Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Corn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Corn

    Average Rating:

    54 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 54

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2011

      Very delicious and simple! I followed the recipe exactly, just used 1 cup 2% milk and 1 cup regular milk, cooked chopped onions w/the corn, and the dish was still rich and creamy. Also for a little color, sprinkled a little smoked paprika on top. Will definitely use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I substituted bacon grease for the butter as I was using it in Alton Brown's corn dog recipe. It was tasty. My husband, who does not like canned creamed corn even liked it! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      The family loved this at Thanksgiving. This is going into my recipe files. Thanks for sharing this easy, basic, and good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      This was easy and so good! I tasted the corn by itself first to gauge how much sugar to put into the sauce, since each bag of corn will be different. I had to use 2% milk, as that's all I had on hand, but I think it would have been even better with whole milk and/or cream, which I'll be sure to use instead! But it was still awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      Twenty minutes ago I went to the kitchen and made this. I was out of creamed corn, and I needed some for a corn casserole recipe I wanted to make for supper tonight. I didn't want to drive to the store for just a can of corn, and I really had a hankering for that casserole! So I found this recipe and thought I'd give it a whirl. Boy! Is this stuff good! I left out the sugar because I have a very tiny sweet tooth, and I used skim milk, although I bet it'd be wonderful with some half and half. Rich, creamy, smooth, I almost couldn't stay out of it! Had to remind myself that I need it for something else. I have never cared for creamed corn from a can, I never even considered making it, never occured to me that you could! I mean, why would I want to? I don't like it! The only way I'd eat it is if it was in something else. Now, my life has changed, I love this stuff. I can only expect that it will go really well in my casserole ! TY! TY! TY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2010

      mixed reviews on this one... i only put in 1 or 1 1/2 tbsp of sugar and i thought it was wayyyyy too sweet. for me it was just gluey and sugar-y. however, my husband and 3 kids all really liked it, so i guess it just wasn't my taste! i'll make it again for them for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was really good. I wouldn't have believed that I would like creamed corn, but I do. I too, do not like the canned stuff so decieded to try this and it is great. Thank you for opening my eyes to a new type of corn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      Fantastic! I added probably a tablespoon and a half of pepper and probably 3/4 table spoon of salt. I added the 3 full tablespoons of sugar too. Soooo much better than the canned cream corn.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      This was very good and enjoyed by all. Easy to prepare. I used whole milk, which made the sauce rich and creamy. Next time I will reduce the sugar down to only 1 Tbsp or possibly even less.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2014

      My entire family really enjoyed this corn. The pot was empty after when dinner was over, and my hubby asked me to keep it in the rotation! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2014

      This is my first time eating creamed corn from scratch. Although I love the canned version, this recipe is even thicker, creamer, and yummier than my childhood favorite. Before cooking, I finely chopped my frozen corn kernels in a food processor because I prefer a smooth consistency to my creamed corn. Then, I simmered the corn in one cup of milk instead of water to prevent losing the intense corn flavor from discarding the cooking water. In a separate saucepan, I cooked the butter and flour together (I used whole wheat flour.) After whisking in one cup of milk, I simmered the "gravy" for 10 minutes to eliminate the raw flour taste. Lastly, I whisked the cooked corn along with its cooking milk into the "gravy" to combine. Because my corn was naturally sweet, I only added one tablespoon of brown sugar. My dad raved about how delicious it was, and he is a hard-to-please picky eater. BTW, I love your Currier & Ives "The Old Grist Mill" dish used in your creamed corn photo. I also own the same pattern of dishes and believe that the vintage design photographs beautifully. Thank you, Marg, for a Creamed Corn recipe that is the cream of the crop!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      Yeah. This is a great idea and a good easy recipe.Not 100% like canned creamed corn, not as slimy. I used roasted corn when I made mine. Regular would have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2014

      Great dish to cook im 14 and I make this all the time I have an addiction to creamed corn and this recipe is so easy to follow and make. I add a bit of vanilla extract and brown sugar to make it more tasty and sweet love this recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2014

      Great recipe! My husband grew up eating creamed corn and this recipe got the thumbs up from him. I even made it with gluten-free flour and non-dairy milk.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      This is so delicious! It's the recipe I go to for creamed corn. It's loved by the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2013

      Using this receipe to make creamed corn for my corn pudding recipe. I only had2% milk si I added a tablespoon of flour & butter to make sure it thickened. It turned out pretty good. I may serve this as a side to my family tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      I add a little cayenne pepper to this. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2013

      This is the second time I have made this and surprised to see that I had not reviewed it. It is so delicious, mild and sweet and creamy. The cream sauce does thicken up more as it simmers with the starchy corn. So many things could be done to change it up from time to time but we like it just the way it is. Thanks for sharing your recipe.<br/>March 31, 2013 -- Followed your suggestion and used half cream/ half milk and it is very nice with the added richness.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2012

      Excellent flavor, very easy to prepare - looking forward to making again. I used corn which my DD & I froze fresh from the cob this past summer. Although I prepared as posted (using your hint to use half & half & milk) I will pass on the sugar in the future when using our corn as it is so sweet to begin with it really doesn't need any additional sugar. Thank you Marg for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2012

      I followed the recipe exactly and my family loved it! It was easy to make and actually made a very pretty dish. Will definitely make it again, Thanks for sharing this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Corn Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Corn

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 262.6
     
    Calories from Fat 123
    46%
    Total Fat 13.7 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 39.9 mg
    13%
    Sodium 138.1 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes