13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent recipe! I used Kittencal's suggestion and added garlic and red pepper flakes. Love the use of greek yogurt instead of milk or cream - really enhances the flavours. I left a little bit of texture in it. I doubled the recipe but forgot to get another head of cauliflower so just added some broccoli. Definitely a keeper. (knew it would be - when you see mikekey and Kittencal on the same page, you know it'll be good)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beautiful BC January 01, 2010

Delicious soup! I also added in 6 large cloves of finely chopped fresh garlic and 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes for heat, I used Greek yogurt which is all I ever purchase and use, thank you Mike this was thoroughly enjoyed!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen February 11, 2009

Used the bright yellow caulifower from the farmer's market and it was a total hit. Served with a synchroniza (ham and cheese quesadilla) for a total meal. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol in Cabo February 05, 2012

My best friend tried this recipe and raved about it, so I had to try. We did add the garlic and red pepper flakes as some others had suggested and were glad we did. In addition, we added some parmesan and parsley (plus I threw in a random dash of ground thyme). I loved it with the additions. My daughter, who is not a cauliflower fan, thought it was good, but not her favorite. This was fairly quick and very easy to make. Thank you for a great base recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy in California November 23, 2010

I don't like to give a negative review. But, we really didn't like this soup. Maybe I put in too many leeks or maybe my cauliflower wasn't fresh enough. But, this soup had a bitter, kind of grassy, taste that none of us liked. I love leeks, a very underappreciated veggie but maybe not so much in this soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marsha Mazz July 05, 2010

I came home with cauliflower and leeks from the market and was hoping to find a recipe like this! I didn't measure anything and my soup did not look like the picture (creamy white and no green), but it turned out great! I also only used 1 tablespoon each of butter and olive oil. I didn't have enough plain yogurt so I added some fat free sour cream. To serve, I topped with grated Piave Stravecchio.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelak March 29, 2009

This is a very tasty soup! Its quite easy and quick to make and has a nice vegetable flavour complemented by the salt and black pepper. I also used nutmeg and thought that was a nice addition to it. Instead of serving it with french bread I baked Susie Qusie's lovely Herbed Cottage Cheese Biscuits and that was a divine combination! YUM! Thanks for posting this winner, Mikekey! Made for Every Day is a Holiday Tag 2009.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula February 05, 2009

We are particularity fond of cauliflower soup and like most have a good number of favorite recipes - you can be sure this one is now in the favorites cookbook too! I was searching for a lighter version and was amazed how this turned out so creamy as well as delicious. For the low sodium chicken stock I prepared my own chicken stock earlier in the day. Should be an extra five stars for the aroma alone! Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gerry October 31, 2008

This is gentle, mild, comforting soup at its finest. I ate two bowls for dinner, as did my husband. The kids didn't like it as much as we do, but then what do they know about subtle? I used veggie broth instead of chicken broth, and couldn't resist adding just the tiniest bit of nutmeg. I absolutely adored this soup. Thanks for the delicious dinner, Mikekey!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susiecat too February 03, 2008

Delicious soup. It's so simple and very tasty. This filled up my blender, so I ended up pureeing this in 2 batches - I learned the hard way once about blending hot things. Thanks mikekey for another winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme January 09, 2007
Creamy Cauliflower Leek Soup