37 Reviews

Wonderful recipe - made as directed - will add crispy bacon on top next time! Keeper recipe! thanks for posting, pvt amys mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 19, 2014

ohh yummm.. exactly what I was looking for in a creamed spinach. I used about 16oz spinach and onion flakes. Bacon would be decadent in this as mentioned by another reviewer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 22, 2011

This is really good! I loved it... I just think it's missing a little something. Next time I make it I'm going to put some prosciutto or bacon in to cook before I put the onion and garlic in.
Really good though! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blinsley December 26, 2010

This was FANTASTIC! It did take a couple of tries, though. The first time I added the cream cheese too quickly to the cream mixture and the half and half curdled. The second time we did it very slowly over lower heat and it worked perfectly! It's rounds out a wonderful meal with filet mignon and a baked potato. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyndechyme August 10, 2010

This is a very good version of creamed spinach. However, I would advice people to cook this meal in a medium size pan. I made a mistake and cooked it in a large pan and the cream turned into what looked like a ball of dough. So, I transferred it to a smaller pan and than had to add the entire pint of half and half. Once I did that, the cream and consistency was perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as printed (even with my lil mishap) and everything turned out just fine. My children loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
southerngirlie August 02, 2010

This was awful...and I don't usually write bad reviews, but this time i had to. The flour to 1/2 and 1/2 ratio is WAY off. It turned out to be a gelatenous mess! And I served it at Thanksgiving. You only need about 3 tablespoons of flour to 1 1/2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2. I should have know it didn't sound right, but I was on autopilot by that time. Change this ratio and it will be good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
irish0502 November 28, 2009

At first I thought this was going to be a disaster since I don't have a whisk and what I used made the cream sauce lumpy and thick since I probably cooked it too long trying to get out the lumps! But once everything was mixed it turned out wonderful and yummy! I used a little extra half and half for the cream cheese. This is the only way I want to eat spinach now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Skylar June 11, 2009

FANTASTIC! My dad took 4 helpings, and he is a 'light' eater. Everyone raved about this dish, thank you for another recipe to be put in my permanent list of favorites!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gillian Spence April 25, 2009

I actually forgot to add the parmesan cheese. My hubbie thought it would've been even better with it, but I loved it, and didn't miss it (or those calories that would have come with it!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmkga January 31, 2009

WOW!!!!! This was unbelievably good! I added just a touch more garlic because we love garlic. It will definitely be served on all our special occasions, and even the not so special ones!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvsSushi November 27, 2008
Creamed Spinach (Like Boston Market)