Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Chipped Beef Sos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Chipped Beef Sos

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on December 02, 2010

      I love chipped beef/S.O.S. and this one is very good but a bit on the salting side.I think I will soak the beef in a bit of boiling water after I cut it up to de-salt it some.Not too long of a soak maybe five minutes.I also only had one jar of the Hormel Dried beef so I halved the whole recipe down the middle and the proportions were perfect.Just enough for my hubby and me.Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I love the this recipe it is a fantastic base for what my dad taught my mom to make from the air force. We also add frozen peas and it was a little bland and I couldn't figure out until later that it was missing the onion powder. My mom always used chopped dried onions, but my husband isn't too fond of them. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      Nice! This was my first time making SOS without a sauce packet - much better tasting! I set the recipe for a single serving and ended up having to add a bit of flour and butter to thicken it up while using ~ 12oz of milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is exact to the recipe I grew up on and still make today! I use dried beef, hamburger or sausage, whatever we're in the mood for! It's so yummy.... it's hard to stop eating. We go back and forth between eating over toast or mashed potatoes. Mmmm

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      This is total comfort food for me! My family loved it! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      exactly what i was looking for! i actually also fried the dried beef in a little butter for about 7 minutes to give it a little crisp, and ended up using less than the quart of milk. I also added some shredded colby jack cheese for some depth. DELISH!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      I make this for my husband a lot. As it shows in the picture, we add frozen peas. I usually triple the batch. To make it faster, heat up the milk before adding it to the flour and butter mixture. I also heat up the beef in a frying pan to toast it a little so it's not so limp. Here in Wisconsin grocery stores dried beef is easily found with the packaged lunch meat, pepperoni, and summer sausage.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      Awesome recipe and a great way to use up left over roast. My husband and daughters loved it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      Very good, I only used one jar of the beef but still made everything else the same. I thought the consistency was perfect. Only other change I made was a spash of worcestershire sauce because that is the way I grew up making it. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Very simple and delicious. I have never made chipped beef and wanted to find a recipe to use up extra steak or roast. This worked fine. Since I did not use packaged chipped beef, I just salted to taste. Good recipe. Will use as a regular.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      I was in the Army for six years during the Berlin crisis, and I loved this stuff! I Couldn't get enough when it was served. A little hot stuff and it was perfect! I followed this recipe to the tee and it was to salty. I used 3 - 2.25 bottles of Armour dried beef. I think one 2.25 bottle would be enough for me, because I like more gravy. The base is excellent. I will try it again. I did wash the meat because I read the other reviews that said it was too salty, but it needs more than washing. I will soak the meat in milk next time to see if it will remove the salt. I will also try ground meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

    • on August 18, 2007

      I also could not find dried beef and used ground beef instead, but I am looking forward to try sausage. I also used toast, but will try the somewhat sweeter and tastier buscuits next time. At first I was a little disappointed, because even though it was a very creamy and smooth gravy, it was somewhat bland... But then I realized it was the PERFECT gravy, to be made into a signature dish! So I looked into my cupboard, and decided on tons of dried basil and lemon pepper and a little salt...It was awesome! Even hubby said so. And I already have a few other spice combo ideas for next time....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

    • on November 01, 2005

      This recipe was awesome. I have never been able to make gravy that tastes like gravy until I tried this recipe. The only thing I forgot to do was rinse the dried beef, so it was really on the salty side. But the way it was, I give it a 10.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2005

      My DS's are the typical type, they say they don't like something just on the appearance, so obviously I was nervous on their opinion. Totally surprised over recieving no negative comments, one bite and they were hooked! (phew) This had a wonderful flavor, perfect for a rainy, cold night. I did add peas, used a combination of leftover beef roast and rinsed dried beef and served it over toast cubes. Thank You-In *Memory*of*Brats!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      This was just the perfect measurments and I enjoyed it sooooo much. I have been trying different recipes for years and could never find one. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      This recipe jumped out and really brought back memories. My late father used to make SOS, a favorite of his from his days in the US Marines. My mother made this and said it was 100% right on the money. The only thing she did differently was to use ground beef instead of the dried beef. Ground beef is probably easier to find than dried beef.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2004

      This was a winner! Very easy to make with leftover roast beef...that was very dry. I added less milk because we like it thick. My two children loved it and licked their plates. I will use this recipe again and again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Chipped Beef Sos

    Serving Size: 1 (645 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 746.3
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    52%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 26.8 g
    134%
    Cholesterol 218.9 mg
    72%
    Sodium 3606.0 mg
    150%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.7 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 3.1 g
    12%
    Protein 53.1 g
    106%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes