Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Tuna on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Tuna on Toast

    Average Rating:

    50 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 50

    Sort by:

    • on June 08, 2002

      Well, my goodness, I thought my husband was going to eat the plate!! I made the recipe for 4 for the 2 of us and I had my serving and he ate the rest! It is really creamy and so good. So easy to make for a fast supper. We both loved it. I served this with a side of buttered noodles. Thanks BarbaraK!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      Oh my gosh!! My mom used to make this for me when I was a little girl. Except for the peas. This is so yummy and really brought back fond memories. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2006

      This is a very easy recipe. I grew up on it. But we used it for breakfast. Just leave the pea's out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2002

      What a quick and easy lunch. This definitely worked as a "tunafish delivery vehicle" for my 16-month-old. A bit of this over cut up toast worked really well. It "delivered" peas into her diet as well without too many complaints. Yea! I sometimes limit salt & pepper in my cream dishes, their addition is a definite improvement over my conservative use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2002

      I'm eating this as I write, and it's great. I'm home alone, and all I had in the house was a pouch of lemon pepper tuna, so I went hunting for a brunch recipe to suit. Love the addition of peas, to make a change from the stuff I grew up on! Oh and it was easy to scale down for 1 person, I'm not eating the whole lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      I made this for dinner tonight and it was great...Thanks BarbaraK. I wanted something quick and easy. It tasted excellent. I'm single, so I have leftovers for tomorrow's lunch. Will make this again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2002

      Oh this is sooooo good BarbaraK. Just the way my mom used to make it. Very rich and creamy and just warms the soul on a dreary day. Thanks so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2002

      This is the best! Like all the rest said, my mother made this for me when I was a kid! Soooo good! And my husband loved it, too! Cleaned his plate! Very easy, and very filling! Comfort food on a plate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2002

      I really, really enjoyed this dish. It reminds me of chicken ala king (which I LOVE!!), except with tuna. The only thing I changed was that I added a 4 oz. can of sliced mushrooms. Yummy, yummy!! No leftovers here!! Thank you!! ~Manda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      My mom used to make this, so I had to try it right away. Perfect! It's comfort food and very mild flavored. I sprinkled some crisp shoestring potatoes on top for crunch and a little grated cheese. I think it would be good with sliced almonds on top also. Thanks for reminding me of this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2013

      What a surprise! When I told hubby what we were having, he kind of curled his lip at me and I knew he was disappointed. I went ahead and made it anyway and to my surprise and I believe his as well, he commented on how much he liked it three times while eating and mentioned he would like to have it again when we finished. I wasn't sure how much I liked it the first two bites, but it really grew on me.My only changes were to add a clove of minced garlic and about a 1/4 C. of minced onion to the melted butter and let it cooked a few mins. before adding the flour. At the end I added a little bit of fresh lemon juice and gave it a stir. I served it over sturdy whole wheat bread and it was a very comforting meal. We will be making this again. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2012

      Both the menfolk went crazy over this. So happy I found it, as I was in a "cleaning out the fridge mode." This fit the bill and I got raving 5's, despite the barely-there effort. I tossed a few finely minced red onions in the mix and topped with leftover canned peas cos it's all I had on hand. Served on wheat toast (again, all I had). Other ways that they tried this dish: Son liked it with shredded colby/cheddar cheese...DH thought it was good with cheese, too, but just as good without. Lastly, son tried it served over a bed of rice with a dash of soy (and the peas, of course ) and loved it that way also. So happy that I doubled the recipe! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      Loved this! Definitely a blast from the past! I didn't have any peas on hand. I used dill rye bread toasted and topped everything off with some grated cheddar cheese. Yum! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2009

      Really good fast meal! Very budget friendly

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2009

      VERY good comfort food favorite! The peas are a MUST for good old-fashioned Grandma-style creamed tuna. Another idea - we serve our creamed tuna over hot rice, mmmmmm mmmmmm very good and really filling!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      We all love this stuff and I couldn't wait to make it for the first time. I chose this recipe because it looked simple and the reviews were good. I made the sauce using canned peas because for this dish I like them better than frozen as they have better flavor for this type of dish. I poured the mixture into phyllo cups for a pretty presentation and served them with mashed potatoes on the side. Everyone gave them a high 5, but I think they deserve more like 10 because it was so good and such comfort food to the palate. Loved every mouthful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2014

      Good ole basic, yummy food. Halved cream sauce but used all tuna and peas. Happy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      Delicious. Sauce can be used for chipped beef as well. Also great over a baked potato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      I actually made this and substituted asparagus for the tuna. Of course, you can no longer call it Creamed Tuna on Toast. But it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      Holy yumness!! I'll admit, I was skeptical with this recipe because of how easy it is and how small the ingredient list is...but...we all loved it! I added a second can of tuna to make it a little more tuna-y and poured it over fresh buttered rolls. Even my picky 5 year old ate a whole roll covered in it! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Tuna on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (177 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 183.0
     
    Calories from Fat 93
    50%
    Total Fat 10.3 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 162.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    tuna fish

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites