21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

At last I found the German OMA" recipe for farina pudding Cannot wait to surprise my German-american husband with his childhood favorite pudding.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosemary F. December 24, 2013

..and I have found that I like it with a little French Vanilla Coffee Creamer in it. It adds a wonderful creamy flavor that vanilla alone doesn't. It is a comforting dessert as one of the other reviewers has said.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AboveRubies November 19, 2010

Oh what a lovely dish this is. I wish I had known of it when I came home from surgery. It would have been SO comforting. It's a keeper. I am so very glad you shared it. I'm going to send to my 6 sisters - they will love it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windywood October 01, 2008

I totally grew up with this pudding too and LOVE it! It's so good plain & warm, though my mom usually liked to eat it cold with homemade raspberry preserve. I haven't made this for ages, but now I'm craving it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacquie Engbrecht October 31, 2011

This is fantastic! Easy to make and very yummy! Both of my kids agreed on how terrific it is, and they never agree on anything. This is a wonderful breakfast to keep on hand - they think they're getting something sweet but it's still healthy, with such wholesome ingredients and a good protein content - it will last them until lunchtime.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pam.jewelrylady November 14, 2009

What a wonderfull find! I can remember having this when I was a kid! I grew up in Kansas in a Mennonite community and this was a common dessert! Thanks for sharing this!! I tried it and it is the same, except we add a 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. It is also good with raisins, or cranberries. (Rev)Had to add this! I just added a small can of pumpkin to this! Wow!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dj's Eagles December 12, 2008

We liked it! I never thought about having pudding for breakfast but I couldn't resist having a bowl warm after making it up yesterday morning. Then last night I served it cold with caramel sauce for company. Thanks Pam, made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup June 14, 2008

First off,this reicpe makes 6-8 servings..Very filling...I used all my cream of wheat cereal for pancakes so I subbed with malt o meal...While still warm I used a tblsp of carmel ice cream topping over the top of each bowl and refrigerated..When ready to serve the topping had turned to a thin sauce, with just the right amount of sweetness. My DH really liked this pudding..Thank You....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Potluck May 30, 2008

This is a wonderful recipe that my Mom always made. She served it with a smooth, not-to-heavy Caramel Sauce....absolutely sublime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christine.m.murray May 29, 2008

great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silvano April 07, 2008
Cream of Wheat Pudding (From the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes)