Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

    Average Rating:

    1,381 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 1,381

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2002

      FANTABULOUS!!!! This dish was sooooo good I have to give a play-by-play. I added 1 lb of halfed whole white button mushrooms. For the sundried tomatoe I went to my freezer and grabbed a few of Mirj's "Oven-dried tomatoes" (which I have freezer bags full of) instead. The only other thing that I used that was a first for me was the cajun seasoning. Ironically, I had just purchased Pampered Chef's Cajun Seasoning. I doubt this had anything to do with it, but I have never used a pre-mixed cajun seasoning before. I layed a bed of pasta on a platter and poured the sauce over it all and served it "family style." We could have NEVER guessed what we were about to experience. Honestly, with the exception of a straight-out alfredo, this is the best pasta sauce I have ever had. The flavors just dance around in your mouth, not too overpowering, but they let you know they are there. The entire meal my husband and I were scheming up different ways to make this recipe and we both agreed that we would like to try it with shrimp and also do just a veggie-version with lots of mushrooms, yellow/red/orange peppers, etc. We are no food critics...but to us...this dish IS restaurant quality and is earning a spot in the front of the pasta section of my cookbook!!! Thanks, Lorac, for this OUTSTANDING recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2002

      Scrumpdillyumptious!!! We love alfredo but this spicier version was so good, our eyes were rolling in the back of our heads. I made no addtions or substitutions and your recipe as written is perfect for our tastes. The sauce was so rich and creamy. I agree with Shae, that we might try it with shrimp next time. Thanks Lorac, for a true delight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2003

      This deserves 10 stars!!I just couldnt keep my hands outta the pot!This was soo creamty and the taste was outta this world:)Dinner was not only outragesouly good but it it was outragesouly easy to make!!Something so easy and tasty will definatly be seen on my table several times a month!!!I pretty much stuck to your recipe, I did add about a tablespoon or so of flour to the browned chicken and butter and I used about a cup of heavy whipping cream and a 1/2 cup milk.Like I said before outrageous!!!Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      First of all...THANK YOU! My lovable but slightly spoiled boyfriend deemed this "a dish his mother would be jealous of", something I am fairly certain he has never said before. I made this twice in the past two weeks, the last time for boyfriend and several friends, one of whom went back for seconds and thirds :) I read quite a few reviews and wound up combining a lot of the suggestions. While the chicken was cooking in the butter, I sauteed chopped red onion, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, chopped garlic, basil, salt and pepper. I can't imagine making it without the bell pepper. After adding the half and half, as opposed to heavy whipping cream, I added flour to thicken up the sauce, after stirring until all the flour dissolved, I added in the veggies and allowed it to simmer for a few minutes. While it was simmering I sliced two handfuls of cherry tomatoes in half and tossed them in as well, they were a nice relief from the spicy chicken. Once again thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2003

      I made this recipe exactly as posted only I doubled everything (I used 3 cups of cream). Quick, easy, with wonderful, spicy flavor. This could be served with no hesitation to guests. Next time, I will use only 2 cups of cream while doubling all the other ingredients. All my family loved it. Can't wait to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2002

      Excellent. Nice combination of flavors. I had just enough left over for my lunch the next day, added a bit of milk and microwaved it. The flavors had melded totally and it was even better then, if possible.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2002

      Wonderful combination of spicy chicken and creamy sauce. I made it as written; simply divine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      So delicious!!! Looking through other reviews, I changed it up a bit for personal preferences. I used about 1.5 cups half and half instead of heavy whipping cream, spinach linguine, added green and red bell peppers, used about a quarter of a regular onion instead of green onion, and doubled the cajun seasoning. The half and half made it a bit thin, but instead of adding flour or cornstarch I reduced it on low heat for about 20 minutes until it was thicker and coated nicely. I found that this concentrated the flavors a lot too and really brought everything together. I topped it off with some diced roma tomatoes to help take some of the kick off. The SO said it was the best thing I had ever made for him!!! Will definitely be making this again. Thank you Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2002

      Lorac, I just made this recipe last night for my family. Ooohhh, this was very good! The seasonings were perfect and the smell of it cooking sent everyone into the kitchen to get a taste. All the kids liked it, even the two year old. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2003

      I made this as a side dish - left out the chicken and added the creole seasoning to the onion saute. What a wonderful pasta this made. My husband ate til he was miserable. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      Of all the recipe's I have tried from here, and I have tried a lot this one is the best so far. It was REALLY easy to make, 1/2 hour for the whole thing and DF was convinced it was restraunt food! The flavours melted together perfectly and it was creamy but light and ahhhhhh! I'm so glad we're having leftovers tonight! Hey. I just realized I forgot the parmesan.... oh well, didn't need it! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      This was amazing! I followed the suggestion of other reviewers and doubled the Cajun seasoning and it was perfect! Thanks Chef Lorac!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2003

      This is great! Its the first recipe I have made from Recipezaar, now I can't wait to try more. The recipe was very easy to make. I doubled the recipe, and added tablespoons of cajun spice instead of teaspoons. I substituted roasted red peppers for the sundried tomatoes, because I don't like tomatoes. My guests loved it so much, they asked me to print this recipe and I sent them home with it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2003

      My husband and I have had this twice now and it's OH SO GOOD! It's not too spicy and the onions and sun-dried tomatoes give it a kick! This will be a permanent part of my recipe box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      Lorac, thank you so much for such a terrific recipe. I wish I could give it more stars. The flavor was wonderful. My husband thought it was the greatest and wants to put it on our weekly menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2002

      Fantastic. I followed the recipe exactly except I added some fresh parsley for colour. I served it family style over lemon pepper linguine. The flavour combination was heavenly! I can't wait to make it again. Thanks again Lorac for another excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      My husband and I both like alfredo-ish sauces, and spicy, and I knew we would both like this. I read a lot of the reviews, got a lot of helpful suggestions, and I had to make a bunch of additions, based on the ingredients I had. I added a chopped green bell pepper and some sliced mushrooms. I used 2 (5 oz.) chicken breasts, and it wasn't too much chicken (we didn't think). I used 3 tsp. of cajun seasoning, I cooked the chicken in olive oil, and used white onion in place of the green onion. I only had 1/4 c. whipping cream, so I used 3/4 cup fat free milk and thickened the sauce with 1 Tbsp water/1 Tbsp cornstarch slurry, and that worked great! I replaced the sundried tomatoes with diced tomatoes, because I don't like sundries tomatoes - it's a texture thing I think. Maybe a taste thing too, I dunno. Haha. I also probably doubled the garlic, because I like garlic (and the husband doesn't complain!). I made this over spaghetti, because we like the thinner pasta, and I will definitely make this again with the right stuff, and it'll be even better!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Great, except that I would definitely kick this one up a notch, say by doubling the cajun seasoning (and perhaps everything else!). I find creamy sauces tend to smother spices. Otherwise a real winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      Very easy & fast to put together! I doubled the cajun seasoning & added peas for some color. Great dinner!!! Thanks for the recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      Yummmy! Doubled the recipe to have leftovers and I am looking forward to those tomorrow. I added to the cajun seasoning 1 Tbsp cayenne pepper which gave it quite a kick. Very good, will definitely make again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 70

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta

    Serving Size: 1 (432 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 924.3
     
    Calories from Fat 568
    61%
    Total Fat 63.1 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 37.7 g
    188%
    Cholesterol 280.0 mg
    93%
    Sodium 839.4 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 49.0 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 40.5 g
    81%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites