Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on December 27, 2008

      Great tortilla soup recipe. I substitute a can of white meat chicken to make it even simpler and delete the cilantro. I also use the garlic infused chicken broth and jalapeno refried beans. It is delicious, my family loves it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      So good and easy, too. I used canned chicken breast on the advise of a previous reviewer. Also, I misread the directions and only had one can of Rotel so, in addition I used a can of regular diced tomatoes and about 1/4 cup of salsa. Also added some ground coriander since I didn't have any fresh cilantro and some cumin. Super fast on a busy weeknight but would impress company, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      Yum!! Very good tortilla soup recipe. It was easy and quick to put together, and VERY filling. The only thing I changed was I added more corn, and a can of black beans. We topped with crushed up tortillas, lite sour cream, and shredded cheddar. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      AWESOME!!! I've been looking for a great Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup recipe for a couple years. This one is it!!! My husband loved it too. I didn't have Rotel so I used tomatoes from my garden along with two 7oz cans of Ortega Diced Green Chilies and a saut?ed med yellow onion. I used extra chicken but otherwise followed the recipe. DELICIOUS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2011

      I am just now making this for the second time in about 2 weeks. It is so delish!! I think I remember that Rotel's is a bit spicy and my youngest doesn't do spicy. So I substituted mild salsa for the Rotel's. For the rest of us that like spicy, we top it with Tapatio. The first time I made it I was nursing a bad cold. After one bowl, I felt so much better. I swear it has healing powers! I also didn't add the cilantro to the pot. I serve it on top of each bowl so you get the fresh cilantro taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Love this! Quick and easy! And yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      Really delicious and easy! Would have taken less time but I had to boil chicken. I added cumin, salt, black and red pepper, and some garlic powder. Even the kid who doesn't eat anything said it was almost kinda good (stellar review from a kid who lives on cereal).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      Delicious soup! I added a can of pinto beans also. I used dried cilantro when it was simmering and fresh as a garnish, it was super good with a dollop of sour cream and chopped onions on top with the cilantro.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      This was excellent! I didn't have any cilantro though, so didn't add it, but it was still delicious. I had made some queso that didn't come out properly and added that and it made the soup even better. Though a tad hotter, since the queso had a can of green chiles in it as well. Definitely a recipe to make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      delicious!! I doubled the recipe, but added a can of cheese soup instead of refried beans when I doubled it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Super easy and very tasty! Love the refried beans melting into the broth...makes a hearty soup in no time at all. Great for nights you don't feel like slaving over dinner but still want something comforting & hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Everyone loved this - our 12 y.o. said he could eat it with a fork! I loved that it didn't have dairy in it. Thanks for a quick, delicious meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      Love this recipe! It's super simple and really quick for those nights you just don't really feel like slaving over the stove. LOL. I did leave out the cilantro because my family doesn't like it and instead of the corn tortillas we used flour. We just break it up and then put the soup on top. It makes them even softer and adds just a little something extra to the soup. Great recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      I have made this soup for years and love it. I'm not much of a soup eater, but this is really tasty, very filling, and is great for potlucks, company, etc. It also freezes well. I skip the corn (personal preference) and add in fresh cilantro, ground cumin, chili powder, and whatever other spices I have on hand that sound good. You really can't go wrong with this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (435 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.8
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    22%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 29.4 mg
    9%
    Sodium 1364.8 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.6 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites