Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chickpea and Tahini Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chickpea and Tahini Casserole

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2010

      I didn't have 2 cans of chickpeas so I used chickpeas and kidney beans and my tahini was a bit sketchy so I used peanut butter instead. This was DELICIOUS! I almost sauteed my onion like someone else suggested but at the last minute threw it in raw and I'm glad I did. It adds just enough bite but keeps the dish tasting very fresh. I will make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I did as others did, doubled the spices and tahini. Very good. I liked it a lot, but it seems to need a little something that I can't put my finger on. I'd like to try it throwing in some peas for a little sweetness next time. There's a vegetarian/vegan group that meets for potluck dinners every couple months here and i do believe this is what I'll be bringing next month. Thanks a bunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      Definitely comfort food. I added a small amount of finely chopped kale just because it's what i had. Added a little soy and lemon as other recommended. Added a little pepper flake because I like a little heat. My youngest commented that it tasted like lasagna and most of my family had 2nd's. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      One of the beauties of this recipe is that it is so flexible. We have been enjoying it for over 4 years now with many variations to suite the mood. Sometimes pinto beans with mexican spices, sometimes chickpeas with moroccan spices, today I am making it with black beans, added a bag of frozen spinach, loads of fresh heirloom tomatoes and mediterranean spices. It's hard to go wrong. Thank you Christine! We truly have enjoyed this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      I really wanted to like this more. The flavors are very basic. I followed the recipe besides that I doubled the tahini-water mixture based on advice from previous reviews. I should have also listened to other reviewers and sauteed the onion, because it was actually still very crunchy & almost raw in the finished dish. It is a very affordable dish and makes a LOT. It is definitely not bad by any means, but I at the same time nothing stood out about it that would make me want to try it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      We loved it! I followed the recipe exactly except my rice was white Jasmati that I had cooked with chicken bouillon which made the meal no longer vegan. This was so quick and easy too! Not to mention healthy! (Next time I'll go for brown rice, I promise.) Oh and I halved the recipe and baked it in a 9x9 pan for about 30-35 minutes. I only needed 1/2 Tbs. sesame seeds so I rubbed them off of some crackers I had so I wouldn't have to go to the store. haha Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2006

      I made several changes to this recipe and liked it quite a lot. Didn't really love it, but more than liked it, and would make it again. I made it on the stovetop instead of in the oven. Kept the rice separate and served the finished "stew" over the rice. Added some water to make it more brothy. Also added veggie bouillon, nutritional yeast, salt, pepper and a couple dashes of hot sauce. With these additions it was very flavorful; without, fairly bland. This is a good recipe to tinker with and add to according to your preferences or what you have on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2005

      This is a very simple recipe and I am definetly going to make it again. I actually halved the recipe and it turned out wonderfully. The only thing I would change is that my roommate and I felt it needed more tomatoes and perhaps more garlic. I might use the entire amount of tomatoes called for next time but keep the rest of the ingredients halved. Overall, it is a very good recipe and I will be making it again. Thanks for the great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      This is a wonderful dish, creamy, hearty and tasty! Do note step 6 though, I found this needed quite a lot of salt. I added just a dash (as I usually do with vegetable dishes, if I don't omit it altogether) and I had to sprinkle on quite a lot more when this was on my plate - but this is obviously the "to taste" part! I omitted the sesame seeds as I didn't have any. I can't wait to tinker this to perfection spice-wise and wow my vegetarian friends! This also makes quite a lot, the 6 servings are so generous that I think you can stretch them to 8! Thank you for posting this, Christine!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2013

      So easy to put together and really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      I only had one can of chickpeas so I halved everything except the onion and tghe almond butter I used in place of the tahini. Delicious! This goes into DD's favorites cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2013

      I had only one can of chickpeas so I halved the recipe, and it made plenty. I used petite-cut tomatoes in garlic & olive oil instead of plain diced. I also did not have sesame seeds. This dish came out delicious. I too was nervous about the onions (not a big crunchy onion fan) but they were fine. I also topped the casserole with Diaya Mozzarella Shreds during the last 10 minutes of cooking. Yum yum yummy. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This was delicious! Coming from a hard core meat eater... I didn't have any rice on hand, so I sliced up some squash... used fresh Roma tomatoes... doubled the tahini...added pepper, low sodium soy sauce, 2 tbsp. of lemon juice... and some salt to taste... omitted the sesame seeds because I didn't have any... I was very impressed. I will definitely be making this again, and playing with the spices... maybe add some roasted red peppers or spinach... thanks for this tasty and economical recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      The acidity of the tomatoes mixed with the other ingredients didn't work for me :/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I really liked how healthy, inexpensive, and easy this is! I only wish it had a bit more flavor. Will experiment with the spices next time. Thanks for the recipe Christine in Chicago....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

    • on March 08, 2012

      delish!- even after the leftovers sat in the freezer since December.
      My favourite chickpea dish next to Hummus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2012

      Delicious! I was amazed at how creamy it was without dairy. My 3 year old ate 2nd and 3rds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

    • on February 07, 2011

      This was delicious! I didn't have the full amount of rice, so ended up only using half the rice. But I did double the tahini as everyone suggested. I think that for me, I should have sauteed the onion (gastric problems) or else maybe the tiny onion I used was super strong lol. Totally delicious! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chickpea and Tahini Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (408 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.4
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    16%
    Total Fat 6.3 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 438.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.3 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    43%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 12.1 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes