Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Chicken and Penne Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Chicken and Penne

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2002

      I would give this a full 5 stars but I thought it needed a bit of adjusting. I thought 1/2 pound of chicken for 6 servings was not enough--I made it with 1 3/4 pounds. And it is much easier to eat if you cut the chicken into bite-size servings before cooking. I cooked it cut into strips, but then pulled them all out and cut them as I couldn't see any advantage to leaving the pieces big. It was also on the bland side and the sauce to runny. I stirred in 1 tablespoon of cornstarch to thicken it up, but next time I will try stirring about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese into the sauce. That will give the sauce a bit more dimesion and thicken it up a bit. A hint I learned about broccoli--if you cook it just until it is done and then drain it and run cold water over it you can preserve the beautiful green color. I cooked my broccoli separately so I could do this and then tossed it all together and let it warm back up for a minute or two. In spite of the adjustments--a wonderful dish I will definitely make again. Beautiful presentation as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2002

      This was good, but needed more seasoning. Also, with so little chicken maybe it should be called "Creamy Penne and Chicken". Is 1/2 pound right or was there a mistake in the recipe. I used more chicken as I was serving it as a main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2002

      Made this for 'Zaar day, no doubt about it being a 5* recipe in my opinion. Chicken and pasta, 2 of my favourite foods. Instead of the broccoli florets I used broccolini which worked fine. I made Erin Ecklunds Blue Cheese Crostini as an accompaniment, they were great together. Also made a quick green salad.Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2002

      This was easy, delicious, and very quick to put together! I added about a cup of sliced mushrooms, 2 cloves of minced garlic, and the pkg of chicken breasts I bought was about 3/4 lb. Oh, I used fusilli instead of penne (personal preference). Fantastic meal! Take the 6 servings to heart, folks; this was dinner for DH and me twice, and both times we helped ourselves to seconds. Thanks for posting this gem; it's a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      WOW! I decided to add some slice prosciutto...what a fabulous dish! Easy to make and gourmet flavor! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2002

      This was delicious! The whole family loved it. I did replace the broccoli with snow peas and added some chopped garlic.Yummo!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2002

      I made this for work. I doubled the recipe, but halved the brocolli (as in 2 cups for the doubled recipe). It was easy, colourful, and extremely tasty, with the broth, salt and pepper, tomatoes, and parmesan. I cut chicken thigh fillets into about 8 thin strips, oh and I fried the onion in the sun-dried tomato oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This was ok, but nothing special. Needs some spices or something, not sure what. Made way to much pasta, and the sauce was very thin. Probably won't make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      eh it was alright, probably wont make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Delicious! This is so quick and easy. I used pre-cooked chicken so this came together really fast. I did not add the broccoli because I did not have any, but it was delicious without it. I think this dish would be great with mushrooms, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      This is easily my favorite pasta recipe i've tried on RecipeZaar! The onion complements the sun-dried tomatos. And the sauce is very light. This is a GREAT lunch or dinner. It can also be cooked as a vegetarian meal by not cooking with chicken....it's just as tasty! If I could I would give it 6 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      This is one of my favorite recipes from years ago. Sometimes if I don't have chicken, I'll make it without. It's just delicious all the way around. Thank you for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      I am making this for the 4th time today. This time as lunch for my dad for Fathers' Day. I buy the broccoli florets in a bag and the jar of julienned sd tomatoes. It makes this delicious gourmet meal so simple! The flavors and ratios are perfect, nothing is missing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      Everyone liked this very much. It was very quick to put together. I did all the prep work the night before. I made one tiny change and that was to put the broccoli in to cook with four minutes left on the penne. We ate it warm, we ate it cold, we'll eat it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2005

      This was very good. Dd picky!!! said "This is what you should send for lunch at school". That is exactly what I will be doing! Followed to the "T". Thank you Tish. This will help me with not only dinner but something that Dd will eat for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Chicken and Penne

    Serving Size: 1 (255 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 516.1
     
    Calories from Fat 179
    34%
    Total Fat 19.9 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 9.9 g
    49%
    Cholesterol 78.5 mg
    26%
    Sodium 667.2 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.0 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 9.4 g
    37%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites