Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Scones

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 07, 2009

      I was looking for a different scone recipe to use at work (lost my old one) and decided to give this recipe a shot, and I was truly glad I did! These scones are light, slightly crumbly yet firm enough to hold together, and stay moist for quite awhile (we put them out on a "help yourself" snack area and they're still excellent 12 room-temp hours later. The recipe has just enough sugar to make keep them from being biscuity, yet (depending on your additions) aren't sweet. I like to add some grated white chocolate (like 1/4 cup per this recipe which adds richness and some extra vanilla depth along with sweetness), and then I've added : pecans, walnuts, raisins, dried cran and blue berries, lemon/orange zest and extract, cinnamon, nutmeg....on and on! This is a great base scone recipe...scone lovers would be foolish to pass this one up! It's also extremely simple and very quick to make (which I appreciate as I try to squeeze it into my already-busy work day). Merci, Gingerbee, for giving this old cook dog a new trick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Scones? What scones? I had to steal a bite from my son's scone. They are not only very easy to make, but DELICIOUS! The only problem is, I need to make more next time! Thank you so very much for posting this recipe. It is going to become one of our favourites.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      These were very good. I needed a quick and easy scone recipe that didn't include butter or eggs. I just wanted to use up some cream I had leftover from making ice cream. This was perfect. I made half the batch plain, and the other half with raisins and a dash or cinnamon and nutmeg. These were fantastic. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2006

      I made these for my mom and she loves them she always asks me to make them for her. But some times the cream just isn't enough and the dough gets floury an dwhen you cook it it crumbles. but that only happens some of the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2004

      This is sooo incredibly yummy! I added chocolate chips and sliced almonds, and took it to a ladies' meeting. The first person, while the first bite was in her mouth, was begging for the recipe. The neat thing is it is so easy I could remember it. I also thought they were the yummiest! Oh, I should add that while I was making them, the dough was SO stiff. I kept adding cream, and I was sure that they would come out tough because of how much I had to handle the dough. I cut them in rectangles, kind of biscotti-style, thinking they would be dense and heavy. But they rose beautifully and turned out perfectly light yet rich and flavorful. Decadent...worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      These are good, but more like sweet biscuits than scones (in fact, my son thought they were Bisquick biscuits with sugar in the batter). I also had to add another half cup milk to get a dough to form. I'm on a quest for scones like I had in Ireland!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      I loved these...I added chocolate chips. After one mistake, I realized I had to add them BEFORE the cream goes in!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      I made this for the second time mixing in orange-craisins. First time I uses almonds. Came out great both times. Cheers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (516 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 221.3
     
    Calories from Fat 101
    45%
    Total Fat 11.3 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 6.9 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 40.7 mg
    13%
    Sodium 438.7 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites