15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I would give this a full 5 stars but I thought it needed a bit of adjusting. I thought 1/2 pound of chicken for 6 servings was not enough--I made it with 1 3/4 pounds. And it is much easier to eat if you cut the chicken into bite-size servings before cooking. I cooked it cut into strips, but then pulled them all out and cut them as I couldn't see any advantage to leaving the pieces big. It was also on the bland side and the sauce to runny. I stirred in 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it up, but next time I will try stirring about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese into the sauce. That will give the sauce a bit more dimesion and thicken it up a bit. A hint I learned about broccoli--if you cook it just until it is done and then drain it and run cold water over it you can preserve the beautiful green color. I cooked my broccoli separately so I could do this and then tossed it all together and let it warm back up for a minute or two. In spite of the adjustments--a wonderful dish I will definitely make again. Beautiful presentation as well.

35 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharlene~W March 13, 2002

This was good, but needed more seasoning. Also, with so little chicken maybe it should be called "Creamy Penne and Chicken". Is 1/2 pound right or was there a mistake in the recipe. I used more chicken as I was serving it as a main dish.

25 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Dawn March 13, 2002

Made this for 'Zaar day, no doubt about it being a 5* recipe in my opinion. Chicken and pasta, 2 of my favourite foods. Instead of the broccoli florets I used broccolini which worked fine. I made Erin Ecklunds Blue Cheese Crostini as an accompaniment, they were great together. Also made a quick green salad.Thanks for posting. =)

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* February 10, 2002

This was easy, delicious, and very quick to put together! I added about a cup of sliced mushrooms, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and the pkg of chicken breasts I bought was about 3/4 lb. Oh, I used fusilli instead of penne (personal preference). Fantastic meal! Take the 6 servings to heart, folks; this was dinner for DH and me twice, and both times we helped ourselves to seconds. Thanks for posting this gem; it's a real keeper!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lennie March 09, 2002

WOW! I decided to add some slice prosciutto...what a fabulous dish! Easy to make and gourmet flavor! Will definitely make again!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovetorun62 March 04, 2002

This was delicious! The whole family loved it. I did replace the broccoli with snow peas and added some chopped garlic.Yummo!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paula Australia February 28, 2002

I made this for work. I doubled the recipe, but halved the brocolli (as in 2 cups for the doubled recipe). It was easy, colourful, and extremely tasty, with the broth, salt and pepper, tomatoes, and parmesan. I cut chicken thigh fillets into about 8 thin strips, oh and I fried the onion in the sun-dried tomato oil.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS September 28, 2002

This was ok, but nothing special. Needs some spices or something, not sure what. Made way to much pasta, and the sauce was very thin. Probably won't make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Nonie39 April 10, 2010

eh it was alright, probably wont make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tuhus10 August 09, 2009

Delicious! This is so quick and easy. I used pre-cooked chicken so this came together really fast. I did not add the broccoli because I did not have any, but it was delicious without it. I think this dish would be great with mushrooms, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmj December 30, 2008
Creamy Chicken and Penne