Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy, Cheesy Potato and Kumara Bake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy, Cheesy Potato and Kumara Bake

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2009

      Love this, I used a large orange kumara & 5 med potatoes. Put a layer or kumara, then potatoes, sprinkled 1/2 the onion & a clove of chopped garlic, sprinkled with a wee bit of chicken stock & repeated the layers. Didn't have fresh herbs so sprinkled with dried and baked 180 for 1 hr. Not a bland layer to be seen. Can't wait to eat the leftovers. Yum. Will definately made again, great when you are having people over for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2008

      loved it, really easy to make and very tasty. I used chicken stock because I was out of vegetable and it was yummy. I added onion through the layers as well as on the top. I probably used extra cheese too to ensure a thick covering on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      Idea was great. Top layer tasted yummy with all the ingreds in it. Bottom, a bit bland and boring. Perhaps adding salt and pepper to the middle and bottom layer may make those layers more flavourful? I think maybe I would like a 1/4 cup more cheese as well. Anyway, felt good to eat yams (that was the sub we used). I will try one more time w/ S&P and see if that makes it for us. Thanks for your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2007

      Yum! Great comfort food. I never buy breadcrumbs preferring to use wheatgerm instead and that trick worked for this recipe quite well. I baked it for an hour in my convection oven which worked well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      I would have liked it to be more cheesy. Also, I think the breadcrumbs didn't do it any justice. Ok though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      I reserve my 5 stars for recipe's that maybe I don't follow exactly and turn our marvy, this is one of them. I think it shows how forgiving some can be. Didn't have any fresh chives, used Vegetable Seasoning Vegetable Seasoning or Broth Mix cut this to 1/4 cup) using a heaping tablespoon for the stock cube (did not have any), Harvarti cheese, and Ritz crackers on top. Took much longer in my oven at 350 but I used a rather deep dish casserole dish. Had a great taste, spices just perfect. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2006

      Very tasty dish. The cooking time was way too long for my oven so will adjust that next time as the cream had pretty much evaporated all away but the taste was delicious and different having a crunchy topping. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable stock as I had run out but still was devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2005

      Vegemite, for my Designer Thanksgiving Menu, I selected three recipes for potatoes, but could not decide which it should be. In fairness to my guests (some of whom are too fussy for their own good), I decided to showcase all three recipes. Creamy, Cheesy Potato and Kumara Bake was just one of the choices; it was not difficult to make that decision, VegeMight; the combination of white potato and bright orange of kumara (we call them sweet potato) was pleasing to the eye and tasty to the hungry. In place of vegetable stock cube, I used a rounded tablespoon of dehydrated vegetables; I am sure the flavour was similar, and your original recipe was not compromised. I grated extra old, white cheddar cheese and to prevent "clumping", I mixed the cheese with a bit of bread crumbs prior to sprinkling over the potatoes. Delicious flavour, VegeMite; there was something for everyone. It is a pleasure to honour you for bringing new life into the world by cooking and serving your recipe as part of Toolie's "Designer Thanksgiving Menu"; I thank you for it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      This was great!Followed the recipe and really enjoyed this dish. Loved the crunch of the breadcrumb topping and the creamy yummy sauce. We'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy, Cheesy Potato and Kumara Bake

    Serving Size: 1 (289 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 592.5
     
    Calories from Fat 281
    47%
    Total Fat 31.3 g
    48%
    Saturated Fat 19.4 g
    97%
    Cholesterol 105.4 mg
    35%
    Sodium 311.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 16.7 g
    33%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock cubes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes