Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chickpea Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chickpea Curry

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2014

      This was so easy and my go to now for Chickpea Curry. I added some frozen mixed veg to soak up some of the sauce and it came out nice and thick...delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      This is an easy delicious quick meal to make. I like using lite coconut milk which helps to reduce the calories. Additionally, after adding the chickpeas and coconut milk I also add 1 diced potato and 1/2 cup of frozen edamame. And during the final 5 minute simmer I like adding some fresh baby spinach ( about 2 cups ) along with the tomatoes, lime juice, and sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2012

      My absolute favorite new recipe. I've made this about a half dozen times now, it's the best curry recipe I've ever made! I make it with brown rice and it can be frozen so I have something healthy and tasty around even when I'm too busy to cook (especially good around exam time!). It's flexible too- I add carrot, edamame beans and spinach or whatever else I have around. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      This was my first time making curry, but It turned out great! Fantastic recipe, very easy to follow even for some who has never made a curry before. Next time I will probably add a little bit of red chile powder to make it a little spicier.

      Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Loved this! I didn't have red curry paste. I was too lazy to go to the grocery store & used yellow curry paste. I wouldn't recommend using yellow-it just doesn't look all that appetizing. The flavour of this dish is fantastic. It has a beautiful heat after you've swallowed-just perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe!! It is fantastic...I'm off to get red curry paste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      This, like soup, is better the next day when all the flavors have blended. Quick and very yummy! Will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      yummy! Lots of flavor (i followed another recipe to make the red curry paste from scratch). I added some potatoe and spinach to bulk it out a bit, but with chickpeas alone it looks great! I will definitely make this again :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      Fantastic flavor! I had a lonely can of lite coconut milk in my cupboard that I've been wanting to use and picked this recipe as I had all the other ingredients too! I LOVED it! After reading a few similar recipes, I also added some frozen spinach and a few dashes of cayenne. I ate it over some leftover bulgur I had in the fridge. I will probably be making this weekly for my lunches! UPDATE: I just made this again and replaced the chickpeas with 1 cup of lentils and a chopped chicken breast. Just as tasty! I had to add about 1 cup of water also for the lentils. I replaced the tomato with a can of diced tomatoes. I love that this recipe is so versatile!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      This was simple and yummy. I didn't have a tomatoes, so I used a can of petite diced tomatoes with green chilis. WOW! Added a big punch. Thanks for posting. It's hard to find vegetarian AND dairy free recipes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2014

      I'm not rating the recipe itself, but I'd like to make a suggestion. There are four more pictures of this recipe and they look a LOT more appetizing than the first! Take a look at the other pictures before you pass this recipe by. I plan to try it now that I have seen those 3 other pictures. First one does not even look appetiziing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2012

      This was excellent. The flavour was outstanding, and mild enough for my four year-old to eat. Will be making a return visit in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      This was excellent. I made it at described except I had no fresh tomato and used 1/2 can diced tomatoes. I had a partial can of coconut milk and it worked out just fine. I used cilantro and served it over brown basmati rice. I probably used 2 t of canola oil to cut the fat content and my cocount milk was lite. very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      This recipe is a keeper! made it last night for dinner and it got rave reviews all around. I can see this being a very nice base to use for other ingredients - the curried potatoes or cauliflower or even chicken. I see this as being a versatile dish that we will return to frequently. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      Wonderful! I added green beans along with the chickpeas. In the future, I may reduce the amount of red curry paste to account for my low heat tolerance (something I ALWAYS have to do with red curry paste), but this dish wasn't nearly as hot as I expected. I'm not accustomed to tomatoes and basil in curries containing coconut sauce, but it turned out great. The texture of the chickpeas is perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Yum yum KelBel! This was very good. I've had this recipe ear marked for a while, but never got around to making it. I sure am glad that I did! Thanks much - will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

    • on February 13, 2009

      Excellent!! I'm quite surprised at how much this recipe yielded with the only liquid being 1 can of coconut milk! I read through others' reviews & added sliced mushies, about 100g of spinach and 2 roma tomatoes and used lemon juice instead of lime, as that was all we had on hand, and coriander(cilantro) rather than basil. Thanks for sharing, KelBel! :) Update: This has become a regular recipe in our house; we always have the ingredients, it's really versatile & makes for a great lunch the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      Full of flavor and so very simple. great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Very good, nice and mild but very good flavor. I subbed fish sauce for the soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Great curry recipe! I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will add cauliflower, red pepper, and/or carrots to fill out the sauce. I doubled the chickpeas because there was so much sauce. But as-is it was just chickpeas and tomatoes in a delicious curry sauce. Tasty, but I like my veggies, too. I forgot to add the cilantro, but it was still wonderful without. LOVED the lime juice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chickpea Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (462 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 752.6
     
    Calories from Fat 222
    29%
    Total Fat 24.7 g
    38%
    Saturated Fat 16.5 g
    82%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 869.5 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 122.8 g
    40%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 57.1 g
    228%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    red curry paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites