17 Reviews

Great recipe. I used milk instead of cream. This is such a great way to to get some extra greens in the diet. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview June 02, 2014

We really liked this, I made the following changes. Whenever I have mashed potatoes these days I include cauliflower. I just cut the cauliflower into pieces and boil until tender. Then I mashed it with the potatoes and no one can tell it's there and you've just made the dish much more nutritional. I only had frozen spinach so I defrosted that and put it in with the cream mixture. Came out wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaliforniaJan November 16, 2012

We loved these potatoes. Potatoes and spinach are two of my favorite things, and now I can enjoy them together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie224 April 05, 2009

I too love spinach so this was great! I used a little more spinach than called for, and did scale the recipe down to about 1 pound. Thanks for a yummy side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 November 23, 2008

What a fabulous recipe! Love mashed potato, especially naughtily creamy mashed potato, and I would happily eat spinach in practically everything from dawn till dusk. So for me this was truly a recipe made in heaven! Like several earlier reviewers, I used low-fat cream and I added 4 cloves of minced garlic (just softened in probably about a 1/4 teaspoon of olive oil, for 1 minute in the microwave) in step two. Again like some earlier reviewers, I added proportionally more spinach. I did this by adding one packet of thoroughly-drained (well-squeezed) frozen spinach to an already generous amount of baby spinach. And then, with all that spinach, I just couldn't resist adding a generous pinch of nutmeg. Made for PRMR. Thank you, kiwidutch: this is a recipe I'll be making again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemoon downunder November 14, 2008

These are excellent mashed potatoes. I only made a few changes and that was to pare, dice and boil potatoes instead of boiling with skins on. I also used 1/2 milk and 1/2 heavy cream. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Petunia April 14, 2008

Excellent flavor! I will definitely be making these again. I only had half and half on hand so I used that in place of the heavy cream, and added a tiny bit of garlic powder when I added the pepper. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook4_6 March 02, 2008

This was great. I used 3/4 cup of 2% milk and added 2 garlic cloves. Will definitely make again. A healthy spin on mashed potatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherYummy February 08, 2008

What a great idea? I used half and half and actually needed more of the 1/2 cup, but it was great and we couldn't stop eating them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jules127 January 28, 2008
Creamed Mashed Potatoes With Spinach