Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed spinach with mushrooms and onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed spinach with mushrooms and onions

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2010

      Wonderful. I used fresh baby spinach because I don't like slimy frozen spinach. I streamlined this by cooking the onions and mushrooms and the adding the fresh uncooked spinach at the end....... cooking it just enough to wilt it. I actually wouldn't recommend frozen spinach or precooking for this recipe. After adding just 1 tbsp of sour cream, I decided that was all that was needed. It was delicious. Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2010

      This is yummy. I used Derf's technique of cooking the spinach right in the pan. I also added a touch of nutmeg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2009

      Awsome is right, wonderful flavour, sooo delicious! Great combination of veggies and the sour cream topped it of perfectly. I used no fat sour cream and fresh spinach. I did not steam the spinach first, just added it to the other veggies in the pan at the end so that it would not be overcooked, then added the sour cream. We enjoyed it very much and will definately make it again, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      Awsome! Or so said my three year old daughter. I substituted spinach dip that I had in the refridgerator for the sour cream and the result was delightful. The recipe produces a light, flavorful side dish that went splendidly with a pork roast and noodles. The only thing I might add when repeating this recipe is possibly some cheese to enhance the creamy nature of the sauce - and provide hidden calcium for a nutritional treat. Edwinna, you have outdone yourself and we thank you .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I don't use Sour cream with anything and I substituted grated Parmesano-Reggiano cheese and some softened Mascarpone cheese and it was Fabulous! Edwinna, pat yourself on the back!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Excellent. I added a little blue cheese and 4 Tbl of sour cream. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      Out of this world! I made it exactly as stated, using frozen spinach. I wasn't sure about the sour cream so I made have the pot with sour cream and substituted grated parmesan for the other half. It was absolutely delicious both ways. It also tastes great without the sour cream. Anyway, what I am trying to say is that we went crazy over it and it is most definitely a keeper. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      It doesn't get any better than this!!!! We are spinach lovers and this recipes is outstanding. I had a little bit left over the next day and I heated it up and put it in a tortilla. Yummmm. Thanks for sharing, Edwinna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2004

      Oh wow, total comfort food! I used frozen spinach, a whole onion finely minced and two baskets of fresh button mushrooms. My daughter had this on toast, and I mixed my portion into some hot pasta. I'm so glad I found this recipe, thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed spinach with mushrooms and onions

    Serving Size: 1 (149 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.3
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    72%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 3.9 mg
    1%
    Sodium 11.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen chopped spinach

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes