7 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Original review 12 July 2011: Perfection on a plate! Local wildflower honey, local sour cream. That sweet/sharp taste really hit the spot! Reviewed for Veg Tag/July. Re-reviewed: Same as above except this time we added a few red and green seedless grapes and of course Oregon-made cheddar cheese! Reviewed for Veg Tag/January 2012

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl January 15, 2012

Easy and good salad! I used light sour cream and brown sugar blend splenda and skipped the cheese. Next time I may add celery too. Very good! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ January 14, 2012

Yummy! Fun to have cheddar in my apple salad :) I used faux sour cream (nonfat yogurt mixed with some lemon) which worked great and cut down on the calories. My honey must be crazy sweet, as I didn't even get to add any brown sugar (so next time I will do 1/2 honey and 1/2 brown sugar). I used gala apples which were perfectly sweet yet tart. I also threw in a little light mayo to tone down the sweetness and to calm the sharpness of my faux sour cream. I just ate a small bowl of of and I'm going back for more!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride January 13, 2012

Loved this. Will definitely be making it again and again. I tried with half the honey, but ended up adding the whole amount -my apples were a little sour. Will maybe double the dressing next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea January 29, 2015

Much enjoyed! I used 1 apple and adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. Thanks! Made for Veg. Swap July 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 July 16, 2012

A delightful apple salad that is sweet enough it could also double as a dessert; we really liked the addition of the cheddar cheese it made a nice contrast to the sweet dressing and apple. I made as written, shredding my cheddar instead of slicing as a matter of personal choice. Thank you for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 19, 2011

This is such a yummy salad! It is super creamy, very refreshing and sooo good! Loved the combination of the malty brown sugar, sweet-crisp apple, honey and cheese, what a winner! :)
I reduced the honey and brown sugar a tad as my apples were on the sweet side, but other than stuck to your recipe and loved it! THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing a keeper with us, Veggie_Cook!
Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #36 and the fruit event in the photo forum July 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula July 09, 2011
Creamy Apple Salad