14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I followed this pretty much as written except that I added four cloves of grated garlic into the mushroom mixture just before I added mushroom mixture into the chicken broth,cream mixture. I didn't let the garlic cook for long, maybe 30 seconds, because I didn want it to get brown and bitter. I found that the sauce was very thin so I thickened it up ever so slightly with about a tablespoon of cornstarch slurry. Also, I felt that it needed a lot more fresh sage than called for but that's my personal preference. I ended up using about four tablespoons of freshly minced sage leaves and then in the last step where you add the lemon juice I ended up adding some dried sage because I had run out of the fresh sage and I felt it needed more flavor.. Served it with wild rice and fresh baby spinach. Highly recommend this chicken dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sauce Lover January 21, 2015

First of all, I can't tell you how divine this smells while it's cooking. It's enough to make your mouth start watering. I used a mixture of cremini and white mushrooms, which worked out wonderfully. All the seasonings are spot-on, and I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing this gem! Made for Culinary Quest 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 25, 2014

Delicious! At first we thought only 4 stars but the more we ate it the more we liked it, and it was great the next day. I thought it was weird that there was no garlic and the garlicky baked fontina dish we had with it gave it a boost, so I would add some the next time I make it. Made for the Food friends and fun 2014 Culinary Quest for the Cruisin' Culinary Queens

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet August 23, 2014

We loved this one. DH had three helpings. Mine didn't thicken like I thought it would but loved all the sauce with tortellini and Italian bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound August 22, 2014

Excellent, I loved the sage in this, and like other reviewers, halved the meat and was generous with the sauce! So nice, and so easily prepared on a weeknight! I also cubed my chicken and cooked it that way, hope you dont mind, we prefer it that way, it certainly was delicious and the chicken very tender and flavourful. I served this over rice, I do like Mikekeys suggestion of ravioli, I will remember that! Thanks Sofie, made for International Agents of QUEST, Italy Super Sauces Challenge!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen Elizabeth August 20, 2014

I love chicken Marsala and this is the first time that I made it myself. Great recipe-so delicious and moist that it rivals restaurant versions. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jociecee February 08, 2014

AMAZING! Best I've ever had...the only thing I tweaked...I added 2 cloves of crushed fresh garlic after I sautéed the shallots....then added the mushrooms! WHOA! SO DELISH!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaryanCes April 27, 2013

I cut the recipe in half and kept the sauce the same amount...DELICIOUS!!!!! Like some of the other reviewers I haven't added cream to my other marsala recipes I have made but this is wonderful and over brown rice...oh so yummy! Made for Fall PAC 2012 and going into my Favorites of 2012 cookbook. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mama smurf October 30, 2012

Wonderfully delicious!!!! I love chicken marsala recipes and this is an excellent one. Made for Best of 2011 game and going into my favorites of 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn February 16, 2012

This is an amazing chicken marsala recipe. I love the cream in the sauce. I'd never had a creamy marsala before, but it was really lovely. The mushrooms are so velvety and earthy and there is just the perfect balance of seasoning. I served alongside oven roasted potatoes for a delightful dinner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
under12parsecs July 30, 2011
Creamy Chicken Marsala