12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good soup. I used homemade veggie broth and a variety of vegetables. Great way to use up those extras... I think I will add a little less milk next time. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hot Pepper January 07, 2013

This was a really great soup, and so enjoyable to eat, even in the supper. I used a chicken broth that was simulated in taste only, so I could include the milk. Everything else stayed the same, and that was also a good thing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef July 27, 2012

Yum, great soup! I used dill and used up a variety of frozen vegetables that I had left - green beans, corn, carrots, peas, and spinach. Thanks for sharing! ZWT8

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews July 26, 2012

I did not blend the veggies. I used thyme and more chicken broth - 2 cups total. I used half a bag of frozen mixed vegetables (corn, green beans, carrots). Very good recipe! I like the addition of the white pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura O. January 22, 2012

I've made this twice and really enjoy the ease of the recipe! I use a bag of frozen cauliflower florets and add heavy whipping cream for the texture. I also don't blend the soup, as I like mine with some texture. This is a great way to use up some leftover veggies!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TreeSquirrel December 11, 2010

I made this last night using veggies left over from a Christmas veggie tray....broccoli, red and green peppers, celery, carrots and used thyme. I doubled the recipe and used full cream because I had that left over from Christmas as well. This is marvelous soup....I couldn't quit scooping spoonfuls of it into my mouth (I made it for tonights dinner) Absolutely heavenly, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicefazoooli December 30, 2009

Excellent, and very easy! I used skim milk for my soup and it was still creamy enough. For the vegetables I used 1 potato, 1 can of sliced carrots, and 1 can of corn. I doubled the recipe, which I would suggest that you do if you expect to get 4-5 servings out of it. After doubling it I had enough for 4 large bowls. If I hadn't doubled it and needed to feed 4-5, I think everyone would be wishing there was more of it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaMcG September 26, 2009

This was so good! I haven't had much luck with cream soups in the past, but this one turned out just right. I followed the directions as stated, using the thyme. I used celery and carrots for the veggies. I like that it uses milk, and other ingredients that I already have on hand. This one is definitely a keeper! Made and Reviewed for Football Pool - Week One - 2009. Congrats! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ September 18, 2009

AMAZING!!! I will make this again & again & again. I had leftover cut up vegies (broccoli, cauliflower & celery) which I needed to use up before they went skunky. This made a delicious soup. I had some cheese I needed to use up too, so i added about 1 1/2 cups right when it was done. I used 1% milk and it still had a nice, creamy texture. My son & daughter (7&5) LOVED it and ate their vegies without any hesitation!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
um-um-good April 29, 2009

I used carrots, broccoli, and cauliflower. I never had cream of vegerable soup before but this was wonderful. Made as directed and it came out perfect. We enjoyed this on a snowy day. Made as a pressie for Aus/NZ swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol December 17, 2008
Cream of Vegetable Soup