Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Leeks Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Leeks

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2014

      So simple and sooo delicious! Made on a whim to go with grilled salmon, only because leeks looked good at the store. The measurements are VERY forgiving, I'd say. I used 2 leeks instead of 4 and totally estimated the rest of the ingredients - just pouring cream in, grinding salt and pepper, sitting outside with wine while it cooked, etc. As I came in to taste test, it just got better and better. I just posted the recipe on FB! It's simply wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Love this recipe. Replaced trout meuniere sauce with the creamed leeks, fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      Fabulous! Made it exactly per the recipe, except no salt. Used our lovely fresh leeks from our garden. Shared some with our neighbors who also loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      Delicious. I made the recipe as directed. This is a great side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2013

      I love leeks. I was glad to find a recipe like this where the leeks are the main attraction. This makes an excellent side dish. I used a bit less salt than called for - probably because of the saltiness of the chicken broth. If you love leeks, or are just looking for something different, this is for you! Thanx!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      I made this for the first time many months ago following the recipe and it was delicious! I bought a bunch of leeks last week just to make this again but when I made it today, I had forgotten that there was cream involved so I just mixed in about a tablespoon of white flour with the broth before I added it, and the dish worked out very well. I'll keep skipping the cream from now on as it is healthier. I keep going back to the pot for another helping! : P** Thanks for contributing this recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      Excellent! A empty dish with requests to be served again. 5 stars around the table.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      Fantastic! I had lost my recipe from years ago, this seemed similar, and it already had five stars. Made this as a side for Thanksgiving this year. It was the star side dish! Thank you original poster!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2010

      I made this recipe almost exactly as written. I happened to have some minced garlic left over from another recipe so sauteed it with the leeks. I also used light cream, about 3/4 cup, since that is what one container held. Everyone loved it. Served it with pasta to soak up the sauce, and sprinkled a little Parmesan on top. We must be big eaters, though; three of us polished it off!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Made as a dish for a dinner party. Was the absolute star of the night. I added a couple of cloves of minced garlic to the butter and a bit of extra ground chilli. I made a couple of hrs in advance and gently reheated. Supurb recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2009

      Wonderful flavor on these leeks. I made half a recipe and used fresh leeks from the garden. Served with Mean Chef's Chicken With Marsala, Mushrooms and Gorgonzola.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

    • on March 01, 2009

      What is St. David's Day dinner without leeks? I was searching for a new recipe and when I saw that two of Recipezaar's resident cooking goddesses, Kittencal and French Tart, both had given this recipe rave reviews, I knew it would be good! I followed the recipe exactly as written. Wonderful! Thanks, ColCadsMom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      I simply *love* this recipe, I increased the butter and also sauteed 2 tablespoons fresh minced garlic in with the leeks, used fresh ground black pepper (lots of pepper!) my DH was lucky he got a little of this I ate almost the whole thing myself, so good, thank you for sharing hon!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2007

      I did this as a sauce rather than a side dish, served with some fish it was yummo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Very quick and tasty - made for ZWT3 and our lunch today! I did not cook these in broth however, and DH is not keen on cayenne pepper, so they were just creamed leeks - but as leeks are so sweet and fresh now, that was all to the good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I will accept some of the blame for why we didn't like this recipe. After simmering, actually boiling, for almost 40 minutes the chicken broth for some reason wasn't reduced enough, but it looked like half to me. So, I added the cream and boiled some more, and some more and some more, until I had a soupy, saucy pan of leeks. What did I do wrong that obviously everyone else did right. The taste was fair, and while my DH ate his since he likes onions cooked any way at all, I left mine on the plate. I have to tell the truth, so I apologize for my incompetance and this poor review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      I halved the recipe and used extra light cream to cut down on the fat, and they turned out perfectly! This recipe is a real keeper. Thanks Dawn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2007

      My mum always cooked her leeks in milk but this certainly takes her recipe to a different level. Fantastic and straight into my favourites cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2007

      Excellent recipe. Since I did not have cream, I used half and half and we enjoyed this very much. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Leeks

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 193.2
     
    Calories from Fat 149
    77%
    Total Fat 16.5 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 54.3 mg
    18%
    Sodium 377.4 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites