19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've never had potatoes like this before. They were really good!I had to use dried dill, I bet fresh would be so good. I like the suggestion of another reviewer about adding pearl onions for a little extra texture. Thanks for sharing this delicious, comfort food recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview November 19, 2013

Wonderful!! A must with salmon patties!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
55tbird September 24, 2013

Reading some of the reviews I could write almost exactly the same as the lady who's grandmother made this from the Midwest. I grew up in Kansas and my mother would make this often out of my dad's garden. We also didn't use the dill and yes the sugar is a must! This brought back good memories! Thanks for posting it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy June 23, 2013

Thank you so much for this simple recipe.. when I was a kid my mom used to make this and now that she's gone it's one recipe I never got from her, but I had an idea what was in it. She did not put peas or dill in it, but they are nice additions. One bite of this took me back to being a kid again :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CareyLee May 14, 2013

I was born in the midwest, and my grandmother made this often in the summertime with peas and tiny new potatoes picked from her garden. I must have eaten gallons of this in my childhood -- so, so good. She didn't use dill, but I think this addition really puts it over the top! I was out of milk (how?), so used half and half with about equal amount of water. Also used dried dill-about 1/2 tsp.-since I didn't have any fresh. One of my favorite side dishes of all time! Served with ribeye steaks, but the side dish was the star of the meal. Don't leave out the sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
boomerthepug March 12, 2013

Excellent side dish. I made the recipe as directed. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac April 21, 2012

Made this last nite for dinner and was it a huge hit!!! My picky 10 yr old daughter couldn't get enough and my wife even went back for more. Followed the recipe to a t. The only thing I may try next time is to add a few pearl onions for just a little added something. This will be made many times. Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Niteflyer April 10, 2012

Love love love!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
misscain March 21, 2012

This recipe is just like what my mom used to make when I was a kid - so yummy! Just a hint of sweetness in the sauce makes it so unique. I never learned how to make hers because she didn't have it written down anywhere so I was thrilled to find this one! I left out the dill just because my mom didn't put it in hers but I might try adding it another time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lab Lover February 21, 2011

This was such a nice Spring time side dish. As another reviewer mentioned, the dill puts this recipe over the top. I used dried dill, cutting down the amount, and it was still delicious. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn April 01, 2010
Creamed Peas and Potatoes