Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Leeks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Leeks

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2010

      Being the food snob that I am, I tend not to rave. But I will this time with 2 caveats: Step 2 says season to taste. This is absolutely critical, without it, the dish is too bland. Second: I used 3 1/2 Tbs butter and was glad that I did. This is definitely a dish to draw raves.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      This was rich and delicious...but when it came to: season to taste...I took a taste and thought it needed some salt...so I added a touch...btw I cut the recipe down to serve one...I used just a dash of salt...but I can feel my fingers swell as I type...maybe it was the cheese..anyway it was delicious! Thanks for posting it...=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      Delicious! I'm a huge fan of leeks and I think they are underappreciated. The thyme seasoned this nicely. I also added some salt. I loved the cheddar (I used an extra sharp) on top, but I think next time I'll try sharp cheddar and parmesan or just parmesan. Thanx for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      This was really good! I cut the recipe in half for just two of us and we both really enjoyed it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      I was surprised how much I enjoyed this dish and my DH really loved it! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, because I started with frozen leeks and didn't know how many frozen sliced leeks equaled a fresh one. I sort of winged it and we ended up with about 3 good size servings. I used half and half in place of the heavy cream which curdled a little from the wine so it wasn't as pretty as the pictures posted, but still tasted great. I served this as a side dish with grilled ahi and green beans. Made for PRMRT

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      My family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Incredibly rich! (No big surprise there, given the ingredients. :-) ) Also delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Oh yummy! I halved the recipe using 2 large leeks. I didn't have shallots, so used red onion. I loved it and ate a bunch! Thanks Noo! Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was fantastic. I didn't have cheddar on hand, so substituted a mixture of parmesan-romano instead. Just wonderful. I used it to top some noodles for a simple meatless meal tonight, and the whole family loved it. Thanks, Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      WOW: love leeks, loved this recipe! A great blend of fabulous flavours! We thoroughly enjoyed these Creamed Leeks as part of a vegetarian meal, and I wouldn't change a thing. I did use low-fat cream, which I always find makes no appreciable difference. This dish is going to be on the menu at our next family gathering, and I'll be increasing the quantities several times over. And when I next make it for us, the same, as I'll want to put some serves in the freezer. Thanks so much, Noo, for another fabulous recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      Noo, Fantastic flavors! Wow, everyone wanted seconds. This is an extravagant dish and I will put this in one of our holiday menus. We just don't eat enough leeks. I used fat-free cream and it was delicious! Mde and reviewed for Fall PAC 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      We absolutely love leeks and this is a wonderful way to serve them. The fact that most of it can be prepared ahead is a big plus. I feel that leek recipes are overlooked so try to accumulate as many as possible. Thanks for submitting Noo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Well now Noo; that sounds a bit like a Chinese name. So at last James Martin got one right. This was a super easy dish to make, with a super flavour. I was going to photograph the dish, but, my wife was eating it before I got the camera out. We served this with roast chicken and all the veg traditional with a English roast, even went well with the gravy. One of the best things about this dish was the fact that as the leeks were sliced, it made the eating of them that much easier. I will cook this again adding a few slices of ham to make a supper dish later this week. Thynks for the recipe. Brian H

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Leeks

    Serving Size: 1 (137 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 566.6
     
    Calories from Fat 387
    68%
    Total Fat 43.0 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 27.0 g
    135%
    Cholesterol 138.6 mg
    46%
    Sodium 428.5 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 18.8 g
    37%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites