9 Reviews

This made for a great side to dinner.. full of flavors. We didn't think it was too sweet. Made as written minus the salt, and used white rice. Not 1 complaint. made for Zaar Stars..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker June 28, 2013

What a nice surprise--a tasty, healthy soup that's so elegant it's company-worthy. I did end up using baby carrots and they turned out to be an absolutely perfect foundation for the soup. Not one drop was left over and you can bet that we'll be making this again! Thanks for posting, Mikekey! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noor.Khalid April 16, 2012

This was delicious! I didn't find it to be too sweet, but I used a very large carrot and it wasn't too sweet to start with. I think if I made it with baby carrots, it wouldn't have been as good. I made it as listed except half the amount of oil. Made for Went to the Market. Thanks a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif March 14, 2009

Never made carrot soup with rice! This was really very nice! LOW fat, delish, made with evaporative milk too! Will definately make this again, TRUE!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mickeydownunder March 10, 2008

What a tasty, healthy soup! I used brown rice and followed the recipe as written.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario March 04, 2008

This creamy carrot soup is delicious. It's a bit sweet. I think it's because of the carrots. Next time, I'll try it without tomato paste. I used 1 onion. Thanks Mikekey :) Made for 123 hit wonders

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 26, 2007

The ingredients let you know that this will be tasty but they don't really tell you that the flavor depth is rich and full. I skipped the tomato paste because I hate opening one of those small cans for a tsp or tbsp and throwing away the rest because it's not something I use a lot. Mine is "Chunky Style" because we are doing a kitchen reno atm and I have no idea where my blender or food processor have taken a vacation too (I mashed the chunks with a fork as much as I could). Without the tomato paste the carrots come through sweet taste so after tasting I added a dollop of plain fat free yogurt to my bowl. I think the if blended that DH might even enjoy it. I made a single serving and it was perfect for lunch. Thanks for another winner Mike.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 30, 2007

I really enjoyed this soup, & it's a great addition to the soup recipes I keep on hand! Brown rice was used as well as an additional clove of garlic, & the taste was great! Many thanks for this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 30, 2007

Mikekey - great soup! I love cream soups and bcz this was pureed, my kids couldn't complain about what was in it! :) I used one large white onion, 2 garlic cloves and the rest according to recipe. Easy to make. I even forgot it on the stove so I'm not sure how long it was boiling b4 I turned it down, and it was still great. All the kids ate it without a complaint! That's a keeper. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead March 14, 2007
Creamy Carrot Soup (Low Fat)