream, it was less than called for so that I could use some to make whipped cream to put on top of the drinks. The recipe, of course, doubled well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Wow this is delish wish I could give more than 5 stars thank you for posting .Happy Holidays

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I made this with 4 cups of milk instead of 2 cups milk and 2 cups of cream, and it was so good! I'll make this again for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I've tried a few homemade eggnogs for various purposes. Lots of recipes use only the egg yolks, so they're great for when you want to use up a bunch of yolks after making merengues or something. But hands down, this one is the only one for us when we want eggnog for its own sake. It's the only one we've tried that successfully captures that thick, sweet flavour we love around the holidays.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Excellent!! I made this using 5 extra large eggs, 2 cups skim milk and 2 cups canned milk. It is a little thinner than I expected, but I think that is because I used skim. It has great flavor!! It is just as good as, if not better than, store bought! Thanks Susie in Texas!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This was great! I made it for Thanksgiving and am making it again for the Winter Holidays. If you cook it too much you will get stirred nutmeg custard, which isn't too bad, but it isn't the best drink. I know because I waited for it to thicken (which happened at around 170-175 degrees) and that was too long. Stop at 160, and maybe pour some cold milk in it to keep it cool. In other words, just follow the recipe and don't get carried away with the temperature :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      I beat the eggs and the half and half milk . vanilla extract and sugar cook until you see it is thick . LAST WHEN COOL AND COLD add heavy cream .and back to the refrigerate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      Loved the taste, but something funky went on with the cooking proccess and it came out a bit thick with a grainy texture. Could have been me.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      Yummy this is the first time we tasted eggnog and its delicious, Seen many diffrent recipes but couldnt bear the thought off consuming raw eggs. This recipe is rich, creamy and with alovely spice taste will e making it again, tastes just as nice warm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2005

      This came out excellent! I used my candy thermometer successfully too, that makes me double happy:-) After returning from America, I had always wanted to make eggnog at home for my mom and the little kids who visit us regularly at weekends, so that they would know how nice it is:) I am going to search my Zaar cookbook tonight for eggnog recipes and make something using this eggnog. Thank you very much for a good eggnog recipe. This was easy to follow with simple and perfect instructions. I will update my review once I use up the eggnog. I have a question though: How long will the eggnog keep refrigerated? Let me know, please as this is my first experience with homemade eggnog. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Cooked Eggnog

    Serving Size: 1 (228 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 465.5
     
    Calories from Fat 334
    71%
    Total Fat 37.1 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 21.7 g
    108%
    Cholesterol 306.0 mg
    102%
    Sodium 141.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 17.0 g
    68%
    Protein 10.5 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites