Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamless Broccoli Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamless Broccoli Soup

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      I cooked this soup yesterday, it was quick for soup :) I wish I had cooked the broccoli longer after I had it all together, and maybe a little less dill, but I'm not much for dill in soup... other than that, I was satisfied with it. I had to make my boyfriend STOP "tasting." It was very aromatic.. my boyfriend claimed it smelled like "Stuffing seasoning." I don't think so, but so he said :) It was a very new and unique taste, so thanks for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      Wonderful! Yet another successful recipe from Moosewoods. This is great for those who like their vegetarian soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2002

      I didn't have some of the ingredients, so I made a few changes, but it still sat wonderfully in my tummy! I substituted spring onion stalks for the celery, added more onions for the garlic, and omitted dill and the chives. I used water and not stock, but it was still hearty enough to make a satisfying dinner along with toasted whole-wheat bread. I'll definitely make this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      This was wonderful! I couldn't believe how the oatmeal thickened it up. I followed the recipe exactly except I didn't have any chives. It made alot so I have some containers in the freezer. I didn't miss the milk or cream at all. I'm very glad I found this one and tried it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This is fantastic! I needed ideas to use up all the fresh broccoli we grew in our garden this winter. My husband just can't get enough of this yummy soup! I used 1/2 chicken broth & 1/2 water. Also steamed the 1 c. reserved broccoli instead of cooking in a saucepan. This soup freezes well, too! Thanks again, it's a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Very, very, very good! I chose this recipe because I wanted a healthy version of broccoli soup, but I was prepared to have to compromise a bit on taste. BUT, no compromise here! This soup is unbelievably tasty! The only change I made was to use low-sodium chicken broth. Delicious! I'll make this again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I love most things Moosewood - can't believe I've never tried this one before. Easy to put together (although, if I had needed to pull out my blender I might have said otherwise)...thank goodness for immersion blenders. I agree it might need some more salt, all depending on your stock. Thanks Tish for posting this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      Absolutely delicious! I had a bunch of leftover broccoli and cauliflower from a veggie tray that I wanted to use up. So I wound up using 2 cups broccoli and 3 cups cauliflower. I followed the rest of the directions exactly, and ate 3/4ths of the pot myself for dinner! The lemon flavor was a touch strong, but that's likely because I used cauliflower. I can't wait to make this again!! Yum!<br/><br/>*Update - I've made this soup again, this time using all broccoli. I'm not actually a vegan, so I added JUST a teaspoon of fat free half-and-half to each bowl and I can't believe how much it adds to an already amazing soup!!<br/><br/>**Update 2 - I made this again, this time using all cauliflower. I used the chicken broth instead of water or veggie broth, then followed everything else exactly. Still amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      We have food allergies we work around, and this is EXACTLY what we needed. It has become our staple for broccoli soup. We enjoy the dill, and all the rest. My one suggestion is to make sure you blend it well! I left it just a bit chunky and it didn't hit the pallet the same, too much texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

    • on November 24, 2010

      I couldn't even believe how delicious and creamlessly creamy this soup was!!! I was getting a little annoyed while cooking it because I'm definitely a novice chef who takes a long time to chop things, but it was absolutely worth the time and effort. I didn't have celery, dill or chives on hand, so I just left them out. I used water, adding half a vegetable bouillon cube to the pot once the water had begun to boil. I added a bit too much lemon juice (I just juiced half a large lemon, but it definitely yielded more than a tablespoon), so next time I'll make sure to measure that out properly. I think that I may also reserve more florets to cook and stir in at the end, because I like the chunks! All in all, simple to execute and very, very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      What a great and healthy soup! I was looking for a broccoli soup that didn't have any dairy, and boy was I glad I found this one. I doubled the recipe because of all the great reviews, and am glad I did. My husband also likes it because he has to watch his cholesterol. Next time I would reduce the dill and salt just a tad. The dill was a little too overpowering and the salt is just a preference. Thanks for posting this keeper! I will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      LOVE this recipe. I make this for lunches all the time-- whip up a double batch on a Monday and eat it for lunch all week. It's really adaptable! I add other veggies, whatever spices I'm in the mood for, etc. I generally add cabbage because I love it, and add lots of extra garlic and plenty of spices. It tastes great, and there's a bonus: when I have a 200-calorie or so lunch, I get to eat a bigger dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      I like to make this recipe with 4 cloves of garlic, organic chicken broth and 3 large heads of broccoli - I love broccoli! This is super easy to make and is a great use for all that extra broccoli from the garden. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      I followed the recipe exactly and it came out fairly decently. A good broccoli soup, but not my favorite. And I did need to add more salt and pepper than the recipe stated.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Made the recipe exactly as instructed, stopping after pureeing the contents of the soup-pot, with the intention of freezing it. It is so yummy that I suspect none of it will get to the freezer! A clever use of oatmeal that really thickens well without the use of dairy. An easy, handy recipe for a cold day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      Great low cal, low fat soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I absolutely love this recipe! The fresh lemon juice adds such a wonderful flavour to it, and it's really easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      delicious! creamy without the fat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Excellent. Not having dill and chives at hand, made a few changes with the flavouring, adding a bay leaf, and, just before liquidising, some chopped parsley and basil. I halved the recipe but still used 2 garlic cloves and added extra celery. Instead of boiling the remaining florets, I stir-fryed them in sesame oil before adding to the soup ( I had previously the whole quantity of water to the vegetables). Finally I garnished it with the green part of spring onions, finely chopped, having cooked the white part with the soup. I have never made broccoli soup before so thanks for a new way of using this vegetable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamless Broccoli Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (451 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 119.5
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    32%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 333.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.3 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 4.1 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes