Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chickpea & Rosemary Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chickpea & Rosemary Soup

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2010

      Easy to make and especially good with fresh rosemary from the garden. I also found the soup too thick for my liking and added extra broth to desired consistency. Cooked on LOW in a crock pot for several hours. A large spoonful of cooked brown rice was added (to make the soup more of a main dish) to each serving along with a drizzle of olive oil, sprinkle of black pepper and a few fresh rosemary leaves. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      I was torn on how to rate this. 3 for the texture and flavor, but with just a few adjustments a 5. I loved the overall flavors and the easy prepardness. I love chick peas so this was something I had to try. I added a bit more chicken broth, more lemon juice, more rosemary and some fresh ground black pepper. The base flavor was definitely there, but for me, being a bit thinner with more flavor was needed.

      I garnished it with some fresh parsley and grilled pita bread that had a Greek seasoning on it which was really good and easy. A lemon slice in the soup was also very good as the lemon flavor kept going through the soup when it was warm.

      Thanks for a very simple recipe, and it was really good, but for me, I just needed to adjust a few things to my liking. It was a very nice recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2010

      This was wonderful!! And so easy to make! I did add extra chicken broth from the advice of other reviewers. I ended up putting around 5 1/2 cups of low-sodium chicken broth, used a couple dashes of onion powder but other than that went with the recipe. The lemon juice, as others have said, was a very nice touch, and finishes off the recipe well. I really think this would make a great base soup to create other soups with. I think adding a small amount of grain and some veggies would make a very hearty lunch meal covering all your bases.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      I don't know if we did something wrong but we hated this soup. We felt bad about throwing the rest out so we instead froze it and give it to my mom. She didn't like it either. Not our cup of tea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2011

      Found this recipe on www.supercook.com. Easily made from ingredients on hand.
      I sauteed onion and celery that needed to be used up and whirled all the ingredients in the blender for a creamy, delicious soup. Garnished with some fresh parsley.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      I soaked and then cooked one cup of dried chickpeas, which resulted in 2 1/2 cups. Used all the other ingredients as shown, and ended up with a thinnish soup - I would probably use 3 cups of chickpeas next time. I just rough-chopped the garlic, and then blended everything right in the pot with my immersion blender. I'd put it through a sieve to serve to company, but did not bother for myself. A tasty, garlicky soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Hubby and I loved it. Easy, cheap, delicious! I used chicken bouillon, dried rosemary, jarred garlic and bottled lemon and it was still yummy. What I love is that for me, this is a pantry recipe. We liked the texture and didn't add any more broth.

      Would be great with some toasted garlic bread.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2010

      This soup was super easy and very tasty! I made the recipe as stated but added a little more garlic (because I love garlic) and doubled the lemon juice. Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      I made this just as written except I used 1 tsp. dried rosemary. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      I was looking for something different to do with chickpeas and voila, this recipe showed up. I used 1 tsp dried rosemary as I didn't have fresh, 6 cloves of garlic and the rest as it is. I creamed it, added salt, lemon and could not believe it is so good! It was slightly too thick but I just added some water. With chickpeas cooked in a pressure cooker this is a quick, healthy and really tasty soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      A lovely, lovely soup; rich enough to be a meal with warm whole-wheat pita and a salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2012

      I love this soup. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is that I also needed to add extra seasonings, herbs etc. But it's an excellent soup - one of my favorites (and Im a soupaholic) but weirdly my husband doesnt like it much at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2012

      Like everyone else on here, I HAD to modify the recipe! I had about a 1/2 c left over falafel mix (which is chickpeas, onions, garlic, some seasonings) which I added to 2 1/2 c broth. The rosemary and chili peppers were perfect!! This was a test run but will makes its way into regular rotation. Would be perfect with a green salad and/or crusty bread. Lite but filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      I left about half my chickpeas unpureed, so I had a more watery base, to which I added broccoli and a bit of extra garlic. The lemon juice definitely enhances the flavor in an undefinable way (maybe "brightness"?). I also baked some smoked salmon to add as a smoky (bacon-like) garnish to the top of the soup. A simply idea for a soup, and like several others I see this as a great jumping-off point to make a soup that has a bit more body (not to mention protein) without using starches or cream. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      I love chickpeas, heck, I eat them right out of the can. That said, this soup has potential but it fell a little flat in the taste category. It needs some tweaking. I topped it with crisp chopped bacon and that helped cuz everything is better with bacon! I did add more red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      Definitely a garlicky soup, and that is quite the statement coming from me because I like my garlic! I balanced the excessive garlic taste simply with more lemon juice. I served as a main dish, with bread and gouda cheese on the side. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      A very simple recipe.

      Good but not great.

      Had to add a few cups more broth.

      Added extra rosemary, red pepper flakes, and garlic as recommended.

      Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      We loved this recipe. Prepared to specs, using vegetable broth. I tasted the soup without the lemon and salt...and it was bland, but with the lemon and salt, it had several wonderful layers of flavor with each sip! My friend who is eating vegan said it was one of the best soups she's ever had. I found it very healthy and filling, with perfect consistency. (I did simmer it with the lid on.) I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      Thank you Carla! We really enjoyed this soup! My husband and I follow the Eat for your Blood Type plan and chickpeas are not right for our type. I substituted pinto beans (which are beneficial for our type) and it was Excellent! Fresh rosemary from my garden and a good helping of garlic made this outstanding. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      It was good WHEN I doubled the Rosemary, Garlic, lemon and red pepper. I also had to add extra broth to make it the right consistency. This was following recomendations of other reviewers. I would rate the dish four star with the changes. DH loved it he would maybe give it a 5 star rating. Don't want to discourage anyone from trying this, it just needs tweaked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chickpea & Rosemary Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (389 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.1
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    26%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1134.2 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 14.0 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites