Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Creamed Cabbage and Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Creamed Cabbage and Bacon

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2013

      I love sauteed cabbage; however, I have never used savoy cabbage cooked like this before. It is a nice change from the regular cabbage that doesn't have near enough green leaves to suit me. Think I may make a change from now on and use the savoy cabbage which is a little more delicate and doesn't need to cook as long. Liked the addition of the cream which really added richness to the overall flavor. Made for PRMR, January, 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2010

      This made for a nice, new way to serve cabbage. I usually don't use Savoy cabbage, that it was a nice change of pace. I ended up making the recipe a little differently, though. I melted the butter and fried my bacon 3/4 of the way, since it was really thick. I left it in the pan when adding the onion (and I didn't need to add additional butter). I then followed the recipe as written, leaving the bacon in the whole time, and using heavy cream. I cooked the cabbage for about 10 minutes to take out the bitterness and wilt it a lot. The end result was delicious and a great accompaniment to our meal. Thanks Noo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2010

      This was so easy to make and so delicious! I have tried to incorporate cabbage into my diet because it's healthy but was tired of plain steamed cabbage or cole slaw, etc. This was just what I was looking for - and my family loved it too! Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      I truly enjoyed this recipe. (I will post a full review at a later time).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      Delicious, although I did change the recipe around a little bit. I used regular green cabbage, Smoky Tempeh Bacon(Smokey Tempeh Bacon) for the bacon and used a little sour cream instead of heavy cream. I cut the recipe in about 1/3. So good and satisfying! Thanks Noo. Made for PRMR game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2013

      I made it for our St. Patrick's dinner. It was great. I used regular cabbage and extra bacon. I also put a little bacon grease in with the butter. I will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      Absolutely Fantastic! I loved all the flavors in this. It was very easy to prepare. The only difference I made was to saute the cabbage for about 15 minutes as I ike it more done. I will make this again and again! Thanks Noo!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      I've always loved cabbage with bacon & with the cream added really makes this something special. A terridfic side that was most enjoyed, thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      A very simple recipe in most respects this gives cabbage a new lease of life and even my don't-really-love-cabbage DH didn't grumble at all. The cream makes this smooth and takes any bitterness off the cabbage and the bacon and onion add a ton of flavour. A very good combination that means that I may be able to turn my family into cabbage lovers yet! Please see my Rating system: 5 wonderful stars for a simple recipe that takes cabbage up a notch.. or two or three. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      We've had cabbage and bacon wonder why I never thought of adding cream to it I will never know. We really enjoyed this. Thanks for posting. Made for 123 hits.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      We love cabbage cooked in butter but I had never added bacon, onions or cream. I wasn't sure what double cream was so I used heavy whipping cream. Other then that, I made this as directed. We all enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2008

      So easy and very very good, I have prepared this to serve to house-guests, and done quite a bit of tasting as I went! I made this completely as directed, and would happily have this as a main dish with some plain veggies on the side, mmm, delicious! I still have quite a bit of cabbage, so anticipate making this again to serve on my Christmas Table! Thanks, Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Lovely side dish! Yes it is rich and that is why I also served plain steamed veg with the meal! I will certainly make this again!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2008

      I've often cooked cabbage with bacon, but never added onions or cream. What a wonderful difference these couple of ingredients make! I also added a couple of cloves of chopped garlic with the onion and a pinch of nutmeg. I used a low fat cream and may use Greek yoghurt in its place next time. A very flavoursome side dish which would be a great accompaniment to most meat dishes. We really enjoyed this. Thank you for sharing this quick and easy to make recipe, Noo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Creamed Cabbage and Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (143 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 372.0
     
    Calories from Fat 318
    85%
    Total Fat 35.3 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 73.1 mg
    24%
    Sodium 495.7 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 7.6 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    savoy cabbage

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites