Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2002

      DH would probably eat this 7 days a week! He said this is the best recipe of all. I liked the easy preparation. I started it off on med. hi, put the heat up to boil the gravy for a minute, and then simmered it for a couple minutes. It was smooth and very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2003

      I grew up eating this stuff! My mom always made it without the onion, but I personally prefer it with the onion. You could also add a little diced green bell pepper for flavor if you have no onions. This is the only gravy I like and it is so wonderful on toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2002

      Excellent! I made this 2 times, and used dried beef that was lower in sodium the second time. With the second batch, it had a much better taste. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2002

      I make this for supper for my husband, but I add peas to it just before it is done. We love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2002

      Very good, my husband said he hasn't had this in 10+ years and this was the best he can remember. I rinsed the beef also, and used skim milk. Turned out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2002

      this recipe is excellant! very similar to mine, the only thing I do different is I rinse off the dried beef as I find it very salty...green onions make this really good! Yum I love this stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2007

      Good 'ol SOS, it just doesn't get better than this. When my mom first served this to me as a child (many moons ago), she had introduced me to a dish that would remain a favorite of mine from then on. Over the years, I've served this meal to my children and their friends and now my grandchilden. I've never come across a person who didn't enjoy this. SOS is quick and easy to prepare. I serve this gravy over toast or biscuits (my preferred accompaniments), but I have also served over mashed potatoes or noodles. Occasionally, I will add peas to the dish, depending on my mood. However you decide to serve this, it is a winner with everybody. Enjoy! Note: Dried beef is very salty, if you wish, soak it in a water wash prior to cooking if you wish to reduced the saltiness. I hope you all enjoy this as much as my family does.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      My dad was in the navy and called it "rafts a draft", but what ever it is called, it is homey, yummy and memory steering. Sometimes we would have it over rice or mashed potatoes. I added fresh ground pepper. Thanks for the memories, and posting the recipe I am putting together a recipe collection for family of old time favorites. It is surprising how many recipes I have come across here on Zaar that were my family's favorites and to see others out there enjoyed the many of the same.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      This is the hubby (Delaware born) and my 3 year old's favorite breakfast. Have not tried with the green onions but that sounds like a nice twist. Just wanted to say that instead of beef in the jar, I have had much better results from "air-dried beef" in the package. Carson's is the best but hard to find here in FL. Wal-mart sells Knauss brand which is pretty good. Eliminates the soaking or rinsing process. A great "sticks to the ribs" meal served any time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Really good, quick and easy. Best of all, just like we remember as kids.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Such a delicious comfort food.. A favorite that goes back to my childhood. Works equally good for breakfast, lunch or dinner and everyone LOVES it. One can keep it this simple (and fast) or do some of the things I do if I have these items on hand. Add 1/2 teaspoon Dijon mustard to the cream sauce. Can also add small amount caramelized sweet onions, steamed green peas and topped with chopped hard boiled eggs. Simply Delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      Perfect proportions! I used 1/2 jar of beef and 2 chopped eggs ... yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Forgot how much I loved this comfort food from my childhood. I use leftover corned beef shredded and served over pasta, usually egg noodles. Like to put some pepper in it, too... My midle school age boys love it! Never any leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      My family is from Pa. Dutch Country, and this is one of our favorite breakfasts, although tonight we had it for dinner. I've never used the green onions, and we use a bit more flour. Glad to see this one posted. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      I've been making this for years; although, I don't use the onions and simply tear the chipped beef into pieces. In my area it is also served on biscuits or salt rising bread. I've never found anyone who didn't like chipped beef with gravy. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This was very good. My husband has always liked this but I'd never had it or cooked it. Next time I will definitely rinse/soak the meat because it was very salty without doing that -- but that's not a fault of the recipe so I didn't let that affect the rating. Despite the saltiness, this was a big hit with my husband who went back for seconds. That's the true measure of how many stars a recipe should receive. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2008

      Very Very good, we had this for dinner last night, I did add gound pepper, and served it over fresh baked biscuits. We have had it over bread, and toast also, but by far, over the biscuits is THE BEST, and we won't have it any other way from now on. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2008

      this is BEYOND delicious! I am a HUGE fan of creamed chipped beef, and this is by far the best recipe I've ever tasted. The onions are perfect, and there is so much meat, it is just to die for!! I added a bit of fresh ground black pepper near the end, but otherwise, this recipe gets an A++++!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      I made this again and I didnt use the dry beef I used the packaged beef(lunchmeat type) and worked awesome! I also did not add green onion. I added salt and pepper and boy was it WONDERFUL!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I made this just as instructed. I feel like the green onions ruined it. I just did not care for the combination of the chipped beef and onions togethor. Leave the onions out and this recipe would be better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Chipped Beef on Toast

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 423.6
     
    Calories from Fat 134
    31%
    Total Fat 14.9 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 5.5 g
    27%
    Cholesterol 110.1 mg
    36%
    Sodium 2751.5 mg
    114%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.4 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 36.0 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites