14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love sauteed cabbage; however, I have never used savoy cabbage cooked like this before. It is a nice change from the regular cabbage that doesn't have near enough green leaves to suit me. Think I may make a change from now on and use the savoy cabbage which is a little more delicate and doesn't need to cook as long. Liked the addition of the cream which really added richness to the overall flavor. Made for PRMR, January, 2013.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry January 05, 2013

This made for a nice, new way to serve cabbage. I usually don't use Savoy cabbage, that it was a nice change of pace. I ended up making the recipe a little differently, though. I melted the butter and fried my bacon 3/4 of the way, since it was really thick. I left it in the pan when adding the onion (and I didn't need to add additional butter). I then followed the recipe as written, leaving the bacon in the whole time, and using heavy cream. I cooked the cabbage for about 10 minutes to take out the bitterness and wilt it a lot. The end result was delicious and a great accompaniment to our meal. Thanks Noo!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! November 15, 2010

This was so easy to make and so delicious! I have tried to incorporate cabbage into my diet because it's healthy but was tired of plain steamed cabbage or cole slaw, etc. This was just what I was looking for - and my family loved it too! Thank you for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
youngdovefarm March 12, 2010

I truly enjoyed this recipe. (I will post a full review at a later time).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 January 02, 2014

Delicious, although I did change the recipe around a little bit. I used regular green cabbage, Smoky Tempeh Bacon(Smokey Tempeh Bacon) for the bacon and used a little sour cream instead of heavy cream. I cut the recipe in about 1/3. So good and satisfying! Thanks Noo. Made for PRMR game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 19, 2013

I made it for our St. Patrick's dinner. It was great. I used regular cabbage and extra bacon. I also put a little bacon grease in with the butter. I will make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebC March 17, 2013

Absolutely Fantastic! I loved all the flavors in this. It was very easy to prepare. The only difference I made was to saute the cabbage for about 15 minutes as I ike it more done. I will make this again and again! Thanks Noo!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim127 February 27, 2009

I've always loved cabbage with bacon & with the cream added really makes this something special. A terridfic side that was most enjoyed, thankyou!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** February 10, 2009

A very simple recipe in most respects this gives cabbage a new lease of life and even my don't-really-love-cabbage DH didn't grumble at all. The cream makes this smooth and takes any bitterness off the cabbage and the bacon and onion add a ton of flavour. A very good combination that means that I may be able to turn my family into cabbage lovers yet! Please see my Rating system: 5 wonderful stars for a simple recipe that takes cabbage up a notch.. or two or three. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch January 21, 2009

We've had cabbage and bacon wonder why I never thought of adding cream to it I will never know. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting. Made for 123 hits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barefootmommawv January 19, 2009
Creamed Cabbage and Bacon