Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Peas On Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Peas On Toast

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 31, 2012

      I was brought up on foods like these. My Mom was quite often alone and with 5 kids to feed she needed easy, filling good. I still love them to this day. The only thing I found different in this recipe is the amount of milk..I was taught a roux was usually 1 butter (tbsp) 1 flour (tbsp) 1 cup of milk or milk mixed with the juice of the peas or whatever vegetable you are using. Due to illness, there are many foods I can't eat but I love these comfort ones and they don't hurt me. I use olive oil becel in a dish, covered, and melt it in the microwave. I quickly whisk in the equal amount flour, then slowly add the milk pea juice to equal, whisking, then microwaving covered for 1 minute at a time then whisk each time. Once the peas are in, another minute or so in the microwave. Another goodie is creamed asparagus on toast..I mash the asparagus before adding to the roux. YUM!!! Cheap but easy dining, especially on a cold winter day!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      Quick, easy and cheap. Especially delicious when eaten with the Light Wheat Bread from "Bread Baker's Apprentice"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This is comfort food at its best. Cheap as all get-out, and easy to make, too. I never had creamed peas over toast before I followed this recipe, and I LOVED the texture combination. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      My DH loved this, has not had since childhood. I used frozen peas and a few grates of fresh nutmeg. We used the peas as a side dish for pork chops.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Thanks! I grew up loving creamed peas. My own children and hubby don't like them though! Shame on them. But I had never tried them on toast. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      Quick and easy recipe. Thanks Bohod

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      These peas were very good. Nice change to plain canned peas. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      Yum! My husband gives this 5 stars, I give it 5 stars for the fact that he ate vegetables...I did end up adding about an extra cup of milk, the mixture turned into putty with just 1/2 cup of milk in it. Thanks for a quick, easy veggie for a week night. I didn't serve it on toast, but I imagine it would be fantastic on toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Great recipe, just keep the milk out as it gets a bit thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      I'm not going to rate with stars, because I haven't actually made THIS recipe ... but I have had a very similar version of this many, many rimes. It's one of my go-to comfort foods ... instantly makes me feel better. We always put grated parmesan in the white sauce, and even sprinkle a bit more on top of it on the toast! ... I'm craving it now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      So simple and delicious! I did add some more milk at the very end because mine turned out a bit thick for my tastes. Thanks a bunch for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2005

      Sometimes the beyond simple recipes are the best! This was served with BBQ grilled veggies and a salad. Simple, easy, fast and tasty. Thanks Sherry B

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2005

      wonderful and easy recipe - i made as a side dish instead of with toast and it came out great! simple for us beginner cooks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      Yummmy! I remember eating this as a kid. My favorite way is to eat it with a thin layer of Miracle Whip and a couple of slices of bacon on the toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2004

      First time I've made creamed anything and this is delicious! I was afraid I'd ruin the "creaming" process, but it was very easy. I'll be honest, I didn't put this but used the creamed peas as a side dish. Perfect size for our little family of two.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      sooo good, I love peas and I love this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Peas On Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 182.7
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    36%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 4.4 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 19.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 71.3 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 7.7 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites