Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chicken-Wild Rice Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chicken-Wild Rice Soup

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2008

      I loved this recipe! I doubled the recipe, which meant I didn't have 8 cups of chicken broth. Instead I put in half broth and half water with chicken bullion cubes. I also used regular milk instead of half and half. One other change was that I just added the rice uncooked, brought the mixture to boiling, and then simmered according to the recipe, knowing the rice would be cooked in time. The texture was perfect. Leftovers were great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      Yum! I followed the recipe exactly - including measuring the seasonings (unusual for me) and I just want to say that the soup was seasoned perfectly. Neither DH nor I needed to add salt (also unusual for us). The curry is not overpowering in this quantity and I think the almonds add a lot - try not to skip! I thought it was a bit too thick and there wasn't quite enough broth, so I added about 2 more cups of broth and it was still not too thin - between a chowder and a cream soup by my estimation even with the xtra broth. I used leftover turkey instead of chicken. DH thought this soup would be good with pheasant as well. I will make this again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2004

      Yum! I made this for my lunches for a week and have been enjoying it tremendously. Omitted the almonds and used Fat Free Half and Half and it tastes great. I cooked the chicken in a crockpot with some water, the parsley (used fresh), curry powder, and some bullion for my chicken stock. Then shredded the chicken and added to the pot as directed. It worked well. The chicken cooked all day and could be smelled outside! :) Will be doing this one again. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2014

      We really, really liked this! My husband, who is not a lover of soup, gave it 5 stars. I hope I can re-create it- I threw in several additional spices and seasonings to give it the full-bodied flavor I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      Absolutely delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      We LOVED this recipe. A really thick, hearty soup. We used homemade turkey stock instead of the chicken broth, and whole milk instead of half and half. This would be a great recipe for leftover chicken, but we didn't have any, so we cut some chicken breasts into chunks and coated them in curry powder before sauteing them quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      I have made this twice following the recipe pretty closely both times. I did omit the almonds and added a litle more rice and eyeballed most of the measurements but both times it was delicious! I took it to my step sister after she had her baby and she later requested the recipe. My picky husband also really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      Mmmm, this was so tasty! I love the flavor it gets from the sherry and curry powder, subtle but good. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Loved it; yum yum. I did make some changes. Actually two of them were eliminations; I HATE mushrooms & didn't have any almonds on hand. I needed to use up my leftovers from Thanksgiving so I replaced the chicken with turkey; and made my own stock from it. My boyfriend said this was the best turkey soup he has ever had. You made me look good!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      This is an awesome soup. My whole family really enjoyed it. I made it in a huge quanity (25-31 servings), let it simmer in a huge roaster all day. We froze some for a future trip, just to reheat and eat, and had leftovers for the next day!!! Definately would make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I love creamy chicken wild rice soup and this one is as good as you can get in a restaurant. I made this and took some to my mothers house she just loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      Delicious soup and really easy too. I followed exactly except I didn't have any almonds and I too, like many others had to add more cream because it got too thick. I could have used chicken stock, but I like my soups creamy. One of our favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      This soup is absolutely delicious. I made it for a gathering and everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. I made it the night before,put it in the crockpot to warm,added the half-and-half and finished warming. This one is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      This was yummy! I omitted the almonds and the curry powder (I'm not a big fan) and it was still delicious. It did thicken up significantly while cooking, and I ended up adding almost an extra 2 cups of chicken stock, so be sure to have extra on hand! Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2006

      This recipe is awesome! My family and I LOVED it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chicken-Wild Rice Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (470 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 588.3
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    34%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 109.0 mg
    36%
    Sodium 882.4 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 7.9 g
    31%
    Protein 34.9 g
    69%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes