20 Reviews

I'm giving this a 5 star rating because I tasted it warm and am imagining how it will taste a bit thicker and cold. lol. I couldn't wait. Tasting it warm, it was 4 stars. I'm delighted. Just delicious. I was going to make a traditional eggnog, but decided against it because I wimped out on using the raw eggs (I have guests, many of them will be children, some elderly and I'm pregnant.) The taste could use a big more "ooomph" (more nutmeg, perhaps? I used the lower end recommendation). But I was pleasantly surprized by the amount of thickness I was able to get with the cooked egg mixture. Very excited to try this tomorrow cold.

Edited to add: had a bit of a tapioca feel the next day. Thinned it out with milk and ran it through a blender. SUCCESS. Next time I might add slightly more sugar and more cinnamon and nutmeg, as per my tastes.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel November 26, 2011

I made this with 4 cups of milk instead of 2 cups milk and 2 cups of cream, and it was so good! I'll make this again for sure!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food.Is.Good October 25, 2009

This was great! I made it for Thanksgiving and am making it again for the Winter Holidays. If you cook it too much you will get stirred nutmeg custard, which isn't too bad, but it isn't the best drink. I know because I waited for it to thicken (which happened at around 170-175 degrees) and that was too long. Stop at 160, and maybe pour some cold milk in it to keep it cool. In other words, just follow the recipe and don't get carried away with the temperature :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mudflower December 20, 2008

Recipe is very easy to make and turned out great! However, I think I'm going to eliminate the cinnamon, reduce the vanilla and increase the nutmeg next time. I have only tasted it warm (it tastes like snickerdoodles to me), so maybe it will be different when it's chilled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sjcedaddy December 21, 2014

Excellent egg Nog Recipe. I used Splenda and no one could tell. thanks for the recipe. I will be doing it again next Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bill mayes January 11, 2013

This recipe was easy and tasted amazing!! I created a profile just so that I could rave about it!! I made this for Christmas and my guests absolutely loved it. Also a note; if you want it to taste similar to store bought egg nog just add a dash of rum extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drehud December 25, 2012

I grew up making eggnog a glass at a time, as desired, using a raw egg. As a result, I can never remember how to make cooked eggnog! LOL!!! This recipe is just right with 3/4 cup sugar, though I don't think it needs the cinnamon. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeborahSu December 25, 2012

My first try, and I was always afraid of raw eggs before, and I must say this was soo easy and soo fantastic!!!!!!! Huge recommendations,and thanks soo much, as I am feeling pressured overall, and appreciate an easy and very tasteful recipe! Thanks much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katrinepa2 December 22, 2012

I'm a sucker for sweets, have loved egg nog since I was little. This is perfect, easy to make, and so much better than store-bought. Don't have any other opinions yet, wife doesn't like egg nog,,, mmhmm, what a shame, all mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. December 15, 2011
Creamy Cooked Eggnog