81 Reviews

Easy to make and especially good with fresh rosemary from the garden. I also found the soup too thick for my liking and added extra broth to desired consistency. Cooked on LOW in a crock pot for several hours. A large spoonful of cooked brown rice was added (to make the soup more of a main dish) to each serving along with a drizzle of olive oil, sprinkle of black pepper and a few fresh rosemary leaves. Thank you.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 19, 2010

I was torn on how to rate this. 3 for the texture and flavor, but with just a few adjustments a 5. I loved the overall flavors and the easy prepardness. I love chick peas so this was something I had to try. I added a bit more chicken broth, more lemon juice, more rosemary and some fresh ground black pepper. The base flavor was definitely there, but for me, being a bit thinner with more flavor was needed.

I garnished it with some fresh parsley and grilled pita bread that had a Greek seasoning on it which was really good and easy. A lemon slice in the soup was also very good as the lemon flavor kept going through the soup when it was warm.

Thanks for a very simple recipe, and it was really good, but for me, I just needed to adjust a few things to my liking. It was a very nice recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook September 19, 2010

This was wonderful!! And so easy to make! I did add extra chicken broth from the advice of other reviewers. I ended up putting around 5 1/2 cups of low-sodium chicken broth, used a couple dashes of onion powder but other than that went with the recipe. The lemon juice, as others have said, was a very nice touch, and finishes off the recipe well. I really think this would make a great base soup to create other soups with. I think adding a small amount of grain and some veggies would make a very hearty lunch meal covering all your bases.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakinphotogeek May 16, 2010

I don't know if we did something wrong but we hated this soup. We felt bad about throwing the rest out so we instead froze it and give it to my mom. She didn't like it either. Not our cup of tea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mMadness97 October 26, 2011

Found this recipe on www.supercook.com. Easily made from ingredients on hand.
I sauteed onion and celery that needed to be used up and whirled all the ingredients in the blender for a creamy, delicious soup. Garnished with some fresh parsley.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mollypaul March 11, 2011

I soaked and then cooked one cup of dried chickpeas, which resulted in 2 1/2 cups. Used all the other ingredients as shown, and ended up with a thinnish soup - I would probably use 3 cups of chickpeas next time. I just rough-chopped the garlic, and then blended everything right in the pot with my immersion blender. I'd put it through a sieve to serve to company, but did not bother for myself. A tasty, garlicky soup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte March 02, 2011

Hubby and I loved it. Easy, cheap, delicious! I used chicken bouillon, dried rosemary, jarred garlic and bottled lemon and it was still yummy. What I love is that for me, this is a pantry recipe. We liked the texture and didn't add any more broth.

Would be great with some toasted garlic bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 October 06, 2010

This soup was super easy and very tasty! I made the recipe as stated but added a little more garlic (because I love garlic) and doubled the lemon juice. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buwala July 17, 2010

Well that was delicious. I needed a quick lunch - and this was perfect. I added a little more water to the mix so it would be more soupesque. Yum yum yum. I didn't think this was too much like hummus especially with the rosemary. Thanks a million Carla! By the way - you can simmer for less than 30 minutes if you're pressed for time - still delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea October 27, 2009

I had a chickpea and rosemary soup in Italy and I came home looking to recreate it. I made this recipe with just under 3 cans of chickpeas (my 3rd was those new organic target containers and it's not quite as big as the normal cans) I used veggie broth not chicken because I am a vegetarian. Otherwise I followed the recipe (maybe a little less garlic because I used already minced garlic as I was in a hurry). I did not use extra broth and I didn't need it. I simmered with the lid on. I blended it in my vita mixer (worth every penny in my opinion) it was perfectly smooth and very flavorful. I may use just a tad more rosemary next time. I really love this recipe. Healthy, flavorful, filling and easy and quick to make. I will be making this many, many more times!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lsandine11 April 03, 2015
Creamy Chickpea & Rosemary Soup