Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Cabbage- Norwegian Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Cabbage- Norwegian Style

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2013

      Creamed Cabbage-Norwegian Style AND Frizzled Cabbage are my two favorite go-to cabbage recipes. <br/>The old, just throw cabbage into the pot of boiling meat, just doesn't cut it anymore.<br/>Thanks for a great recipe, Hope.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      This was something very different for us, and was very creamy. I felt like it needed something like a little lemon to perk it up a bit. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      This was delicious! May be just the recipe to get me to regularly enjoy cabbage. I only used 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, because I'm not usually a fan. I actually liked this amount in this dish very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Instead of boiling the cabbage I opted to saute it lightly in the butter (using extra as needed) until it was nicely wilted. After that I followed directions as written. It's delicious. I like cabbage -- and this is a nice version of preparation! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      I was looking for a new veggie recipe for cabbage and this one called out to me, it looked so good! It was just what I was looking for, something different! We loved it and I will certainly be making this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      Dh and I LOVED this recipe!! The taste was so terrific. Doesn't even taste like cabbage. Will make often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Delicious! My kids (8 and 6) were highly doubtful but I insisted that they try. They each went back to the bowl 4 times which says it all. They have already requested that I make it often. My husband who doesn't like cooked cabbage also enjoyed it. I didnt add chicken bouillion otherwise followed the recipe. Served it with mashed potatoes and meatloaf.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      simple and delicious. I didn't have nutmeg, but cardamon worked great as a substitute, I just used a little less to be sure it work okay.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2008

      This is a great side dish! I microwaved the cabbage instead of boiling it (chop it up, place in a microwave dish with a cover & put 2 tablespoons of water in with the cabbage. Cover and Cook on high for8 minutes, stirring once in the middle of cooking) and this concentrated the sweet cabbage flavor. This is a great comfort food and I also love that it is fairly low in calories (I made it with skim milk and it was still nice and creamy). Also, I used one of the 1 pound bags of ready-cut coleslaw cabbage they have in the produce section - this adds some carrots, and it makes prep even easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Delicious! I used a Chinese cabbage, since I like that they aren't as dense as the regular ones. I also microwaved the cabbage just until wilted. The sauce is just right. Lovely side dish. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I love it! I cooked my cabbage with a little brown sugar in the water - omitting the salt - and increased the nutmeg to about 1 1/2 tsp. Absolutely delicious! Will make this easy side dish often! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      This recipe turned out exactly as advertised - very creamy. It just turned out a little bland for us, not bad, just bland. I did like the nutmeg flavor. Maybe if I increased all the seasonings, we would like it more. 5yo DD did like it, so it is definitely one I might make again if I have cabbage to use up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      *Reviewed for ZWT3* Well, I quite liked the cabbage done this way, but personal taste wont use this recipe again. I also think that 30 minutes is too long to boil cabbage. My cabbage boiled for about 10 minutes and was quite well cooked. A nice recipe for a change, but not one I'll remake. Photo also being posted

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      This turned out wonderfully, thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      We are cabbage lovers and always on the lookout for different ways to prepare. And many good recipes exist. In my view, this ranks amongst the best. Deserving of five stars for two reasons. Firstly of course, flavour and texture. I thought this might be good, that is why I tried it, but the first taste was still unexpected. Secondly, for simplicity of ingredients and preparation. It is incomprehensible that such creaminess can be achieved simply with a roux. Perhaps, my substituting with full-cream buttermilk contributed, I don't know. In any event mk, I am very grateful that you were once young, and also grateful to those Vikings - they certainly knew their cabbage! Next time, I would like to try this over fettucini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2007

      MMmmm...... creamy and delicious. I loved the flavor of the nutmeg. I added a little sugar to the sauce and it really brought out the nutmeg very nicely. Thanx for a great new way to prepare cabbage. I'll use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      Made this last week- even my daughters liked it- a keeper for sure- thanks mama !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      We eat alot of cabbage so I'm always looking for different ways to cook it. This was fab! I could have eaten the whole bowl of it! The nutmeg adds a nice subtle flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      I made this as a side dish for dinner and we all enjoyed it, including my 7yo but he's an unusual eater. It had just the right balance of cream sauce to cabbage for us and was very simple to put together. Thank you for an additional way of dressing up cooked cabbage. = )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      This was the perfect veggie for a cold rainy day. The nutmeg makes it special. Of course THE PICKY ONE didn't care for it, so I got extra! Thanks, Hope!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Cabbage- Norwegian Style

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 115.5
     
    Calories from Fat 58
    50%
    Total Fat 6.5 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 19.6 mg
    6%
    Sodium 79.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 11.4 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites