Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Burrito Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Burrito Casserole

    Average Rating:

    863 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 863

    Sort by:

    • on April 08, 2003

      Absolutely delicious. This is how I prepared this recipe: I greased a 9X13 baking dish with Crisco. I used 1 1/2 lbs. of ground beef instead of 1 lb. Since this is a layered recipe (you will be making two layers), the extra 1/2 lb. worked great. I added a can of Rotel tomatoes with chilies (undrained) into the cooked beef mixture and I used cream of chicken instead of mushroom. I made my own taco seasoning (recipe 25449 from this site is terrific). I always double the taco seasoning recipe even for just 1 lb. of ground beef but you can experiment and decide what is best for your family. I am convinced that when it comes to packaged taco seasonings, your recipe will only be as good as the brand of seasonings you choose because some of them are so strong (not heat) that the flavor is overpowering and that can be all you taste. This includes those layered taco dips too. I followed the recipe exactly regarding the remaining ingredients. I thought the ground beef mixture with the onions, seasoning and refried beans was too thick so I added some water to the skillet and stirred it around till it was the right consistency. Give this recipe a try, it is delicious. I served this with spanish rice, warm tortilla chips, sour cream etc... Enjoy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2002

      This casserole is great! It was easy to put together and used ingredients we had in the house. All four of us had second helpings, with leftovers for lunch. I did use low-fat versions of the refried beans, shredded cheese, soup, and sour cream to cut down on the fat, and next time I make it I will probably add a green pepper (chopped). Thanks for this recipe. It is definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      Dynamite! My office is having a casserole cooking contest this Tuesday. I think I know whose going to win. I took the low fat and low sodium Items and added the green chilies & olives, but went 1 step further and added some diced jalapenos, and about a 1/4 tsp cayanne pepper on one layer. Next time I may use 1 layer of tortillas but also use 1 layer of tortilla chips just for a change in texture. Great dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2002

      Everyone liked it, even my two year old. I added a layer of sliced olives witch gave it a little more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      Bravo on a good recipe. Made this last night for dinner and it was a hit. I especially loved how easy it was to put together. We aren't big fans of cream of mushroom, so I used cream of chicken soup instead. Worked great. I found it to be a bit too salty, so will probably use the Healthy Request Cream soup next time, to cut back on salt. My picky kids ate this right up. Will definetely be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      Very good, very easy! I served this with Lipton's Spanish Rice on the side. Next time, I may add a can of drained diced tomatoes to the casserole; or shredded lettuce and tomatoes and/or salsa on the side for topping. (I was time limited this time; packing for to-go-to-work dinners). Very good casserole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      OH WOW! This was amazing. Was looking for something new to do with hamburger and stumbled upon this. Cheap, easy and delicious. I left out the can of mushroom soup and mixed the sour cream with Lipton Onion Soup Mix. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      My husband said I outdid myself when I fixed this!! We both loved it. I think next time I might add a can of Rotel tomatoes with the meat/bean mixture. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2003

      Great dish! I added a can of Rotels with green chiles and the refried beans also had green chiles. This gave it some kick. I would only use about 4 large flour tortillas. Easy to make! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2002

      Really tasty dish that is a keeper. 1st time I made this I used cream of chicken soup instead of cream of mushroom and will echo previous reviews about the saltiness of this dish. 2nd time I used Healthy Choice soup and was pleased with the result. Also, used instant black beans(Fantastic Foods brand) instead of refried beans and really liked the richer flavor. Monterey Jack cheese was also a nice change the 2nd time around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2003

      What a great casserole! Tried it two nights ago for supper and what a hit! After reading the other reviews, I did go ahead and add a can of Rotel Mexican and about 1/2 can of the liquid since they had lime juice in them. What nice flavor. I also served it with sour cream and salsa on the side. This is a keeper in our house for sure! Thanks for sharing NancyB! Tweeky/a.k.a. Judi :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      I love this casserole! I use cheddar cheese soup, and add a can of Rotel, sliced fresh mushrooms, and 1/2 can black olives. I add a dollop of sour cream to the top of each piece I serve as well. Also, to make things easier on myself, I don't use as many layers. I put down the ripped up tortilla shells. Throw everything else in, then more tortilla shells and top with shredded cheese. This is much easier! My boyfriend LOVES when I make this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2003

      If you like Tex-Mex you must make this wonderful dish. The flavor is out of this world! Sprayed a 8 x 11 ½ x 2 inch casserole. All of this fits perfect in this size dish. Fills it to the top, and looks so pretty when done. I also mixed (1) can Rotel tomatoes, drained, in the ground round. Taco Seasoning Mix taco seasoning is great! Used total of (4) large tortillas, the Burrito size. We like Old ElPaso vegetarian refried beans. For the cheese, Mexican Style 4 cheeses. Chicken cream of soup, Healthy Request. Thanks for the post! Peggy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      This was nice and easy to make. I added rotel tomatoes to the meat mixture for a spicier flavor. Next time I'll try making it with cream of chicken soup and black olives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2002

      This was good. Next time though, I will reduce the taco seasoning by half. It wasn't so much that it tasted like it was too spicy as the seasoning was a little bit over powering. Great recipe though. We will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      I made this tonight and I would rate it a 5, my fiance a 3 so we settled on a 4. Next time I think I will add the hot sauce or maybe some green chiles. Tasted like it needed a little more of a kick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2011

      This was good but if you want great...... Add Pace Picante Sauce (hot or mild) to the meat and bean mix. If you are cooking for less than 12 people, add half a bag taco seasoning. Also, put some black olives on the cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      Good dish......we didn't LOVE it though and I am not sure why....It was a little dry.......Maybe we weren't in the mood. We will have to try again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2002

      Very good casserole. Tasted just like burritos but much easier to make :-) I did add a tad bit of water to the meat mixture so it wasn't so thick. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2002

      This was good. I will add more beef next time along with some rotel for a little more kick. This was easy to make with simple ingredients. I will make this again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 44

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Burrito Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (210 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.5
     
    Calories from Fat 188
    36%
    Total Fat 20.9 g
    32%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 46.3 mg
    15%
    Sodium 1472.8 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    taco cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes