Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Spinach (Like Boston Market) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Spinach (Like Boston Market)

    Average Rating:

    30 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 30

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic recipe, and with apologies to Chef #1464947, you apparently did not follow the recipe. The measurements are perfect. I doubled this, as it freezes beautifully! I also ADDED about a half pound of crispy fried bacon, and crumbled it into the mixture. I then sprinkled fresh grated parmesan cheese over the top and baked it for about 20 to 30 minutes. I made it a second time, added a bit extra cream cheese and canned milk along with some shredded crab meat and artichoke hearts and served with tortilla chips as a dip. It disappeared so fast, it's almost like it never existed! A MAJOR HIT! Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2005

      We loved this delicious side. My husband commented that this is the best spinach he has ever eaten and I can only agree. I halved the recipe for the two of us and followed it precisely, except for adding the water in step 6; my thawed spinach still had moisture in it that I couldn't completely squeeze out, so I only added an extra tablespoon of water. Thanks for posting, Renee!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2014

      Wonderful recipe - made as directed - will add crispy bacon on top next time! Keeper recipe! thanks for posting, pvt amys mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2012

      Oh my... so delicious!!! My hubby, my son (picky teen) and I all loved it!! I will for sure make this again.. I didn't have half and half, so I used 7/8 cup milk with 1/2 Tbsp butter and it was awesome!!! Thank you for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      ohh yummm.. exactly what I was looking for in a creamed spinach. I used about 16oz spinach and onion flakes. Bacon would be decadent in this as mentioned by another reviewer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This is really good! I loved it... I just think it's missing a little something. Next time I make it I'm going to put some prosciutto or bacon in to cook before I put the onion and garlic in.
      Really good though! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      This was FANTASTIC! It did take a couple of tries, though. The first time I added the cream cheese too quickly to the cream mixture and the half and half curdled. The second time we did it very slowly over lower heat and it worked perfectly! It's rounds out a wonderful meal with filet mignon and a baked potato. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2010

      This is a very good version of creamed spinach. However, I would advice people to cook this meal in a medium size pan. I made a mistake and cooked it in a large pan and the cream turned into what looked like a ball of dough. So, I transferred it to a smaller pan and than had to add the entire pint of half and half. Once I did that, the cream and consistency was perfect. I followed the recipe exactly as printed (even with my lil mishap) and everything turned out just fine. My children loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This was awful...and I don't usually write bad reviews, but this time i had to. The flour to 1/2 and 1/2 ratio is WAY off. It turned out to be a gelatenous mess! And I served it at Thanksgiving. You only need about 3 tablespoons of flour to 1 1/2 cups of 1/2 and 1/2. I should have know it didn't sound right, but I was on autopilot by that time. Change this ratio and it will be good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      At first I thought this was going to be a disaster since I don't have a whisk and what I used made the cream sauce lumpy and thick since I probably cooked it too long trying to get out the lumps! But once everything was mixed it turned out wonderful and yummy! I used a little extra half and half for the cream cheese. This is the only way I want to eat spinach now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2009

      FANTASTIC! My dad took 4 helpings, and he is a 'light' eater. Everyone raved about this dish, thank you for another recipe to be put in my permanent list of favorites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I actually forgot to add the parmesan cheese. My hubbie thought it would've been even better with it, but I loved it, and didn't miss it (or those calories that would have come with it!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      WOW!!!!! This was unbelievably good! I added just a touch more garlic because we love garlic. It will definitely be served on all our special occasions, and even the not so special ones!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

      The Chart House in Newport, Ky. has a creamed spinach on their menu that tastes just like this. It has the perfect balance of garlic with the parmesan cheese. Loved this. This will be my new addition for Thanksgiving. I didn't alter a thing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      I love anything spinach, so I am not surprised I loved this. I couldn’t find 2 10oz boxes of spinach so I used two 16oz bags, and added 1/4c. More of 1/2-1/2, 1/4c. Parmesan cheese and 1/4 tsp of salt and it worked out just great. I also added 1/4 cup of chicken broth instead of water for extra flavor. Thanks for sharing; I plan on adding this to my thanksgiving menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2008

      Great recipe! Used fat free half and half, and fat free cream cheese. Reduced the butter to 2 T. Added a little more water and didn't cover. Added some more salt, a 1/4 t nutmeg, a tiny bit of mace, parsley and basil at the end. Was yummy. Wondering how some artichoke hearts might be in it too!? Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2008

      Great stuff :0)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Very good! the only thing I would advise..Don't use all the flour at once..mine turned out a little doughy so in turn I had to add more butter and some chicken stock to thin it out. My husband has already asked me to make this again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      This was absolutely delish! My DH adores spinach so I'm always looking for new recipes using it. We had never had creamed spinach, so I was anxious to try this. Halved the recipe since it was just the two of us, and had to use milk since I didn't have any half & half...still tasted rich and creamy! Went beautifully with my Parmesan Tilapia and glazed baby carrots. Thanks SO much Pvt Amys Mom for a great 5 Star recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      I made a huge batch of this and it was gone!!!! The best creamed spinich recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Spinach (Like Boston Market)

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 269.8
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    75%
    Total Fat 22.5 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 13.3 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 64.8 mg
    21%
    Sodium 393.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites