47 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this twice, the first time using regular cool whip and cream cheese, the second time with light. Although both tasted good, the regular made a noticeably better presentation and had a better texture. I also used a graham crust.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djafishfria July 31, 2010

I used a graham/pretzel crumb crust and banana cream pudding mix. This was the very best banana cream pie that I have ever tasted!! I doubled the recipe and used a 13x9 pan.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird January 03, 2011

I made this with light cream cheese, light Cool Whip and 1% milk. Those who ate it said it was my best pie yet! The crust was pretty moist when I took it out of the oven, but I resisted the urge to bake it longer since I made that mistake with a graham cracker crust and it turned out rock hard. The crust ended up being perfect, it was easy to cut through, held its shape, and was crumbly when you ate it. Yum! The recipe was the perfect size for my 10 inch pie pan.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SashasMommy May 23, 2011

Followed your recipe right on down, though I did use a banana cream pudding mix to intensify the banana flavor! The pie was absolutely wonderful ~ Easy to make & tasty as could be! This first time the pie was shared with a neighbor couple, but I'll definitely be making this one again & again! Thanks so much for sharing the recipe! [Tagged & made in Please Review My Recipe]

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 30, 2011

This was very delicious and easy too! Right in the middle of cooking this, I realized I only had the 3 1/2 ounce pudding package. I wasn't sure if I should go ahead, but I did, and it was STILL great! I can only imagine with the full amount of pudding. Because of time,and no pecans, I did use a Pilsbury pie crust, but can't wait to try it with your crust. Next time, I may even add some toasted coconut to the filling. I used my hand-held immersion blender to mix the pudding and milk. This really was fantastic, thanks for posting, Dienia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scoutie May 01, 2010

This is a delicious pie, and I don't even like banana cream pies! I substituted graham cracker crumbs for 1/2 the flour, and did the pecans in the food processor to make them fine. I wasn't paying close attention at the grocery store or at home and used regular instead of instant banana cream pudding mix the first time - it was soup! Went back to the store, got the right stuff and put it together - I did need an extra splash or two of milk for the pudding part. Excellent pie. The crust was fantastic.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slrickman January 27, 2010

Loved this! I must mention that I was confused at step 5, although it clearly states to combine pudding mix and milk. I was second guessing (if I should make the pudding according to the box first or not), because the ratio of milk to pudding seemed so small. Nevertheless, I hand whisked the pudding and milk together. Next time, I will just use my electric mixer for smoother results as suggested by Jeff'sGirlWayOutwest review!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MerelyMarie January 17, 2010

OMG!!!! This is so good!!! I love the filling....what's nice about this recipe is that you can use light ingredients and it still tastes like you are cheating. So creamy and refreshing. Wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xoxopugs April 26, 2009

I DID NOT make this pie filling, I only used the CRUST. This was super fast, and really good. I dumped the pecans and flour into the food processor, and added melted butter then, pressed it into my pan. The only thing to note is that the crust is VERY soft when it is warm, and I accidentally knocked a section out with my pot holder when taking it out of the oven! Ooops! However, I was very pleased to find that it firmed up nicely after it had been refrigerated for a few hours! And the finished result was very nice. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'-4-5 March 27, 2009

Nice pie. Used a premade graham cracker crust. Used sugar free pudding and sugar free cool whip.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest December 06, 2008
Creamy Banana Cream Pie