17 Reviews

I also use The Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook. This is SO INCREDIBLE and CONVENIENT! I make the recipe for the plain steel cut oatmeal cereal. I use 3 cups water to 1 cup oats and let it sit overnight and in the morning I just start my rice cooker's porridge cycle. By the time I am done getting ready for work, our breakfast oatmeal is done and we each add our different toppings. It's easy then to make a scrambled egg white omlet to go with it. I have a 10 Cup rice cooker.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristianne June 21, 2007

I used a small rice cooker, dorm style single sized. I also used quick oats, since I ran out of the cut oats. Awesome, didn't overflow, but the oats had to be stirred the moment it was done, because the single setting (no porridge or warm setting), to keep the bottom from browning. I just added soy milk and raisins, and it was delish. I normally add brown sugar, but apparently the maple syrup was enough. Worth a repeat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckymspam June 18, 2015

I made this in my 6 qt. Nesco Roaster on "steam". This was my first time using steel cut oats and also the first time I tried making anything in my roaster on steam. I put 2 cups of water in the cook well and made the oatmeal in a 1.5 qt. casserole placed on top of the rack. I followed the recipe exact except used dried cranberries and raisins. It needed about 35-40 minutes to get creamy and to the right texture. I checked it at about 30 minutes and all the cinnamon was just floating on top. At first this worried me, it seemed like too much and that it wouldn't blend in. But I gave it a good stir and let it cook a few minutes longer. The sweetness and flavors were perfect and I'm so glad I tried this recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen=^..^= January 21, 2012

My husband bought me a Neuro Fuzzy Logic Rice Cooker for Christmas and this is the first recipe I tried. I used the porridge setting. I didn't have dates so I used raisins. Perfect! Couldn't be easier and it is so tasty! I used light vanilla soy milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie December 26, 2011

Would never have thought to make oatmeal this way, but it really does work! Tasty as can be with the maple syrup & dates in there! Will be making this one again, for sure! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 01, 2011

This is a GREAT recipe! I have a son with special needs which means that we have to keep our family diet as free of artificial stuff as possible. Pretty easy when it comes to most meals but with three kids in school it can get hard in the mornings. My kids love oatmeal but the pre-packaged pouches contain more artifical stuff. Making oatmeal from scratch can be time consuming but this recipe allows me to toss the ingredients into my rice cooker when I get up and it's ready by the time the kids come to the table. I throw in dried apples instead of dates or raisins or simply skip the fruit all together depending on my mood and all three of my kids love it. Since steel cut oats are more expensive I often just use the old fashioned rolled oats and still come out with a great breakfast!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scrappymommyof3 October 18, 2011

I love this recipe. It's quick enough that, if I throw in all the ingredients as soon as I get up, the oatmeal will be ready before I go to work. I like to add dried apricots instead of the dates. I use almond milk or water and it turns out just fine. The Ultimate Rice Cooker Cookbook is the best book for the rice cooker. I use a neuro fuzzy model.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Canadian In Atlanta February 12, 2010

great! No porridge cycle, but it was done in about 20 minutes. I used dried apples and a little extra milk. My 2-year-old and I gobbled it up!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bungalowten December 27, 2009

I love being able to cook oatmeal in the rice cooker! I found that this was a little too thick for me as written, next time I'll add a bit more milk, as a another reviewer suggested. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridH September 22, 2009

Unfortunately I only had old-fashioned oatmeal but I found it delicious just the same.I snipped some dried apricots instead of dates and it was lovely.I made the mistake of letting it cook longer than 10 minutes so it overflowed a bit but that did'nt detract from the recipe at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in Montreal July 28, 2009
Creamy Breakfast Oatmeal (Rice Cooker)