10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is how I grew up making coconut milk. Use less water for a richer end result and more water for a less rich end result. We always use it to cook with or make coconut block (a frozen treat) Very delicious :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxanne J.R. May 30, 2010

Exactly what I needed for a coconut rice recipe! If I didn't know I made it, I would not have known the difference! It works great on sweetened shredded coconut that is starting to dry out also! The strained coconut can then be used in other recipes such as coconut filled brownies. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GzNKz4evr November 16, 2009

This made a very light slightly creamy coconut milk with desiccated unsweetened coconut. I think some people reviewing this recipe dont understand this is meant to be made with a fresh shredded coconut~thats how it would be creamy Im assuming. However without the fresh coconut this worked perfectly fine in Coconut Rice. I will defiantly use this recipe again if needed and would like to try it with freshly grated coconut also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat May 28, 2009

We absolutely loved the results and plan on using it instead of rice milk. I removed one star since it wasn't "creamy" to me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glorybox January 12, 2008

Wonderful and easy recipe mielhollinger. I actually needed some coconut milk for **Jubes** Apricot Dream Balls, I thought I had coconut milk and when it was time to add it ....... GASP!! I then found this recipe and it worked so very well, I was amazed at how quick and easy it was !! Thanks again, this great recipe got me out of spot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme November 27, 2007

Surprizingly this turned out quite well and made an excelent coconut milk for the Tongian Coconut Rolls also on the Zaar. I put it in the fridge and found that the solids began forming at the top. I was also bothered by the fact that so much coconut was strained off and wasted after making (I doubled the recipe and used the same batch to make a second batch of the milk). I wish I had had a back up plan for the left over coconut, or knew if it was still fine to use it, as it was very light and fluffy from the moisture and the pureeing in the blender. Was much of the fat taken out? Likely. Anyways, I dont think this is a PERFECT replacement for the coconut milk in a can, but if you, like me, had run out of coconut milk and needed it to make a yummy new Zaar dish, it works just fine! Just a little less fatty than regular coconut milk. A bit too watery. But just a bit. Not enough to have to make any alterations in a recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Food Snob in Israel June 14, 2007

Just what I was looking for!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegiBrit June 05, 2007

Just what I needed. Thank you! I'm using it for recipe 97417 :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sunshinestarr December 07, 2006

I was making Thai Coconut Rice #63446 and Coconut Chicken Curry #19177 and didn't have the coconut milk I thought I had. It didn't specify fresh or packaged coconut so I decided to experiment and used my regular slightly sweetened coconut flakes. I made 5-1/2 cups, enough for both recipes and WOW. This saved my dinner. It was VERY, VERY good. Thanks a lot for posting this, it saved me a trip to the store, also!!!! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Che~Sara` October 03, 2006
Creamy Coconut Milk