Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Caramel Flan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Caramel Flan

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 07, 2012

      Very good and easy to make for this novice cook! MAde for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Delicious. very easy and quick to make, but it took much longer than 35 minutes to cook. turned out delicious and i will definitely make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful! I tried to make them the other day, but couldn't get the sugar to melt. Tried for 20 minutes. Then last night used a different pan and it was done in 5. Very easy after that, but you have to swirl the sugar quickly in the ramekins! Texture was smooth, taste was great - will definitely be making often. Thanks Paula!! Made for Aus NZ Swap 37

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I made this recipe last night & had a couple of problems. Firstly I assume that '3/4 granulated sugar' meant 3/4 of a US cup. Secondly, I don't understand how it's a 'flan' without any sort of biscuit base. I found that the caramel stuck to the custard cups like superglue. Next time I would put a biscuit base in the cups first, so that the sugar wasn't sitting directly on the ceramic. A nice custard, and the caramel gave it a lovely flavour, but this recipe needs a bit of tinkering!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

      Very good flan. I cooked mine in a large dish instead of individual ramekins and had to cook it for an hour - probably because it was fairly deep. I used a food processor for the custard - just dumped the ingredients in and turned it on, then poured on top of the caramel. This came together very quickly and easily - thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Very good flan but I had to cook mine an extra 20 minutes. This may be because I'm at high altitude. Otherwise, very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      OMGosh! Tried this recipe yesterday for my in-laws and they L-O-V-E-D it! It was DELICIOUS and actually very easy to make! We're all Mexican-American so we all grew up with flan but we haven't had any since my hsuband's Abuelita passed away 7 years ago so my Mother-in-law was SO thrilled that I made it for them. It is now going to be my dish to bring every year for the family. It was a HUGE hit! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      My sister-in-law is from Mexico and after having this for dessert, she left with the recipe in hand. We didn't even wait the suggested 2 hours as no one could control them selves. This is a nice flan recipe because it uses ingredients I always have on hand. Thank you Paula! Made for Family Picks, ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      Great recipe, although I added a bit of rum to get rid of the eggy flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2006

      This was delicious! It wasn't too thick, just the way I like it! It was gone 15 minutes after it came out of the oven. I baked it in one large casserole dish, so cooked it a little longer. Thanks Paula!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      Extremely good! It did take a lot longer to cook than the recipe said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2005

      I really really wanted to try this, and am without ramekins, so I made this in a souffle dish. I baked it for a little over an hour. It turned out so creamy and delicious and happily was very easy to invert. I adore this flan, it's perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2004

      My family of flan lovers and afficianados loved this flan! Don't look any further for a great tasting, creamy custard. It's easy and you can't go wrong with this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2004

      Great flavor! I would have liked these to be just a bit denser and creamier in texture, however. Next time, I will also increase the sugar to make coating the ramekins easier. I did find these to be a bit on the short side, but my ramekins might be a little deep. Next time I will go with fewer ramekins and fill them a bit more full. Thanks for posting! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Caramel Flan

    Serving Size: 1 (127 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.5
     
    Calories from Fat 60
    30%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 109.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 136.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.2 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 27.1 g
    108%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    granulated sugar

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes