36 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We loved this delicious side. My husband commented that this is the best spinach he has ever eaten and I can only agree. I halved the recipe for the two of us and followed it precisely, except for adding the water in step 6; my thawed spinach still had moisture in it that I couldn't completely squeeze out, so I only added an extra tablespoon of water. Thanks for posting, Renee!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx January 31, 2005

I loved it! It's a really great and forgiving recipe. I substituted onion powder for the grated onion and grated parm in a can because I didn't know whether to use that or fresh. Also, I used a 12 oz bag of spinach rather than take a measly 2 oz out. I'm not sure that my opinion really counts considering I took so many liberties with the recipe. But what the heck, I was still fantastic!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi the grate March 15, 2015

One word: DELICIOUS!!!!! Used a little more onion and garlic, for our taste. Also, didn't have 1/2 and 1/2 so I used 1/2 skim and 1/2 heavy cream and 2 12 oz bags of cut leaf spinach. This is absolutely to die for good!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 November 03, 2014

Oh my... so delicious!!! My hubby, my son (picky teen) and I all loved it!! I will for sure make this again.. I didn't have half and half, so I used 7/8 cup milk with 1/2 Tbsp butter and it was awesome!!! Thank you for this recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen10ike February 23, 2012

Absolutely fantastic recipe, and with apologies to Chef #1464947, you apparently did not follow the recipe. The measurements are perfect. I doubled this, as it freezes beautifully! I also ADDED about a half pound of crispy fried bacon, and crumbled it into the mixture. I then sprinkled fresh grated parmesan cheese over the top and baked it for about 20 to 30 minutes. I made it a second time, added a bit extra cream cheese and canned milk along with some shredded crab meat and artichoke hearts and served with tortilla chips as a dip. It disappeared so fast, it's almost like it never existed! A MAJOR HIT! Thank you.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
You've Had Worse Things In Your Mouth! February 16, 2010

Absolutely loved it. Had a fantastic creamed spinach in a fttabulous restaurant in Puerto Vallarta and couldn't wait to see if I could make something my family would try. I cooked bacon to right before it got crispy and snipped it to slivers and added to the spinach while it was cooking. I served it with a great rib eye and wonderful crusty bread and a lettuce wedge with blue cheese crumbled. I think I might run for fair queen after this!!!! It wa perfect combination of balance tand comfort. This fabulous dish was presented in an upscale restaurant in Puerto Vallarpp ta. I thought I could do it so I duplicated bread the lettuce wedge with blue cheese and Blueberries sprinkled on top. I added slivers of bacon to. X Blueberry lemonade finished the deal and everyone kept coming back to the spinach!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 10, 2015

A Great recipe, and I followed it to the letter. I did not drain the spinach at all, and it came out perfect. Thank You So Much !!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
niklan123 December 21, 2014

A great recipe. Used milk b/c I didn't have h/h and added provolone cheese in addition to the park. and it tasted fantastic.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol Hanley Mariani October 27, 2014

Great recipe. Thanks for sharing. As far as Irish0502 leaving a neg, thats unfortunate. As chefs we know the roux mixture is about one to one. You have 5 tbl of butter to 1/4 cup this is about equal which is what you want. We all know what it should look like at this state. Irish05020 must of misunderstood this part of the direction. Anyway, please sick to the recipe and maybe review all of the other positive comments. You might be missing out on a good dish. You sure are missing with this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jjjams October 16, 2014

Wonderful recipe - made as directed - will add crispy bacon on top next time! Keeper recipe! thanks for posting, pvt amys mom.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buster's friend January 19, 2014
Creamed Spinach (Like Boston Market)