Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Cream of Wheat Pudding (From the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes)
    Lost? Site Map

    Cream of Wheat Pudding (From the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes)

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on December 24, 2013

      At last I found the German OMA" recipe for farina pudding Cannot wait to surprise my German-american husband with his childhood favorite pudding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      ..and I have found that I like it with a little French Vanilla Coffee Creamer in it. It adds a wonderful creamy flavor that vanilla alone doesn't. It is a comforting dessert as one of the other reviewers has said.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Oh what a lovely dish this is. I wish I had known of it when I came home from surgery. It would have been SO comforting. It's a keeper. I am so very glad you shared it. I'm going to send to my 6 sisters - they will love it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I totally grew up with this pudding too and LOVE it! It's so good plain & warm, though my mom usually liked to eat it cold with homemade raspberry preserve. I haven't made this for ages, but now I'm craving it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      This is fantastic! Easy to make and very yummy! Both of my kids agreed on how terrific it is, and they never agree on anything. This is a wonderful breakfast to keep on hand - they think they're getting something sweet but it's still healthy, with such wholesome ingredients and a good protein content - it will last them until lunchtime.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      What a wonderfull find! I can remember having this when I was a kid! I grew up in Kansas in a Mennonite community and this was a common dessert! Thanks for sharing this!! I tried it and it is the same, except we add a 1/2 teaspoon almond extract. It is also good with raisins, or cranberries. (Rev)Had to add this! I just added a small can of pumpkin to this! Wow!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      We liked it! I never thought about having pudding for breakfast but I couldn't resist having a bowl warm after making it up yesterday morning. Then last night I served it cold with caramel sauce for company. Thanks Pam, made for ZWT, please see my rating system as I rate tougher than most.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2008

      First off,this reicpe makes 6-8 servings..Very filling...I used all my cream of wheat cereal for pancakes so I subbed with malt o meal...While still warm I used a tblsp of carmel ice cream topping over the top of each bowl and refrigerated..When ready to serve the topping had turned to a thin sauce, with just the right amount of sweetness. My DH really liked this pudding..Thank You....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      This is a wonderful recipe that my Mom always made. She served it with a smooth, not-to-heavy Caramel Sauce....absolutely sublime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Very Tasty!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I was trying to find some recipes to bump up my son's iron intake. Cream of wheat is high in iron. I just finished making it and it is so good! Thanks Kansas Mom, I too made it for breakfast! Hay, it's got your milk, cereal, egg and fruit on top, so what if it has a little sugar! I'm going to tell the kids it's my special breakfast pudding! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This is the recipe I had lost. My mother made it with dates and nuts. I even called the cream of wheat company and they do not have the recipt. I am the oldest left in my family and I had yet to find anyone else who had heard of it (Thanksgiving favorite). Thank you, thank you,thank you for bring back such a childhood memory and favorite!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2007

      I grew up with this pudding and it is wonderful. I now make it for my own children. I often make it Friday night for a quick Saturday breakfast (hey, its cereal right???) My kids love it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Wonderful, great for breakfast or desert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      This is wonderful! I am not from a Mennonite background and my French Canadian grandmother made puddings from all sorts of hot cereals including a wheatena and chocolate one with dates. I also have a couple of old cookbooks from women's garden clubs and these contain recipes for puddings made with hot cereals. Morocco and the Middle East along with India also have traditions of cereal desserts as well. So, no head shaking! LOL. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2006

      Have to give this one 5*s because my normally dessert disliking husband went back for 3rds! He gave it two thumbs up and we say in this family that if he likes something, it's gotta be good. I made it with 2 c. soymilk + 1 c. water to save a little money and it was still wonderful. Not too sweet, just custardy goodness. Served it with a blueberry sauce. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      I don't like rice pudding because of it's texture (bumpy), but this is perfect. I love cream of wheat and I was delighted by the creamy, decadent flavor of this pudding. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      Pamela, this is a wonderful dessert. I reduced the recipe to serve 2 and put the servings in custard cups. I was able to use Splenda for the sugar and pureed frozen strawberries for the topping. With or without the fruit topping it is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      Thank-You for posting this recipe. The finished product made me think of my Grandma. (something she would have made) The only changes I made were that I cut the recipe in half and I didn't have any regular Cream of Wheat so I used CoCo Wheats. It made enough for 4 custard cups. I will make it again WITH the CoCo Wheats! Worked great! No need for sauce. Hint for newer cooks-always stir milk until and during boiling unless otherwise instructed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Cream of Wheat Pudding (From the Mennonite Treasury of Recipes)

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 386.2
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    25%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 191.6 mg
    63%
    Sodium 299.0 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 31.6 g
    126%
    Protein 14.3 g
    28%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes