23 Reviews

This is a great side dish! I microwaved the cabbage instead of boiling it (chop it up, place in a microwave dish with a cover & put 2 tablespoons of water in with the cabbage. Cover and Cook on high for8 minutes, stirring once in the middle of cooking) and this concentrated the sweet cabbage flavor. This is a great comfort food and I also love that it is fairly low in calories (I made it with skim milk and it was still nice and creamy). Also, I used one of the 1 pound bags of ready-cut coleslaw cabbage they have in the produce section - this adds some carrots, and it makes prep even easier.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
xtine March 27, 2008

This was delicious. I cooked the cabbage in the microwave, as another reviewer did, but mine took a little longer. I cooked it 12 minutes instead of 8. While the cabbage was cooking I sauteed together half of a white onion, a clove of garlic, about 1/4 of a green bell pepper, and about 1/4 of a red bell pepper until the onion started caramelizing. I set that aside and made the roux, a bit thicker than the recipe called for because I wasn't going to drain the cabbage. Last but not least, I change the milk to soy because I'm allergic to milk. I'm sure this last made the recipe even more different, maybe a little sweeter. After all this was done I stirred the onion mixture and the roux into the cabbage (since that was the largest pan). I tasted it immediately, and had to serve myself up a bowl before coming and writing a review. This is such an easy and fool-proof recipe! Thank you so much for sharing it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anjaleck June 28, 2015

Creamed Cabbage-Norwegian Style AND Frizzled Cabbage are my two favorite go-to cabbage recipes. <br/>The old, just throw cabbage into the pot of boiling meat, just doesn't cut it anymore.<br/>Thanks for a great recipe, Hope.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildredbill October 13, 2013

This was something very different for us, and was very creamy. I felt like it needed something like a little lemon to perk it up a bit. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview March 09, 2013

This was delicious! May be just the recipe to get me to regularly enjoy cabbage. I only used 1/4 teaspoon of nutmeg, because I'm not usually a fan. I actually liked this amount in this dish very much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samara_matheson March 07, 2013

Instead of boiling the cabbage I opted to saute it lightly in the butter (using extra as needed) until it was nicely wilted. After that I followed directions as written. It's delicious. I like cabbage -- and this is a nice version of preparation! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AzureLynn September 24, 2009

I was looking for a new veggie recipe for cabbage and this one called out to me, it looked so good! It was just what I was looking for, something different! We loved it and I will certainly be making this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchieWitchyGoo January 31, 2009

Dh and I LOVED this recipe!! The taste was so terrific. Doesn't even taste like cabbage. Will make often

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom January 16, 2009

Delicious! My kids (8 and 6) were highly doubtful but I insisted that they try. They each went back to the bowl 4 times which says it all. They have already requested that I make it often. My husband who doesn't like cooked cabbage also enjoyed it. I didnt add chicken bouillion otherwise followed the recipe. Served it with mashed potatoes and meatloaf.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deantini January 14, 2009

simple and delicious. I didn't have nutmeg, but cardamon worked great as a substitute, I just used a little less to be sure it work okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q January 05, 2009
Creamed Cabbage- Norwegian Style