14 Reviews

Great tortilla soup recipe. I substitute a can of white meat chicken to make it even simpler and delete the cilantro. I also use the garlic infused chicken broth and jalapeno refried beans. It is delicious, my family loves it!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amygo74 December 27, 2008

So good and easy, too. I used canned chicken breast on the advise of a previous reviewer. Also, I misread the directions and only had one can of Rotel so, in addition I used a can of regular diced tomatoes and about 1/4 cup of salsa. Also added some ground coriander since I didn't have any fresh cilantro and some cumin. Super fast on a busy weeknight but would impress company, too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovestocook #6 September 15, 2010

Yum!! Very good tortilla soup recipe. It was easy and quick to put together, and VERY filling. The only thing I changed was I added more corn, and a can of black beans. We topped with crushed up tortillas, lite sour cream, and shredded cheddar. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lingering_Dream August 06, 2007

AWESOME!!! I've been looking for a great Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup recipe for a couple years. This one is it!!! My husband loved it too. I didn't have Rotel so I used tomatoes from my garden along with two 7oz cans of Ortega Diced Green Chilies and a saut?ed med yellow onion. I used extra chicken but otherwise followed the recipe. DELICIOUS!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fairmarian26 October 07, 2012

I am just now making this for the second time in about 2 weeks. It is so delish!! I think I remember that Rotel's is a bit spicy and my youngest doesn't do spicy. So I substituted mild salsa for the Rotel's. For the rest of us that like spicy, we top it with Tapatio. The first time I made it I was nursing a bad cold. After one bowl, I felt so much better. I swear it has healing powers! I also didn't add the cilantro to the pot. I serve it on top of each bowl so you get the fresh cilantro taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joinme4coffee October 20, 2011

Love this! Quick and easy! And yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dm1971 September 26, 2011

Really delicious and easy! Would have taken less time but I had to boil chicken. I added cumin, salt, black and red pepper, and some garlic powder. Even the kid who doesn't eat anything said it was almost kinda good (stellar review from a kid who lives on cereal).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu August 29, 2010

Delicious soup! I added a can of pinto beans also. I used dried cilantro when it was simmering and fresh as a garnish, it was super good with a dollop of sour cream and chopped onions on top with the cilantro.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ April 23, 2010

This was excellent! I didn't have any cilantro though, so didn't add it, but it was still delicious. I had made some queso that didn't come out properly and added that and it made the soup even better. Though a tad hotter, since the queso had a can of green chiles in it as well. Definitely a recipe to make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tinkmommy February 25, 2009

delicious!! I doubled the recipe, but added a can of cheese soup instead of refried beans when I doubled it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Laura February 17, 2009
Creamy Chicken Tortilla Soup