Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chicken-pasta Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chicken-pasta Soup

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2003

      I guess we're relly slow up here! Cut this out of the food section of our paper about 3 weeks ago,and made it last night. Didn't know it'd been here awhile. We all liked it - especially my daughter-she loved that broth! I didn't add the lemon juice but I did add a decent anount of dried thyme leaves,and I think that added a lot to the flavor.Definitely naking it again when autumn comes around again - still waiting for spring! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      This is a wonderful soup Bev. I followed your directions exactly and I thought it tasted so yummy. Very comforting and I served with salad and homemade rolls. I will make this more often when the weather cools off. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      Started to rate it a 4*. But after adding 4 chicken bouillon cubes it was a 5*. HERE's WHY: My stock was made by adding (while boiling the chicken) some wine, chicken, worchestershire, veggies, spices, garlic and a few other things. So afer the first bowl we then added the cubes (mixed with 1/2 cup of water) to the soup pot and it was great! Next time I think we will just use the CANS of broth instead. Anyway, after the cubes it was perfect! (I HAD PROBABLY LEFT SOMETHING OUT OF THE STOCK)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      1st time I tried this recipe I had everthing in the house and it was great. 2nd time I was missing the chicken tenders but had frozen chicken breasts stuffed with sun dried tomatoes cheese so I chopped them up in slices and added that. so good I just had to tell you all. This is a very good soup SHARRON FROM CHEF IN THE HOUSE

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      I found this recipe about a year ago in "Bon Apetit" magazine in their "by request" column for restaraunt recipes. I made it once last winter and remember it was very rich and filling! Perfect fare for a cold winter's night with a loaf of crusty French bread. I love the addition of the snap peas! Thanks for submitting this Bev...I had forgotten how good it was!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2003

      Made this for Dahling and myself, both of us were very disappointed! Not much flavor, really bland. Jazzed it up with some additions of veggies, but still would not make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Yummy - this is so delicious. I didn't cook the pasta before adding it - just threw it in let it cook in the soup and it was perfect. DH doesn't like mushrooms so I doubled the snap peas. Great comfort food -thanks for posting Bev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      I am so glad to have found this recipe! I love it at J. Alexander's and have been keeping my eye open for the recipe for a long, long time. Thanks so much! I am positive that it is magnificent, and cannot wait for that first chilly day this autumn to try it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      An excellent soup, Bev, thanks. I made a few additions and omissions with the ingredients; I skipped the mushrooms, lemon juice and snap peas. I used bow tie pasta, and turkey stock from the Thanksgiving turkey bones, and some of the turkey meat too. Next time I'll add a little minced garlic.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      Delicious and perfect for the cold day we had here in Michigan. 2 foot drifts in the driveway so I couldn't get out to buy the mushrooms but this soup was great! Next time, and there will be a next time soon, I will certainly have all the ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      If you made it by following the instructions, and it did not taste quite as flavorful as J Alexander's, simply try cooking it longer before you add the pasta and peas. At the restaurant, the soup has been simmering for much longer before you get it -- I worked there for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      This was very good. A new favorite. I didn't use the lemon juice or the snap peas. Added a little extra carrots and baby bella mushrooms to make up for not using the peas. I cut the chicken to bite size pieces and added it when I added the stock. I was out of dry parsley so I added a bit of basil & italian seasoning. Next time I will use mini penne pasta. The pasta seemed a little too big. I let it simmer for about 15 extra minutes to be sure the chicken was cooked.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Very good and so warming! I left out the snow peas and used orzo (which I just threw in while the soup simmered).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      The food didn't look that good, GREAT WORK THOUGH!!! Good cooking style!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      amazing! tastes just like the chicken pasta soup at j. alexander's, especially after you leave it for 2 or 3 hours. yummmmm! thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      This is delicious! It is definitely not your ordinary chicken soup, but it sure is wonderful. It is flavorful and creamy and it really hits the spot on a fall day. The sugar snap peas are a nice addition! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2008

      Sorry, but I thought this was rather bland. Had to add a variety of spices/seasonings just so that we would like it more. I felt it was missing something. We didn't love it; just was OK for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      We too, didn't love this soup. I felt it was missing something. I had read all the other reviews, so I was prepared to add some more spices which I did to no avail. I also added 6 cloves of minced fresh garlic, some cayenne pepper, some heavy cream, and one serrano chile minced. Still didn't have as much flavor as I would have liked. Think I'll stick with my other chicken soup recipe. This wasn't bad by any means, it just wasn't great for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      Quick and easy... and really delicious! I scaled it down to 3 servings for the two of us for a quick dinner. I loved the fact that the prep and cook time were minimal... I just was not in the mood to cook this particular night!!! I used my own homemade chicken stock and rotini for the pasta. I left out the peas out entirely because I really am not fond of them. I added in some extra mushrooms and celery leaves to make up for them instead. Instead of the half and half, I used half milk and cream since I already had it in the fridge... I liked the fact that the soup was creamy and comforting without being so heavy... I thought it was a little tart on the first day from the lemon juice, but when I had a small bowl the second day ( that was all that was left!) I thought it was just perfect... so I think next time, I will make it one day in advance... really gave the soup's flavors time to marry. Great for a quick dinner on a cool fall night... Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      Delicious, easy and hearty! I made this for supper for DH and I using half the recipe and it was perfect! I seasoned according to pur preferences and there was a portion for DH to take to work - until DD got home from volleyball and devoured it!! (we didn't expect that!!) A keeper I will make again this Fall/Winter soup season. **Sept. Beverage tag 2007**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chicken-pasta Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (546 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 453.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    38%
    Total Fat 19.1 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 9.5 g
    47%
    Cholesterol 117.4 mg
    39%
    Sodium 581.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 4.0 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 35.2 g
    70%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites