Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2009

      After reviewing all the gratin recipes on zaar, I chose this one and it was a big hit with my family. I love that it uses ingredients I already had in my kitchen. This recipe is easy enough that I don't have to read the recipe next time around, I know it by heart now. I also took off the foil for the last 15 minutes, then let stand for 15 minutes after removing from the oven. Rich tasting and very creamy texture. This is a keeper!! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Really tasty! Don't forget the onion; it's not on the ingredient list! I used one diced sweet onion. I would have put paprika & some cayenne on top of the bottom layer & then again on top layer--paprika's taste really comes out when cooked & I love spicy foods! Excellent recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Terriffic potatoes! So creamy and rich. I used 2tbsp butter instead of 3. I used 2% milk, and added a few dashes of garlic salt (we like garlic at our house). The garlic didn't really come through, but I think it probably did add to the flavor. Though they would've been excellent without it I'm sure. I used quite a bit of paprika on top, and it was delicious. For the onions, I used approximately 1/2 to 3/4 cup of diced onion as the middle layer. It added a great flavor to the dish as well. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2014

    • on April 22, 2014

      This recipe got four stars for living up to the name. It is creamy, the potatoes cooked well and it was cheesy. It did not give five stars because it had very little flavor. I might make this again, but I would definitely jazz it up. I might add jalapenos, hot sauce, green onions on top, more flavored cheese, such as fontina or blue cheese, etc. As the recipe is written, it will make a very boring and bland potato dish. On the other hand, some times that is what people are looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      These were great! Since onions aren't listed in the ingredients, we just used onion powder, which turned out great. Everyone enjoyed them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      This was very good although slightly bland. I Seasoned both the potatoes and the milk/cheese mixture and added thyme but still thought it could have used a bit more flavour. Although the paprika and cayenne gave it extra warmth which I loved. Overall it was tasty and easy to make. Will be making again with maybe some garlic and extra cayenne/paprika!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      This was my first time making from scratch au gratin potatoes - they were fantastic!! They were rich and so creamy. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      I scaled this back for 3 serves and still ended up with a serve left over. I added schallots for the onions (though you don't list onions in your ingrients, only in your instructions). I baked uncovered (as anytime I have cooked potato like this with a cover on it has always split and looked curdled) and it took an hour and I also sprinkled some extra cheese on top before adding smoked paprika. Thank you Little Bee, made for I Recommend Tag game as recommended by Dienia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      Yum Yum Yum Yum Yum! So easy and creamy... I doubled the sauce (shame on me) and used little creamer potatoes sliced thin, it's a keeper folks. Absolutely devine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Excellent dish! Perfect creamy cheese to potato ratio. My children love this dish. I took it to a Thanksgiving potluck where everyone raved about it and was the first dish to be finished off! Thanks for the great recipe it's in the our monthly rotation for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      Nice Au Gratin Potatoes. I really needed some extra flavor for us. A little on the bland side. Not sure about the onions as that is not really listed in the recipe so used a dry onion mix of white and green onions. Mine burned on the bottom I removed the foil for the last 15 minutes of baking as other had done to get a nice browning color. That worked well. I'll need to play around with this one as it just wasn't what I was looking for. thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      These were so yummy. Made to go with our Chirstmas ham dinner and it was great. Very easy to make. Don't forget the onions. I used one small onion very thinly sliced since it was not on the ingredient list but they were in the instructions. I also added 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1 cup of milk. This made it just a little richer. It's Christmas after all. :-) We will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Excellentr recipe!! The potatoes come out so tender. I didn't have any cheddar on hand so I mixed a packet of "cheesy powder from a boxed augratin" with a cup of shredded Colby Jack I had in the fridge. Was worried it would mess up the recipe but it turned out fabulous!! Idon't think I can eat the boxed kind again after having these. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Best potatoes au gratin I have ever tasted. My family loves it and has demanded it at least weekly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Awesome recipe. I love that it uses regular milk. I added extra cheese because we like it very cheesy. My husband asked for these for his birthday tomorrow instead of my usual mac & cheese. Even some of my potato hating kids loved these, so I have to make a double recipe next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      I used half and half in place of the milk and it made a nice and creamy cheesy sauce. This is an awesome dish that will go together well with many of my favorite entrees. Looks like I will be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      These were very yummy and very easy - I think the hardest part was peeling the potatoes!! The only reason I didn't give the recipe 5 stars is because we like our potatoes REALLY cheesy! Next time I'll add a little velveeta and I know this will be a 5 star dish in our household! UPDATED: added 1/4 block of velveeta and these were perfect! I could eat them for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      Really good, we loved them. Only changes I made was at the very end. With about 10 minutes left (guessing) I checked on it and thought it needed a little something... So I removed the tinfoil and added some panko breadcrumbs and a little more shredded cheese on top and broiled it to finish it up. I think it turned out great that way. Since the onion was missing off the ingredient list I just diced up only about 1/2 of a white onion and mixed it in with the potato slices. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2009

      What great potatoes! We ate the whole bowl between the three of us. I might change up the cheese sometime when I make them again and add in a few spices for added taste. Yummy just the way they are though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 381.4
     
    Calories from Fat 158
    41%
    Total Fat 17.5 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 53.4 mg
    17%
    Sodium 656.4 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 43.2 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 4.7 g
    19%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 13.7 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites