8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a delicious and flavorful soup and perfect for vegetarians and vegans (leave out the butter and use Earth Balance or olive oil). That being said, I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I found it impossible to cook 2 lbs of mushrooms in 2 TBSP of butter after sauteeing the other vegetables. The mushrooms soaked up everything and there was no way they were going to get soft. So, I added a little vegetable broth and cooked them in that until they were soft (about 20 minutes or so). I used all vegetable broth and pureed some of the soup and left the rest chunky as the author suggested. I served mine with little toasts over it and some melted guyere cheese (like French onion soup).

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gingersnap in Midwest February 01, 2009

Quick and easy...just what I was looking for. I cut all of the vegetables (no leeks since I didn't have any on hand) into very small pieces and used some of the stock to cook the vegetables as noted in other reviews. I ended up adding more stock, maybe because I cut the recipe down so much? Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelMat March 05, 2010

flawless. i loved this soup and so did everyone else who tried it. it is so good if you sprinkle a little parmesean on top too. thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Earl&Chai January 17, 2010

Wonderful, flavorful soup. I used my immersion blender to blend everything. It didn't look that great (it was mushroom-brown!) but tasted marvelous. So yummy it doesn't even taste low-cal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply January 08, 2009

I made as directed, and then I used my immersion blender and blended just over half of the soup. That made it creamy, but also left me lots of chunky vegetables to eat! Made for Potluck Tag 2008.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom January 01, 2009

Another goody! I do love broth soups so I left evrything intact instead of blending, and it was delicious. I didn't have any carrots or leeks so I threw in some sweet potatoes and broccoli stems (which I hate to throw away). The thyme was just enough without being overpowering, and it was very enjoyable to just sit and dip a toasted bagel into my bowl as I ate. Wonderful, wonderful mushroom soup.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. November 23, 2008

I didn't think that this soup would be so tasty. I pureed the soup in small batches in my food processor. I omitted the butter like Annacia did. And cooked the veggies in the chicken stock (fat-free, sodium free). I used 1/2 tsp of dried thyme. I omitted the onion. I don't know why but it's spicy. But we like it. Thanks Kate. Made for Potluck tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette October 27, 2008

The only change I made was to skip the butter and cook everything in chicken stock only. I used to make a soup with just chicken stock and mushrooms, I like the veggies in it better, LOL. Super easy to make, I started it in the morning and it was ready for a lovely hot lunch. It's a keeper for me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia October 20, 2008
Creamless Mushroom Soup