35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was so easy and my go to now for Chickpea Curry. I added some frozen mixed veg to soak up some of the sauce and it came out nice and thick...delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mazirenez June 03, 2014

This is an easy delicious quick meal to make. I like using lite coconut milk which helps to reduce the calories. Additionally, after adding the chickpeas and coconut milk I also add 1 diced potato and 1/2 cup of frozen edamame. And during the final 5 minute simmer I like adding some fresh baby spinach ( about 2 cups ) along with the tomatoes, lime juice, and sugar.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dasebera August 04, 2013

My absolute favorite new recipe. I've made this about a half dozen times now, it's the best curry recipe I've ever made! I make it with brown rice and it can be frozen so I have something healthy and tasty around even when I'm too busy to cook (especially good around exam time!). It's flexible too- I add carrot, edamame beans and spinach or whatever else I have around. Thank you!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kirsten (#1!) October 12, 2012

This was my first time making curry, but It turned out great! Fantastic recipe, very easy to follow even for some who has never made a curry before. Next time I will probably add a little bit of red chile powder to make it a little spicier.

Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thescottwolcott November 17, 2011

Loved this! I didn't have red curry paste. I was too lazy to go to the grocery store & used yellow curry paste. I wouldn't recommend using yellow-it just doesn't look all that appetizing. The flavour of this dish is fantastic. It has a beautiful heat after you've swallowed-just perfect. Thanks for sharing this recipe!! It is fantastic...I'm off to get red curry paste!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good November 28, 2010

This, like soup, is better the next day when all the flavors have blended. Quick and very yummy! Will make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
billybolo September 01, 2010

yummy! Lots of flavor (i followed another recipe to make the red curry paste from scratch). I added some potatoe and spinach to bulk it out a bit, but with chickpeas alone it looks great! I will definitely make this again :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
electrobean November 29, 2009

Fantastic flavor! I had a lonely can of lite coconut milk in my cupboard that I've been wanting to use and picked this recipe as I had all the other ingredients too! I LOVED it! After reading a few similar recipes, I also added some frozen spinach and a few dashes of cayenne. I ate it over some leftover bulgur I had in the fridge. I will probably be making this weekly for my lunches! UPDATE: I just made this again and replaced the chickpeas with 1 cup of lentils and a chopped chicken breast. Just as tasty! I had to add about 1 cup of water also for the lentils. I replaced the tomato with a can of diced tomatoes. I love that this recipe is so versatile!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcram April 01, 2009

This was simple and yummy. I didn't have a tomatoes, so I used a can of petite diced tomatoes with green chilis. WOW! Added a big punch. Thanks for posting. It's hard to find vegetarian AND dairy free recipes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wavecrazed March 04, 2009

I'm not rating the recipe itself, but I'd like to make a suggestion. There are four more pictures of this recipe and they look a LOT more appetizing than the first! Take a look at the other pictures before you pass this recipe by. I plan to try it now that I have seen those 3 other pictures. First one does not even look appetiziing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helyn K. July 05, 2014
Creamy Chickpea Curry