Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Brown Rice Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Brown Rice Pudding

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2010

      This is a pretty good recipe, simple and the kids like it. For me it was WAAAAY too sweet. I had to add more rice and milk after starting this batch with the recommended half cup of maple syrup. In the end I made a double recipe without adding more syrup and that was better. I also used far less raisins than the recipe calls for. I guess it depends on how much you like raisins. My other tweak to this one was I used salted butter and added about a tsp of salt. It was too bland without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2011

      I had a small container of brown rice from Chinese take-out that measured two cups. Used 1/4 cup of Sugar in the Raw as the sweetening agent, one small "lunchbox" size box of organic dark raisins, non-fat Lactaid milk, and added some vanilla extract. Cooked for 15 minutes and stirred frequently, as suggested, which took care of the film that developed across the top of the mixture. Forgot to add the butter and cinnamon and ate half of it still very warm instead of dinner. Very good. I'll add cinnamon to the rest and find that butter is totally unnecessary. It really is creamy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      I made this for my 19-months old son and he loved it! This recipe is so easy and the ingredients are usually I have it right now in my kitchen. I grind the cooked brown rice before I cook it with milk and maple syrup. I also added more maple syrup and omit raisins.Thank you Sydney Mike for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2014

      Fabulous recipe! I used 2% lactose-free milk, non high fructose maple syrup, and golden raisins (didn't have dark ones). Best rice pudding ever! Grandma would be jealous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      This hit the spot tonight. I did add a little salt, used maple syrup, a tad of brown sugar, craisins, and topped with whipped cream. Delicious! Thanks for posting the recipe, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2012

      This was great. I used 1 cup of skim milk, 1/2 cup half and half, 1/4 cup maple syrup, 1/2 cup raisins and I added the cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla and some freshly grated nutmeg as it was cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2012

      Ended up adding sugar, and vanilla to make it better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Love this recipe its cooling down as I type this. I taste tested it already. Going to give it to my son for a treat tonight. I added a pinch of salt, cooked it with rice milk(my son is allergic to cow's milk) and 1 mushed up banana as well and it went along nicely. I added about 3/4 the maple syrup and it seems fine. I'll sprinkle a little brown sugar on top for extra sweetness if needed. Thank you I've never made rice pudding before and it turned out great:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      so... second time around made this even better!! I made it before with chopped prunes and 1/4 C honey... was a bit too sweet for me. This time I made it with chopped apricots and NO HONEY... added a dash of vanilla, a dash of salt, and a drizzle of Agave syrup, used no other spices or seasonings... allowed the flavor of the brown rice and apricots to blend nicely... THIS WAS THE BEST!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2010

      Fabulous pudding... Considering the other reviews, I gradually added in some agave nectar and brown rice syrup, adding a little at a time as the mixture cooked and tasting it for sweetness. I used sweet brown rice and coconut milk. I did not add the butter. (the coconut milk is already so rich) As for the spice, I used all cinnamon, though ended up sprinkling in some nutmeg for my own serving. It truly was a lovely treat. Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I was so excited when I found this recipe - I don't each much white rice, as I'm much more fond of the healthier brown stuff! I made this with two small changes: following the reviews, I used 1/4 cup of maple syrup, and instead of dark raisins, used 1/2 cup each of golden raisins and dried cranberries - both heaping 1/2 cups in honour of Syd! This turned out wonderful! It would make a healthy and delicious breakfast - which is what we're planning to use it for. Thanks for another wonderful recipe, Syd! Made for PRMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2010

      Yummy but if I were to make it again, I'd definitely cut back on the maple syrup, esp. if I were to add raisins again. But definitely a fun way to eat brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I used the maple syrup and found it too sweet. My DH who loves rice pudding didn't think it was sweet enough! Just ok in our books.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      This is delicious! I made it with honey, and I used skim milk. The skim milk worked fine, but it took more stirring. Next time I will try it with maple syrup. The honey makes it a little too sweet. A keeper, for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      stick-to-ya-bone buttery and creamy! brown rice and raisin make it so good for you with the perfect sweetness!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2009

      This is a delicious rice pudding recipe. I made it with unsweetened almond milk (for an even healthier dessert) with real maple syrup and nutmeg was my choice of spice and it was perfect. I'm now making it for the second time. I'm also thinking this would be great with chocolate almond milk and a little raw cacao powder - I'll have to try that next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Awesome, I loved it. The only thing I would do differently next time is use less raisins. I used 1cup and it is a lot of raisins, but still really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      I love the idea of the brown rice, as it is all that I use now when preparing rice. This surely is creamy and every bite was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This was good. I used honey and 1/2 cup was just too sweet. Next time I'll only use 1/4C and see how that goes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      A wonderful, light, delightful dessert. I used maple syrup, and have now found a way for my picky daughter to enjoy raisins. I used cinnamon and it made for a delightful dessert for us all A real keeper here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Brown Rice Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (171 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.0
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    29%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 20.4 mg
    6%
    Sodium 50.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.1 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 23.8 g
    95%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    cooked whole grain brown rice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites