Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream Sauce for Swedish Meatballs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream Sauce for Swedish Meatballs

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2012

      Wonderful sauce!!! I used homemade stock and added a little beef base checking carefully that it didn't get too salty (thank you other reviewers). I also sauteed a minced shallot before adding the broth. This is going to be a 'go to' sauce for other dishes as well as the meatballs. As a public service announcement to my American friends I want to mention that the measurements are in Imperial as the chef is English. What this means to you is that a pint in England is 20 oz versus the 16 oz you may be accustomed too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Wow!! this was great. I actually tripled the recipe for more sauce and added 1 shallot to sauce. I also added some dill and garlic powder.Everyone was raving about the sauce!!Thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      This was very good. I doubled the recipe and omitted the soy sauce on mistake, but it was still delicious. My husband didn't believe me that a gravy-type could be made without meat drippings. Now he knows. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2004

      I made this last night and we enjoyed it quite a lot. It doesn't taste exactly the same as the sauce at Ikea but comes pretty close. We had it with meatballs and pasta and it made for a simple but comforting meal. I guess it would be even better with homemade Swedish Meatballs so that you actually had some juices in the pan to swirl out (see step 1), but I had bought mine in the supermarket and it was still good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2014

      Love this sauce! After reading reviews. I sautéed some onion and garlic before adding broth. Also some mushrooms. My DH and I really enjoyed. Will make again. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      I had some cream to use up & made this recipe to accompany baked Italian meatballs from this site. (A bit of fusion, if you will, lol). These were excellent with this sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      This is SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOD!!!!! I made this exactly as instructed but doubled it and served it with Swedish Turkey Meatballs. I used beef for the meatballs so the beefy flavor of this sauce was perfect. It's so good you could actually serve it with just noodles or rice but adding the meatballs makes it divine. DH was totally happy when he dug in to supper :) So was I. Definitely make enough for seconds cuz I promise.....You'll want another serving. Thanks for sharing with us!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      My family enjoyed this very much. I loosely tripled the recipe using US ounces, which came out to a little less than 1 cup of cream which I assumed was half and half. I used a 14.5 oz. can of reduced sodium beef broth, about two tablespoons of soy sauce, and approximately 5 tablespoons each of flour and water. I thickened the gravy to the consistency we like. The additional soy sauce gave a little more depth of flavor and since the beef broth had 50% less sodium than regular we didn't find the gravy to be to salty. I used homemade meatballs that I keep in the freezer, and served it over mashed red potatoes. Even my husband enjoyed it and he said he's never really cared for Ikea's Swedish Meatballs. Thank you for a quick, satisfying and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2013

      Outstanding! Awesome! Very easy to make and very flavorful. I use the left over sauce (if any) to pour over rice, mashed potatoes, and sometimes even use it on a hamburger steak. Great recipe - thanks for sharing! <br/><br/>Note: The only change I made the 2nd time around was to use less salt and double the amount I made. (The 3rd time I made even more)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Just asI was taught when first married, and so glad to see it again, as I have been using the sour cream recipes out there,and couldn't remember this one!! FANTASTIC!<br/><br/>I also highly recommend using pan juices from frying the meatballs-unbelievable flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Quadrupled recipe and it came out great. Served with turkey meatballs and mashed potatoes. My picky son asked for seconds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2011

      YUM!!! Excellent sauce, I paired with Swedish Turkey Meatballs. I tripled the sauce to match the meatball recipe. An instant favorite in my house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2011

      YUM! Delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Great recipe- if only I could get my kids to eat normal food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2010

      i really loved it. i didnt think it was too salty, but i did use low sodium soy sauce. next time i would double or even triple the recipe, because i like my meatballs to be swimming in sauce. served with mash and cranberry sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      This was good. I used the broth left in the pan from making homemade Swedish meatballs, and added about 1/3 cup chopped mushrooms. Yum. Will definitely use this sauce again next time I make Swedish meatballs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I originally was going to make Swedish Meatballs from scratch for a girlfriends pot luck but time got tight and I needed a sauce for pre fab meatballs. This did the trip. My hubby hates pre-fab meatballs but he loved them with this sauce. So did my girlfriends, they absolutely raved over the sauce. Definitely the sauce I'll use when I make meatball again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      I thought the sauce lacked that depth of flavor that we remembered with traditional swedish meatball sauce. Close but no cigar...sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Perfect - Just what I needed. My only advice to other chefs is to watch out for the salt. I used reduced sodium beef broth and reduced sodium soy sauce so I figured it would need salt and I added a bit. I'm not sure if it got salty when the sauce reduced and thickened or when I simmered the meatballs in the sauce (the meatballs were pretty well seasoned). Luckily it wasn't too salty and had a great taste. Just make sure to add the salt at the very end of cooking. I will definitely make this sauce many times in the future! So easy - Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream Sauce for Swedish Meatballs

    Serving Size: 1 (53 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 54.6
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    78%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 2.9 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 16.8 mg
    5%
    Sodium 242.5 mg
    10%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites