43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

After reviewing all the gratin recipes on zaar, I chose this one and it was a big hit with my family. I love that it uses ingredients I already had in my kitchen. This recipe is easy enough that I don't have to read the recipe next time around, I know it by heart now. I also took off the foil for the last 15 minutes, then let stand for 15 minutes after removing from the oven. Rich tasting and very creamy texture. This is a keeper!! Thanks

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat and be Merry September 27, 2009

Really tasty! Don't forget the onion; it's not on the ingredient list! I used one diced sweet onion. I would have put paprika & some cayenne on top of the bottom layer & then again on top layer--paprika's taste really comes out when cooked & I love spicy foods! Excellent recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rengetsu October 26, 2009

Terriffic potatoes! So creamy and rich. I used 2tbsp butter instead of 3. I used 2% milk, and added a few dashes of garlic salt (we like garlic at our house). The garlic didn't really come through, but I think it probably did add to the flavor. Though they would've been excellent without it I'm sure. I used quite a bit of paprika on top, and it was delicious. For the onions, I used approximately 1/2 to 3/4 cup of diced onion as the middle layer. It added a great flavor to the dish as well. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SalterCooks June 21, 2009

I scaled this back for 3 serves and still ended up with a serve left over. I added schallots for the onions (though you don't list onions in your ingrients, only in your instructions). I baked uncovered (as anytime I have cooked potato like this with a cover on it has always split and looked curdled) and it took an hour and I also sprinkled some extra cheese on top before adding smoked paprika. Thank you Little Bee, made for I Recommend Tag game as recommended by Dienia.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat September 21, 2011

These were so yummy. Made to go with our Chirstmas ham dinner and it was great. Very easy to make. Don't forget the onions. I used one small onion very thinly sliced since it was not on the ingredient list but they were in the instructions. I also added 1/2 cup heavy cream and 1 cup of milk. This made it just a little richer. It's Christmas after all. :-) We will be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluzen December 28, 2009

Awesome recipe. I love that it uses regular milk. I added extra cheese because we like it very cheesy. My husband asked for these for his birthday tomorrow instead of my usual mac & cheese. Even some of my potato hating kids loved these, so I have to make a double recipe next time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Momofkings September 09, 2009

If I could give this a 10, I would. As I usually do, I tweaked it just a bit by adding some garlic and used about a tsp of horseradish mustard (stirred in w/the flour/butter) instead of the cayenne. I also cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us and used 4 small potatoes. I sprinkled dried onion flakes instead of using real onions (although onions aren't listed in the ingredients, they are added in the directions). If you cut the recipe in half, you won't need to bake as long, so keep an eye on it (mine scorched on the bottom). But OH SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing, Little Bee!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Giovanni-B February 16, 2009

This is the first time I've made Au Gratin potatoes from scratch and the aroma in the house is wonderful and the flavor is so good. These are so creamy and cheesy. Everybody at the table gives them all thumbs up -- so good! I made these for ZWT III, and this recipe goes into my regular repeat cookbook for sure. I did not use the cayenne due to kids eating, but if I'd had my drothers, it'd be there for sure. Also I used 2 percent milk because that's what we keep, and it turned out perfect. I did use regular cheddar cheese. The recipe instruction mention onion but they are not listed in the ingredients so I thinly sliced about 1/3 of an onion and layered them in with the potatoes. I highly recommend this recipe to everyone. Thanks Little Bee for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie June 15, 2007

I cut this recipe in half as a side dish for two of us. Thought it was good- fast and easy and creamy. I did take the foil off for the last 15 min as mine were looking a little soupy and needed to thicken up a bit, which they did, perfectly. Cooked at 375* (was cooking something else with it). Next time I will kick the spices and onion up a touch, but that was my fault, not the recipe's. Looking forward to digging into those leftovers!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 March 18, 2006

This was amazing. I made a double recipe and its gone. We added sliced onion in the middle and I used a mixture of cheeses I had in the house. Will definitely be making this again, I mean, a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenni Menashe February 02, 2015
Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes