Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamless Mushroom Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamless Mushroom Soup

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 01, 2009

      This is a delicious and flavorful soup and perfect for vegetarians and vegans (leave out the butter and use Earth Balance or olive oil). That being said, I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I found it impossible to cook 2 lbs of mushrooms in 2 TBSP of butter after sauteeing the other vegetables. The mushrooms soaked up everything and there was no way they were going to get soft. So, I added a little vegetable broth and cooked them in that until they were soft (about 20 minutes or so). I used all vegetable broth and pureed some of the soup and left the rest chunky as the author suggested. I served mine with little toasts over it and some melted guyere cheese (like French onion soup).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Quick and easy...just what I was looking for. I cut all of the vegetables (no leeks since I didn't have any on hand) into very small pieces and used some of the stock to cook the vegetables as noted in other reviews. I ended up adding more stock, maybe because I cut the recipe down so much? Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      flawless. i loved this soup and so did everyone else who tried it. it is so good if you sprinkle a little parmesean on top too. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Wonderful, flavorful soup. I used my immersion blender to blend everything. It didn't look that great (it was mushroom-brown!) but tasted marvelous. So yummy it doesn't even taste low-cal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      I made as directed, and then I used my immersion blender and blended just over half of the soup. That made it creamy, but also left me lots of chunky vegetables to eat! Made for Potluck Tag 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Another goody! I do love broth soups so I left evrything intact instead of blending, and it was delicious. I didn't have any carrots or leeks so I threw in some sweet potatoes and broccoli stems (which I hate to throw away). The thyme was just enough without being overpowering, and it was very enjoyable to just sit and dip a toasted bagel into my bowl as I ate. Wonderful, wonderful mushroom soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I didn't think that this soup would be so tasty. I pureed the soup in small batches in my food processor. I omitted the butter like Annacia did. And cooked the veggies in the chicken stock (fat-free, sodium free). I used 1/2 tsp of dried thyme. I omitted the onion. I don't know why but it's spicy. But we like it. Thanks Kate. Made for Potluck tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      The only change I made was to skip the butter and cook everything in chicken stock only. I used to make a soup with just chicken stock and mushrooms, I like the veggies in it better, LOL. Super easy to make, I started it in the morning and it was ready for a lovely hot lunch. It's a keeper for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamless Mushroom Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (468 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.0
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    36%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.3 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 17.3 mg
    5%
    Sodium 374.9 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 20.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites