16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was one of the most disliked recipes I've made in a long time. It looks great, but with the ham, parmesan cheese and then adding in the teaspoon of salt, it's saline overload, and guaranteed to make your blood pressure rise. The only thing that might salvage it is the additional of broccoli or cauliflower to help ease up on the saltiness.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracytrebilcox March 01, 2012

Very good! I used sour cream and 1% milk because that's what I had...also added some shredded monterey jack cheese, and didn't need to add salt because the other things gave it enough flavor. DH definitely gave it two thumbs up, and it will make great leftovers for his lunch. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingCutie October 14, 2010

We loved this this Mama_Jennie. Super easy and delicious too. I did omit the salt (my ham was quite salty) and I sprinkled on a bit of dill just for fun. It was awesome and I will make this again for sure. Thx for sharing your recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mums the word July 15, 2009

This was made on 7/7/09 for mine and SO's dinner. The way that this is written even a beginner cook could whip this together in no time. I had some peas on hand that need to be used up so, I threw them in when the pasta was added. This was very easy, quick to put together, and most of all very tasty. This will be made again. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef shapeweaver � July 08, 2009

I made this for a quick weeknight meal. All the kids - ages 5 and 14 months - loved it! My husband and I enjoyed it too. I added some frozen peas to the pasta at the end to get a few veggies into the kids. We made it with farfalle. Definitely a keeper meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Busy Mom of Twins June 07, 2009

This was quite good. Based on other reviewers who said it was alfredo like, I added a bit of grated nutmeg. I halved the recipe with no problems & added a cup of frozen peas in the last 5 minutes. Thanks for a great simple meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot Gourmet November 03, 2008

This was another keeper! We loved it. My kids weren't huge fans but I think that was due to the strong onion flavor since our onions were quite potent. My husband and devoured this though. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mandy Sue October 29, 2008

Very good and easy to make. Just added leeks, parsley, thyme and cheese to the mixture and also baked it for 20 min.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mycuteboys September 16, 2008

I was very surprised by how delicious this sauce was. I definitely agree with *Parsley*, it was "alfredo-like". I've never made a "real" alfredo sauce, but this certainly tasted as good as any I have had in restaurants. Very good, and I will be making this again. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout August 15, 2008

Yummy and quick to make! I liked the mild "alfredo-like" sauce. My crew likes saucy pasta so I doubled the sauce for 1 lb of pasta. I used rotini pasta instead of bow ties. This was nice with steamed broccoli on the side. I think it would be great with broccoli stirred right in for a 1-dish meal. I'll try that. Thanx!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* July 01, 2008
Creamy Cheesy Ham and Pasta