64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was fantastic! I made it the night before, because I like to make pudding type desserts and let them sit and absorb the flavors (but save the Cool Whip for shortly before serving). I made this for a party and it was a huge hit! We did use the chocolate sauce, and it was perfect! I did not notice the crust getting soggy at all.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cherir February 18, 2002

Wasn't as good as I thought it would be. MUST be eaten within 1 day of making or the crust goes soggy. Also you may want to just make regular cream puffs as the crust is really much thicker than it should be for a cream puff.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KylaM February 15, 2002

Made this, and ate this, and ate this, and ate this....SOOO GOOD!! I didn't have chocolate syrup though, but I didn't even miss it (20 lbs. later/lol!) Thanks, Mark, for a wonderful recipe!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Manda February 16, 2002

These were a hit at my family's Thanksgiving dinner. Those who don't care for pie (pumpkin & pecan, of course) really went for the luscious little bites. I lightened them up with sugar-free pudding, skim milk, fat-free cream cheese and free cool-whip. Nobody knew the difference.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarenT December 02, 2002

Made this for dessert for Easter dinner, and I can hardly move as I write this review. This was reallllllly good! I added just about a half teaspoon of vanilla to the pudding mix, seemed to make the vanilla flavor come out. Also, when blending the cream cheese and milk, cream the cheese first, then add the milk slowly. DH wants me to make this again (not tomorrow though :o)...) and put some bananas in it. Yum! :o)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terri F. April 01, 2002

One more ^5 on this recipe. Easy to do & a great combo of flavors. No kids in the house--no chocolate syrup sooooo, I made ganache & drizzled it over the top. So very elegant. If there is a dessert heaven--they serve this!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Iron Bloomers March 17, 2002

This was a great dessert and easy to make!! I took it to work and they devoured it. I will definately recommend this to my friends. Karen W.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen W March 16, 2002

Hi, I'm gonna give you a 5 stars right now. I've made this so many times and people go absolutely crazy. They think you're a professional chef when you prepare this. Another fun thing to do with this is use "magic shell" instead of the chocolate syrup. The magic shell is like the syrup except that when you pour it on the eclair cake it hardens. Incredible! Thanks for posting. People will be thanking you for this one!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee January 11, 2005

Just a note on the "soggy crust" review. The last time I made this after I made the crust I turned on the broiler in my oven and broiled it for 2 or 3 minutes to get it nice and brown and crispy. Worked out perfectly!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper May 02, 2002

Been making this for 25 yrs, Men Love it. Never had a problem with a soggy crust - make sure it's cooked enough & cool. Have tried to fancy it up by using homemade pudding or whipped cream, but the original formula works best.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adkmnt March 28, 2010
Cream Puff Cake