54 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very delicious and simple! I followed the recipe exactly, just used 1 cup 2% milk and 1 cup regular milk, cooked chopped onions w/the corn, and the dish was still rich and creamy. Also for a little color, sprinkled a little smoked paprika on top. Will definitely use again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ginamiller1 January 17, 2011

I substituted bacon grease for the butter as I was using it in Alton Brown's corn dog recipe. It was tasty. My husband, who does not like canned creamed corn even liked it! Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jonesyx6 August 11, 2013

The family loved this at Thanksgiving. This is going into my recipe files. Thanks for sharing this easy, basic, and good recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mountainbaby January 13, 2011

This was easy and so good! I tasted the corn by itself first to gauge how much sugar to put into the sauce, since each bag of corn will be different. I had to use 2% milk, as that's all I had on hand, but I think it would have been even better with whole milk and/or cream, which I'll be sure to use instead! But it was still awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aznbbdoll November 21, 2010

Twenty minutes ago I went to the kitchen and made this. I was out of creamed corn, and I needed some for a corn casserole recipe I wanted to make for supper tonight. I didn't want to drive to the store for just a can of corn, and I really had a hankering for that casserole! So I found this recipe and thought I'd give it a whirl. Boy! Is this stuff good! I left out the sugar because I have a very tiny sweet tooth, and I used skim milk, although I bet it'd be wonderful with some half and half. Rich, creamy, smooth, I almost couldn't stay out of it! Had to remind myself that I need it for something else. I have never cared for creamed corn from a can, I never even considered making it, never occured to me that you could! I mean, why would I want to? I don't like it! The only way I'd eat it is if it was in something else. Now, my life has changed, I love this stuff. I can only expect that it will go really well in my casserole ! TY! TY! TY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nougat November 19, 2010

mixed reviews on this one... i only put in 1 or 1 1/2 tbsp of sugar and i thought it was wayyyyy too sweet. for me it was just gluey and sugar-y. however, my husband and 3 kids all really liked it, so i guess it just wasn't my taste! i'll make it again for them for sure.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
3vegkids August 25, 2010

This was really good. I wouldn't have believed that I would like creamed corn, but I do. I too, do not like the canned stuff so decieded to try this and it is great. Thank you for opening my eyes to a new type of corn.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour January 19, 2010

Fantastic! I added probably a tablespoon and a half of pepper and probably 3/4 table spoon of salt. I added the 3 full tablespoons of sugar too. Soooo much better than the canned cream corn.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vicky D November 04, 2009

This was very good and enjoyed by all. Easy to prepare. I used whole milk, which made the sauce rich and creamy. Next time I will reduce the sugar down to only 1 Tbsp or possibly even less.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather December 17, 2008

My entire family really enjoyed this corn. The pot was empty after when dinner was over, and my hubby asked me to keep it in the rotation! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joy of Atlanta November 13, 2014
Creamed Corn