17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love this. Used to make this when I was a bachelor and anxiously awaiting pay day. Make it now just because we like it. Sometimes I mix in a tin of salmon to the creamed peas just before spooning on to hot buttered toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DNRBlueliner January 20, 2015

I was brought up on foods like these. My Mom was quite often alone and with 5 kids to feed she needed easy, filling good. I still love them to this day. The only thing I found different in this recipe is the amount of milk..I was taught a roux was usually 1 butter (tbsp) 1 flour (tbsp) 1 cup of milk or milk mixed with the juice of the peas or whatever vegetable you are using. Due to illness, there are many foods I can't eat but I love these comfort ones and they don't hurt me. I use olive oil becel in a dish, covered, and melt it in the microwave. I quickly whisk in the equal amount flour, then slowly add the milk pea juice to equal, whisking, then microwaving covered for 1 minute at a time then whisk each time. Once the peas are in, another minute or so in the microwave. Another goodie is creamed asparagus on toast..I mash the asparagus before adding to the roux. YUM!!! Cheap but easy dining, especially on a cold winter day!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KelleighK July 31, 2012

Quick, easy and cheap. Especially delicious when eaten with the Light Wheat Bread from "Bread Baker's Apprentice"

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melilia June 03, 2010

This is comfort food at its best. Cheap as all get-out, and easy to make, too. I never had creamed peas over toast before I followed this recipe, and I LOVED the texture combination. Great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Betty Manson January 12, 2010

My DH loved this, has not had since childhood. I used frozen peas and a few grates of fresh nutmeg. We used the peas as a side dish for pork chops.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amosue December 31, 2009

Thanks! I grew up loving creamed peas. My own children and hubby don't like them though! Shame on them. But I had never tried them on toast. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Wright December 26, 2009

Quick and easy recipe. Thanks Bohod

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bohod April 09, 2009

These peas were very good. Nice change to plain canned peas. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacquie #4 March 05, 2009

Yum! My husband gives this 5 stars, I give it 5 stars for the fact that he ate vegetables...I did end up adding about an extra cup of milk, the mixture turned into putty with just 1/2 cup of milk in it. Thanks for a quick, easy veggie for a week night. I didn't serve it on toast, but I imagine it would be fantastic on toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two February 17, 2009

Great recipe, just keep the milk out as it gets a bit thick.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trista1986 February 08, 2009
Creamed Peas On Toast